Engineering
Disease States and Current Solutions: Patents
Disease States and Current Solutions: Point of Care and Medical Reference Tools
- DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- Access to subscribed content only. Personal account must be created to access some features
Disease States and Current Solutions: Cardio Associations
Current Recommendations: Clinical Practice Guidelines
Canadian
- Canadian Medical Association Health Summit Conference
- Canadian Medical Association Clinical Practice Guidelines Infobase
- Over 1,200 CPGs developed or endorsed by Canadian medical professionals
- Canadian Psychiatric Association Clinical Practice Guidelines
- Information on anxiety disorders, schizophrenia and depressive disorders
- Public Health Agency of Canada Disease Prevention and Control Guidelines
- Guidelines developed for Canadians
- SOGC Clinical Practice Guidelines
- Guidelines for obstetrics and gynaecological health
- Towards Optimized Practice - Alberta Medical Association
- CPGs specifially to address knowledge gaps or unique issues facing Albertans
Canadian Guidelines Development Organizations
- Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health
- Canadian Task Force on Preventative Health Care
- Centre for Effective Practice - Evidence & Guidelines
United States
- American College of Physicians Clinical Recommendations
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
International Guidelines
Emerging Solutions: Primary Research and Review Articles
TOPIC: "Energy harvesting for self-powered devices"
STEP 1: Break this topic into concepts and think about synonyms for your key words
STEP 2: Concept A
- Energy harvesting
- Tip #1: ask yourself: what kind of energy harvesting?
- energy harvest* OR triboelectric* OR piezoelectric*
STEP 3: Concept B on the second line of an advanced search form
- AND
- self power* OR "implant* OR body-area network*
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- CAB Abstracts (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Compendex This link opens in a new window
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Access to subscribed content only
- Wiley online library. Veterinary medicine This link opens in a new windowAccess to select content; available via Wiley Online Library or Ebook Central (Personal account must be created to access some features)
Background Information: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Martin, E. A, & Oxford University Press Content Provider. (2010). Concise medical dictionary. Oxford University Press.
JamaEvidence Glossary
Lackie, J. M. (2010). A dictionary of biomedicine. Oxford University Press.
Wnek, G. E. (2008). Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Volume 1 (2nd Edition). In Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Volume 1 (2nd Edition). CRC Press LLC.
Fuchs, Jurgen, & Podda, Maurizio. (2004). Encyclopedia of Medical Genomics and Proteomics, Volume 1-2. In Encyclopedia of Medical Genomics and Proteomics, Volume 1-2. Taylor & Francis Group.
Swarbrick, J., & ebrary, Inc. (2007). Encyclopedia of pharmaceutical technology. Volume 1. Informa Healthcare.