The Library for Faculty
Research and Learning Services’ librarians and staff provide library-focused teaching, learning, and research support to all faculty, students, researchers, and staff.
Ask a Librarian
Having trouble finding the information you need for your research paper? Do you need to figure out your research topic? Working on a literature review for your thesis? Consult with one of our librarians, curators, and archivists for expert guidance and assistance.
Consult with usQuick Resources
Access library information, resources, and expertise to support your teaching and research activities.
Instructional / Teaching Support
Discover resources and services aimed at supporting teaching and learning.
Assignment development and co-teaching
Personalized instruction and workshops
Resources for your courses, course reserves, and reading lists
Open Course Materials Matching Service (OCoMMS)
Open Educational Resources (OER)
Research Support
Explore resources and services focusing on supporting research and informational needs.
Research Data Management (RDM)
Research data management roadmap
Scholarly communication and publication dissemination
General Support
Explore a range of other resources that you might need along the way.
Contact your subject librarian
Borrowing from the Library
Wondering how to borrow from the library, review the status of your library account, place holds, renew or return materials, or pay fines?
View borrowing informationLoans from Other Libraries
Copies of materials not held in our collections can be requested through the library’s Interlibrary Loan Service.
View Interlibrary Loans ServiceUnicard Access
Faculty members need a Unicard to check out library materials or request items through the library's Interlibrary Loan Service. Don’t have a Unicard yet?
Get your UnicardWhere to Find Information
Learn how to find information related to our libraries, books, collections, guides, and databases.
Library Collections
Our collections support teaching, learning and research. Our collections include print and electronic materials, film, audio recordings, images, maps, and microfiche among other formats.
Some of our branch libraries also house topical special collections. For example, the Arctic Institute of North America (AINA) collection is located in the Gallagher Library. Items in these special collections can be found through our library search page.
Library Search
Search the library catalogue to find books, journal articles, reports, maps, media and more.
To improve your research skills, learn how to use search tools with our expert library tutorials.
Research Guides
Libraries and Cultural Resources staff have created a wide range of online research guides to assist faculty and students in accessing additional information about our collections and services along with subject, topical, and "how to" information.
Note: Research guides are also often referred to as "LibGuides".
Databases
The University of Calgary subscribes to over 1000 bibliographic and full text databases.
Book an appointment with a librarian for advice on which databases align with your research needs.
Recommend a Purchase
If you'd like us to buy a book, journal, or other resource, please use this form to recommend an item for purchase.
Request a purchaseImage, Video, and Data Resources
Images
Looking for image resources? We have a variety of subject-specific subscription and institutional image collections, digitized photographs from our collections including the Glenbow Archives. Some of these images are available in the public domain. Visit our Images research guide to learn more.
Video
Looking for video resources? Take a look at our Video research guide which lists databases and openly licensed sources for videos.
Spatial & Numeric Data Services (SANDS)
SANDS provides access to local, Canadian, and International public user microdata including census data, Statistics Canada, Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI), and OECD data. Take a look at our SANDS website and connect with our data experts.
Research Related Resources and Services
Get help with your research with these targeted resources and services offered by Libraries and Cultural Resources and the University of Calgary.
Research Data Management (RDM)
This research guide covers the basics of research data management.
Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL)
Information about the research, reading, writing, and practice of SoTL.
Literature Reviews
This guide walks through the basics of literature reviews. Created for the education discipline, this guide is applicable for others to use as well.
Systematic Reviews
This page provides resources for discipline-specific systematic resources and highlights our systematic review librarian experts.
Workshops for Faculty
The library offers workshops on various research-related topics.
Faculty of Graduate Studies workshops are also available.
NVivo
NVivo software supports qualitative and mixed-methods research. Check out this guide which includes information for NVivo for literature reviews.
Metadata Services
Metadata provides key information for the reproduction and management of information resources. Utilize this service for identifying and describing your research materials to maximize their reach.
Makerspace
Located on the 3rd floor of the TFDL, the Makerspace provides hands-on access to technologies for DIY making and collaboration, including 3D printing and scanning, Raspberry Pis, sewing and embroidery, and more.
Lab NEXT
Lab NEXT supports and promotes research & scholarship and connects scholars with library services and experts to enhance their research. Collaborative spaces for research-related meetings, work sessions, and events are available.
Archives and Special Collections (ASC)
ASC provides access to archival records, including theses, yearbooks, campus newspapers, and the private archives of influential Canadians. From comic books to the EMI Music Canada Archive to the Canadian Architectural Archives to the papers of Nobel Prize winning author Alice Munro, our holdings attract researchers from around the world.
Visualization Studio and Resources
Located on the 4th floor of the TFDL, the visualization studio is available for graduate students & faculty for their research. The Visualization research guide created for business, but applicable to other disciplines as well, provides resources on data visualization software, books, articles, tools, tutorial, and a blog.
Citation Styles and Tools
These guides provide assistance and information for learning the major citation styles and tools.
Explore citation styles Explore citation tools