Social Work

Dissertations and theses are particularly useful for:

• example of dissertation arrangement
• review of related literature
• comprehensive methodology
• theoretical perspective, model, framework
• "voice" of methodology

University of Calgary Theses Database - collection of theses and dissertation from graduates of the University of Calgary -  Contact University Archives if you are unable to locate a  University of Calgary thesis 

University of Calgary Library Collection  - while a copy of all U of C theses is located in the University Archives or in the digital collection on PRISM,   for many older theses a second copy is held in the library collection.   Filter search results to Item Type " Thesis"

Note: many University of Calgary theses are also available full-text through ProQuest Digital Dissertations and/ or Thesis Canada Portal

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations  - indexes almost 5 million theses both open access and restricted

OpenDOAR - Open Access Theses and Dissertations  -  index of over 1.5 electronic theses and dissertations limited to those that are free available.

ETD - Electronic Theses Worldwide  - freely available dissertations

Centre for Research Libraries –  search in the catalogue and then limit your results to theses.  Searches a collection of over 20,000 doctoral dissertations from outside Canada and the U.S.  Items in this database may be obtained by interlibrary loan through U of C’s Document Delivery Services.

DART - European E-thesis Portal

OAIster-   Union catalogue of digital resources - good for locating theses housed in the digital repositories of various universities  part of WorldCat.org.

PhD Data.org - doctoral dissertations in progress

Worldcat -   Change " Subtype limits" for "any content" to " Thesis/Dissertation". Note: Some results may be later edited publications of original dissertations. Note you can also use Worldcat.org which allows you to limit results to dissertations but record information is not as detailed

Africa -  Database of African Theses and Dissertations

Australia -  Trove (National Library of Australia)  - in advanced search you can limit type to thesis

Austria -   Austrian dissertations database

Belgium - Theses from French universities in Belguim

Brazil   - BDTD (Biblioteca Digial de Teses e Dissertacoes)  -  Theses and dissertations from Brazilian universities

Britain - British Library EthOS - provides free access to many British dissertations

Canada - Library and Archives Canada Theses Portal – provides access to the National Library of Canada theses collection, 1965 - over 300,000 theses with over 50,000 available in fulltext

Germany - German National Library 

France - Thèses  -  French Doctoral theses since 1985, includes theses in progress

France - Sudoc 

India - Union Database of Theses

         - Shodhganga -  Indian Electronic Theses and Dissertations

Israel - Israel Union List (ULI) - includes theses produced at Israeli Universities - in Advanced Search you can limit Material type to  dissertations.

Italy -  Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze

Italy - Pleiadi -  database of material held in repositories in Italy including dissertations

Mexico - Tesis UNAM

Netherlands - NARCIS  -  Theses and dissertations and research publications from the Netherlands

Portugal -  RCAAP -  union catalog of digital content from over 30 institutions in Portugal.

Scandinavia - DIVA -  Theses and Dissertations and research publications from 26 institutions in Scandinavia.

South Africa -  National ETD Portal -  Metadata for all theses and dissertations produced in South Africa 

Spain - Spain's Ministry of Education Thesis Database(Teseo)

Spain -  Universidad Complutense  Madrid

Spain -  Dialnet - index to Spanish theses, provides fulltext access for many works

Spain -  TDX (Tesis Doctorals  en Xarxa) - over 58,000 thesis - almost half with full-text