Engineering

Search for "handbook" (or "textbook" or "pocket guide") in the library search box, apply the "books" filter, choose "Health Sciences Library" and filter for desired date ranges.

  Miniati, R., Dori, F., & Iadanza, E. (2016). Clinical engineering : From devices to systems. ProQuest Ebook Central https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca

Kutz, M. (2009). Biomedical engineering and design handbook. McGraw-Hill.

Intro to Patents Quick Guide

Canadian

• Canadian Medical Association Health Summit Conference
• Clinical Practice Guildines Infobase
  • Over 1,200 CPGs developed or endorsed by Canadian medical professionals
• Canadian Psychiatric Association Clinical Practice Guidelines
  • Information on anxiety disorders, schizophrenia and depressive disorders
• Public Health Agency of Canada Disease Prevention and Control Guidelines
  • Guidelines developed for Canadians
• SOGC Clinical Practice Guidelines
  • Guidelines for obstetrics and gynaecological health
• Towards Optimized Practice - Alberta Medical Association
  • CPGs specifially to address knowledge gaps or unique issues facing Albertans

Canadian Guidelines Development Organizations

• Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health
• Canadian Task Force on Preventative Health Care
• Centre for Effective Practice - Evidence & Guidelines

United States 

• American College of Physicians Clinical Recommendations
• Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
• National Guideline Clearinghouse

International Guidelines

• Australian Government National Health and Medical Research Council Guidelines
• Guidelines in Practice (UK)
• Guidelines International Network

TOPIC: "Energy harvesting for self-powered devices"

STEP 1: Break this topic into concepts and think about synonyms for your key words

STEP 2: Concept A

• Energy harvesting
  • Tip #1: ask yourself: what kind of energy harvesting?
• ​"energy harvest*" OR triboelectric* OR piezoelectric*
  • Tip #2 use quotation marks around multi-word phrases
  • Tip #3 use truncation (*) to search for suffix variances

STEP 3: Concept B on the second line of an advanced search form

• "AND"
• "self power*" OR "implant* OR "body-area network*"

Martin, E. A, & Oxford University Press Content Provider. (2010). Concise medical dictionary. Oxford University Press.

JamaEvidence Glossary

Lackie, J. M. (2010). A dictionary of biomedicine. Oxford University Press.

Wnek, G. E. (2008). Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Volume 1 (2nd Edition). In Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Volume 1 (2nd Edition). CRC Press LLC.

Fuchs, Jurgen, & Podda, Maurizio. (2004). Encyclopedia of Medical Genomics and Proteomics, Volume 1-2. In Encyclopedia of Medical Genomics and Proteomics, Volume 1-2. Taylor & Francis Group.

Swarbrick, J., & ebrary, Inc. (2007). Encyclopedia of pharmaceutical technology. Volume 1. Informa Healthcare.