Mobile Apps and Resources

A free app for Alberta Health Services Protocols for pre-hospital care practitioners in Alberta. Information includes adult and pediatric algorithms, reference materials and pharmacology. There are over 100 protocols and 50 medications, including infusion charts, resource information and provincial contacts. 

Bugs and Drugs is a comprehensive, evidence-based reference created by Alberta Health Services. It provides current recommendations for the appropriate use of antimicrobials and the optimal treatment and prevention of infectious diseases. This reference app can optimize patient outcomes and minimize the unintended consequences of antimicrobial use, including toxicity, superinfections, resistance and unnecessary treatment costs.

A companion app for OrthoBullets.com (for physicians) and MedBullets.com (for medical students). This is an educational resource designed to improve training through the communal efforts of those who use it as a learning resource. It features topics, technique guides, cases and user-generated videos.

Joule is a Canadian Medical Association subsidiary that provides continuing education opportunities and makes evidence-based clinical products and research available to members.

**Please note: you must be a CMA member and have a cma.ca account to log into the Joule app**

Epocrates is a medical app that reviews drug prescribing and safety information for brand, generic and Over the Counter (OTC) drugs. It includes adult and pediatric dosing, black box warnings, contraindications, adverse reactions and drug interactions.

Download the Evernote app:

The app is available on a wide range of devices including Desktop, Web, Android, iPhone, iPad, Blackberry, Windows 7. The idea is that you can make ans save notes on the go and add a variety of media to each note. Each note is part of a notebook.

MDCalc is the leading free medical reference for the most relevant, up-to-date and widely used clinical calculators that support evidence-based patient care. The simple yet sleek app provides access to clinical decision tools including risk scores, algorithms, equations, diagnostic criteria, formulas, classifications, dosing calculators and more.

Medscape Mobile provides a clinical reference with continually updated information on over 3,000 diseases, conditions and procedures; peer-reviewed evidence-based content; articles enhanced with multimedia including over 2,500 images and more than 150 videos. It also includes step-by-step instructions on clinical procedures and has a drug reference and interaction checker.

Pedi Stat is a rapid reference when caring for pediatric patients in the emergency or critical care environment. It is a solid drug dosing app that presents material in a clear, easy-to-understand colour-coded format to eliminate medication uncertainties in potentially stressful critical pediatric environments.

Spectrum is the leading mobile platform for infectious diseases. It provides algorithmic decision support for local guidelines, local resistance data, local epidemiology, pathogen information, antimicrobial information and ID consult requests.