Indigenous Languages
Blackfoot Language
A selection of Subject Headings for Blackfoot language
|
Siksika language |
Blackfoot language |
|
Grammar |
Indians of North America |
|
Vowels |
Blackfoot Indians |
|
Algonquian |
English Speakers |
|
Kainai Indians |
Piegan Indians |
Using a combination of search keywords and subject headings, you may find materials such as...
Select resources from the U of C Catalogue
The Blackfoot Dictionary of Stems, Roots and Affixes by Call Number: PM2342 .U35 1978ISBN: 0802007678Publication Date: 1995-10-23This second edition of the critically acclaimed dictionary originally published in 1989 adds more than 300 new entries and amplifies over 1000 others. The Blackfoot Dictionary is a comprehensive guide to the vocabulary of Blackfoot, an Algonquian language spoken by thousands in Alberta and Montana. It contains more than 4,000 Blackfoot-English entries and an English index of more than 5,000 entries, and provides thorough coverage of cultural terms. The transcription uses an official, technically accurate alphabet and the authors have classified entries and selected examples based on more than 25 years of research.
Blackfoot Grammar by Call Number: PM2342 .F69 2009ISBN: 9781442699878Publication Date: 2009-12-26Thousands of people in Alberta and Montana speak Blackfoot, an Algonquian language. But the numbers are diminishing and the survival of Blackfoot is in some danger. To help preserve the language while it is still in daily use, Donald G. Frantz and Norma Jean Russell collaborated on the Blackfoot Dictionary, published in 1989 to widespread acclaim and later revised in 1995. Blackfoot Grammar, the companion volume to the dictionary, has now also been updated with a second edition. The changes made to each chapter reflect new approaches refined through years of teaching experience. New chapters on 'Numbers and Enumeration' and 'Translating from English to Blackfoot' have been added, as well as new exercises and two new appendixes describing the phonetics of Blackfoot and the design of the alphabet. This second edition of Blackfoot Grammar will be a welcome update not only for those who wish to learn the language, but for all those with an interest in Native Studies and North American linguistics.
Blackfoot Ways of Knowing by Call Number: 970.004973 S BAB 2004ISBN: 9781552381090Publication Date: 2004-06-20Blackfoot Ways of Knowing is a journey into the heart and soul of Blackfoot culture. As a scholar and researcher, Betty Bastien places Blackfoot tradition within a historical context of precarious survival amid colonial displacement and cultural genocide. In sharing her personal story of reclaimed identity, Bastien offers a gateway into traditional Blackfoot ways of understanding and experiencing the world. For the Siksikaitsitapi, knowledge is experiential, participatory, and ultimately sacred. Bastien maps her own process of coming to know, stressing the recovery of the Blackfoot language and Blackfoot notions of reciprocal responsibilities and interdependence. Rekindling traditional ways of knowing is essential for Indigenous peoples in Canada to heal and rebuild their communities and cultures. By sharing what she has learned, Betty Bastien hopes to ensure that the next generation of Indigenous people will enjoy a future of hope and peace. s people will enjoy a future of hope and peace.
Searching the web will yield results such as the following.
Researchers at Simon Fraser University have created an online resource to promote the use of the Blackfoot language. In 2016, there were less than five thousand fluent speakers documented, resulting in its endangered status by UNESCO. This resource teaches vocabulary, pronunciation, and eventually forming sentences to aid in the revival of the Blackfoot language.
- Advanced functions are developing, as this project is ongoing.
A small non-profit organization dedicated to the survival of Native American languages, particularly through the use of Internet technology. It is a compendium of online materials about more than 800 indigenous languages of the Western Hemisphere and the people that speak them.
- Contains background information and resource links.
Organization dedicated to American Indian language preservation provides vocabulary lists, links, and online information about each Native American language.
- Language immersion lessons, vocabulary, and historical information