About the History Subject Guide
This subject guide provides access to a variety of print and electronic History related resources available from Libraries and Cultural Resources, including the University Libraries. It is customized to support the learning, teaching, research, and scholarship of those doing historical research.
Contact me if you would like help with:
- Finding appropriate resources for your class assignments, thesis, or dissertation;
- Developing search strategies with on-line databases to find books, articles, and primary source materials;
- Assisting your class by booking a library instruction class or placing materials on Reserve for your students;
- Recommending items for the library collection;
- Placing an Interlibrary Loan request; and more.
Libraries and Cultural Resources (LCR) at the University of Calgary has a wide variety of resources to support the study of history. The history collection supports the teaching and research needs of the B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. programs at the University of Calgary. It also supports the research requirements from many related disciplines.
Physical collections are primarily housed at the Taylor Family Digital Library (TFDL) and the High Density Library (HDL).
- Library Search BoxUse this box to search across library collections for books and general interdisciplinary materials.
- Glenbow Western Research CentreGlenbow Western Research Centre is located on the second floor of the Taylor Family Digital Library at the heart of the University of Calgary campus. The centre is the new access point for the university’s Archives and Special Collections including the remarkable Glenbow Library and Archive, the premiere collection that documents the history of Western Canada.
- Glenbow ArchivesThe Glenbow Archives, Canada's largest non-governmental archival repository, has extensive holdings of unpublished documents and photographs related to the history of Western Canada. It houses a wide-ranging collection of unpublished archival records (such as diaries, letters, minute books, photographs, scrapbooks, speeches, membership lists, films, and sound recordings) for over 3,000 individuals, families, clubs, businesses, schools, and organizations in Calgary, southern Alberta and Western Canada. Areas of specialty include First Nations (especially Blackfoot), Mounted Police, pioneer life, ranching and agriculture, the petroleum industry, politics (especially the farmers' movement), labour and unions, women, the arts (especially theatre), and businesses.
- Archives and Special CollectionsArchives and Special Collections has over four kilometers of archival records, including theses, yearbooks, campus newspapers and the private archives of influential Canadians. The collections include rare book holdings, significant literary, historical, musical and cultural archives, collections of popular and science fiction, and the corporate records of the University of Calgary.
- Canadian Architectural ArchivesWith a mandate to collect the works of twentieth century Canadian architects, the Canadian Architectural Archiveshas emphasized the documentation of the total output of architectural firms in an attempt to provide an accurate historical profile. Collections may consist of drawings, project files, correspondence, slides, photographs, aperture cards, oral history tapes and transcripts, and architectural models.
- The Military Museums Library & ArchivesWebsite for TMM Library & Archives, a branch of Libraries and Cultural Resources at the University of Calgary at 4520 Crowchild Trail S.W. Telephone: (403) 410-2340, ext. 2621. The library's collection, located at The Military Museums, is included in the University Library's search box. It is best to phone ahead to confirm hours and material availability.
- Spatial & Numeric Data ServicesSpatial & Numeric Data Services provides access to cartographic materials, GIS and statistical data and software.-Data & statistics: collects and provides access to aggregate data and Statistics Canada licensed microdata files
-GIS & spatial data
-Maps: this collection contains over 200,000 print maps. Coverage is worldwide with emphasis on Calgary, Alberta, and Canada. Maps vary in scale, date, and theme. Major sets include the National Topographic Series (NTS) for Canada, Alberta resources, and City of Calgary topographic adn community district series
-Air photos: this collection includes approximately one million air photos, with Calgary and southern Alberta as the primary focus. Air photos are taken at various scales and years; Calgary coverage starts in 1924.
You can also access significant resources through the library's website including electronic journals, electronic books, online primary source sets, and index and abstract databases. Use the navigation links on the left-hand side to help you find resources to help with your research.
- Last Updated: May 17, 2023 12:00 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/History
- Print Page