Guide to Research and Writing for the Academic Study of Religion
Library search box is a single search interface to the collections of Libraries & Cultural Resources (Library, Museum, Archives). To limit results to books set filter to Books. Note you can also limit to Available on shelf and/or full text online
Another option is to limit books to Library Collections:
If you are searching for very specialized information you might also want to consider searching our digital book collections. This has the added advantage of allowing you to keyword search in the full text of the books, a particularly useful feature if you are looking for very specialized information. While the Library search box does include fulltext searching for databases such as JSTOR, it does not cover all of our fulltext collections.
E-book Central (ProQuest) - over 100,000 digital books on all topics including many works for religious studies - create an account so you can highlight in the text and save books to your bookshelf. NOTE you can limit your search to titles and subject headings, but if you choose to search full-text you need to take advantage of the proximity search options as this will help focus your retrieval. For example "religious WITHIN-3 ethics" will force the term religious to be located within 3 words of the term ethics.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - almost 150,000 titles published in the 1700's.
Past Masters - Encompasses the largest collection of full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world.
You can also try searching HathiTrust, a collection of over 6 million free scholarly books. Note the Library search box automatically searches HathiTrust works.
Google Books is also useful for its full text searching capabilities that can help determine which books would be useful for your research. You can then search the library catalogue to see if the Library holds the desired titles.
Tools to identify books on your topic not currently held by the U of C
- Last Updated: Jun 9, 2022 2:27 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/research-and-writing-religion
- Print Page