Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections (ASC)

This guide is intended to help you get started with your archival and rare book research at the University of Calgary.

Digital Collections

The Digital Collections database includes material from across Archives and Special Collections.

Below are some introductory steps on how to search this database. You can also view our Digital Collections database tutorial videos.

Browsing

To browse digital collections by collection, subject, year, or type of media, scroll to the bottom of the main digital collections page and select the term you are interested in.

General Search

To search across all digital collections, use the search bar on the main digital collections page.

Once you complete a search, you can filter the results using the facets in the left-side menu.

Advanced Search

To perform an advanced search, select the "Advanced Search" option below the search bar on the main digital collections page.

A new panel will open up allowing you to search for terms in specific fields.

Searching by Image Number

If you know the reference number for the image you are interested in, search the number within quotation marks in the search bar on the main digital collections page. E.g. "PA-3689-954", "NA-2691-32", or "NC-70-22".


 

Note that not all material that has been digitized is available online. Please contact us if you cannot find what you are looking for.