Indigenous Languages
Overview
This guide contains information about language in North America divided into select languages from the Calgary area
- Selection of general language books in and about languages
- A selection of general websites and sources to find information in or about languages
- Subject headings, select books, and public websites related to the Blackfoot language
- Subject headings, select books, and public websites related to the Cree language
- Subject headings, select books, and public websites related to the Sarcee language
- Subject headings, select books, and public websites related to the Stoney language
Select resources from the U of C Catalogue
Dictionary of Languages by ISBN: 9780231115698Publication Date: 2004-03-10Approximately how many languages compose the Bantu language group of central and southern Africa? What is the name of the language spoken in Hawaii by an estimated two thousand people? What Western European language is not known to be related to any other language family in the world--and is considered by linguists to be one of the most difficult to learn? These are only a few of the questions language lovers, linguists, and lay readers will be able to answer with the Dictionary of Languages--an easy-to-navigate, authoritative guide to the world's languages and language groups at the end of the twentieth century. Andrew Dalby had the needs and interests of general readers in mind when he compiled this comprehensive reference work--most other language guides are written for scholars, and many include little or none of the absorbing social, cultural, geographic, and historical details that are brought together here. In the Dictionary of Languages, readers will find: *a selection of four hundred languages and language groups, arranged alphabetically, with rich, detailed descriptions of the genesis, development, and current status of each; *more than two hundred maps displaying where the languages are spoken today; *sidebars showing alphabets, numerals, and other enriching facts *a comprehensive index listing additional languages, guiding readers to the nearest language groups with full writeups and maps; *charts breaking down large language groups--such as Bantu or Austroasiatic languages--by geographic region and approximate number of speakers. In a world where geopolitical boundaries often explain little about the people that live within them, where we may read about Kurd and Khmer in the same newspaper and be expected to be conversant about each--if not conversant in each--Dalby's single, information-packed volume helps us make sense of the rich mosaic of world languages.
Language Racism by Call Number: P120 .R32 L36 2015ISBN: 9781137531063Publication Date: 2015-05-15This book discusses a new breed of racism, namely language racism, which is spreading both in the USA and in Europe, as well as other parts of the world. The book is a manifesto promoting a more positive view of linguistic and cultural diversity.
The Language Hoax by Call Number: P35 .M37 2014ISBN: 9780199361588Publication Date: 2014-04-29Japanese has a term that covers both green and blue. Russian has separate terms for dark and light blue. Does this mean that Russians perceive these colors differently from Japanese people? Does language control and limit the way we think?This short, opinionated book addresses the Sapir-Whorf hypothesis, which argues that the language we speak shapes the way we perceive the world. Linguist John McWhorter argues that while this idea is mesmerizing, it is plainly wrong. It is language that reflects culture and worldview, not the otherway around. The fact that a language has only one word for eat, drink, and smoke doesn't mean its speakers don't process the difference between food and beverage, and those who use the same word for blue and green perceive those two colors just as vividly as others do.McWhorter shows not only how the idea of language as a lens fails but also why we want so badly to believe it: we're eager to celebrate diversity by acknowledging the intelligence of peoples who may not think like we do. Though well-intentioned, our belief in this idea poses an obstacle to a betterunderstanding of human nature and even trivializes the people we seek to celebrate. The reality - that all humans think alike - provides another, better way for us to acknowledge the intelligence of all peoples.
A survey of the literature on aboriginal language learning and teaching by Call Number: Electronic booksISBN: 9780778563983Publication Date: 2007This report provides an overview of the current literature relating to: 1) the language to culture connection 2) Aboriginal language pedagogy and instructional practices 3) parental and community involvement
Select general databases suitable for research across most disciplines
For more information on how to search these databases effectively, see Database Searching on the home page of this guide
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Use buttons in the Turtle on home page to find information according to subject
- or follow standard database searching strategies to access materials
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Follow standard database searching strategies to access materials
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
- Coverage is from 1925 to the present.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, as well as various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
- Coverage is of items published from 1973 to present.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Indexes monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and government publications covering native American topics and issues, including education, anthropology, psychology, political science, sociology, and legal and medical research.
Coverage is of items published from the sixteenth century to the present.
The Aboriginal languages of First Nations people, Métis and Inuit
There are more than 70 Aboriginal languages spoken across Canada, divided into twelve different language families: Algonquian languages, Inuit languages, Athabaskan languages, Siouan languages, Salish languages, Tsimshian languages, Wakashan languages, Iroquoian languages, Michif, Tlingit, Kutenai, and Haida. Statistics Canada provides a comprehensive list of language-based information by province and population, with further links to data sources, methods, and definitions.
- Scroll down to interact with the different tables and charts made available
- Use the links on the right-hand side to find related articles and additional resources
- Further Census information can be found on the Statistics Canada website