Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections (ASC)

This guide is intended to help you get started with your archival and rare book research at the University of Calgary.

Search Archives

Search Archives is the main finding aid database for all ASC repositories.

General Searches

In this database you are able to search across all of Archives and Special Collections (ASC) using the searchbar at the top of the page.

Screenshot showing Search Archives searchbar.

  • When you are within an individual repository's database, you can limit your search to that repository by selecting "Search [Repository]" from the search dropdown.

Screenshot showing option to select archival repository to search.

Advanced Searches

If you know the reference code for the item you are searching for, place the number in quotation marks.

  • E.g. for this example item, search "CA ACU CAA F0026-S0003-FL0135" or "PAN 50666".

Browsing

You can also browse by archival institution, people, and places. To do this, select the appropriate word.

  • Archival institutions are the five repositories that make up ASC.
  • People are individuals or organizations that have created or are the subject of records in our holdings.
  • Places are geographic locations that the records relate to.