Indigenous Languages
Cree Language
A selection of Subject Headings for Blackfoot language
|
Cree language |
Algonquian Language |
|
Grammar |
Indians of North America |
|
Vowels |
Cree Indians |
|
Algonquian |
English Speakers |
Using a combination of search keywords and subject headings, you may find materials such as...
Select resources from the U of C Catalogue
Cree, Language of the Plains by Call Number: PM987 .O45 2004ISBN: 9780889771550Publication Date: 2004-10-09Cree, Language of the Plains explores some of the intricate grammatical features of a language spoken by a nation which extends from Quebec to Alberta. Although there are five dialects within these geographic boundaries, only the "y" (or Plains) dialect is presented here. The distinction has been made between, on one hand, learning about a language, or building language awareness, and, on the other hand, acquisition of a language acquisition activities. Includes tables showing verb conjugation, placement of person indicators, preverbs, connectives, and endings (singular and plural). There is also a reference grammar and verb list. Standard Roman Orthography is used.
The Clause-Typing System of Plains Cree by Call Number: PM986 .C66 2014ISBN: 9780199654536Publication Date: 2014-04-01This book offers detailed empirical coverage of the syntax and semantics of Plains Cree, an Algonquian language of western Canada. It combines careful elicitation with corpus studies to provide the first systematic investigation of the two distinct verbal inflectional paradigms - independentand conjunct - in the language.The book argues that the independent order denotes an indexical clause type with familiar deictic properties, while the conjunct order is an anaphoric clause type whose reference is determined by rules of anaphoric dependence. Both syntactic and semantic considerations are examined: on the syntacticside, indexical clauses are shown to be restricted to a subset of matrix environments, and to exclude proforms that have clause-external antecedents or induce cross-clausal dependencies. Anaphoric clauses have an elsewhere distribution: they occur in both matrix and dependent contexts, and freelyhost and participate in cross-clausal dependencies. The semantic discussion focusses primarily on the context in which a proposition is evaluated: it shows that indexical clauses have absolute tense and a speaker origo, consistent with deixis on a speech act; anaphoric clauses, by contrast, useanaphoric dependencies to establish the evaluation context.Data from Plains Cree is compared to the matrix/subordinate system found in English, to the clause-chaining system of the Amele language of Papua New Guinea, and to Romance subjunctive clauses. The book also provides the first micro-typology of pronominal marking and initial change in Algonquianlanguages.
Meet Cree by Call Number: PM986 .W64 1981ISBN: 9780888640734Publication Date: 1981-01-01Across various regions of Canada, the Cree language is spoken in several dialects that differ from one another in a few sounds and in occasional words. Most examples in the books are given in both Plains and Swampy Cree, which account for at least three-quarters of the total number of Cree speakers. But since all Cree has the same basic structure, speakers of neighbouring dialects have little difficulty in communicating, and the examples apply equally to all dialects of Cree.Meet Cree introduces the reader to the Cree language, mainly by showing how its structure differs from that of English. It does not attempt to teach the Cree language itself, but those who read this book will find it much easier to actually learn Cree afterwards.The book will make Euro-Canadians aware of language differences that are liable to cause misunderstandings, and it will acquaint them with the difficulties faced by Cree speakers when they learn English.The authors introduce the reader to the sounds of Cree, its consonants, vowels, and semivowels. Differences in approach to gender, number, and direction are explored, as are inflections of nouns, pronouns, and verbs. Word "shape," as important in Cree as word order in is English, is explained with many examples, and the book ends with a list of supplementary readings.
Origins of Predicates by Call Number: PM987 .H47 2003ISBN: 9780415967792Publication Date: 2003-07-07This book offers a new perspective on natural language predicates by analyzing data from the Plains Cree language. Contrary to traditional understanding, Cree verbal complexes are syntactic constructs composed of morphemes as syntactic objects that are subject to structurally defined constraints, such as c-command. Tomio Hirose illustrates this in his study of vP syntax, event semantics, morphology-syntax mappings, unaccusativity, noun incorporation, and valency-reducing phenomena.
Searching the web for terms such as "Learn Cree Language", Cree Grammar", "Cree Verbs", and "Cree Lessons" will provide alternative sources.
A small non-profit organization dedicated to the survival of Native American languages, particularly through the use of Internet technology. It is a compendium of online materials about more than 800 indigenous languages of the Western Hemisphere and the people that speak them.
- Contains background information and resource links.
The Cree Literacy Network was created in 2010 to promote Cree language and cultural literacy, through the publication of bilingual books and other literacy materials (in Cree and English) that use Standard Roman Orthography for writing Cree. We believe that Cree language literacy can be learned better and spread farther if everyone uses the same, consistent writing system. We also believe that authentic Cree language materials prepared in translation can promote cultural literacy, even among those who read only English.
- Diverse and many resources to assist language learning, linguistic analysis, and cultural histories.
Tansi! Nehiyawetan invites children to learn Cree with Kai, Kayla, and Auntie Josephine through kinetic games, absorbing stories, compelling songs and dynamic adventures. Join Kai and Kayla as they find out about Cree culture and language while they go on learning adventures in the colourful city of Vancouver. Nehiyawetan incorporates words that reflect what kids are interested in, like Space, Art, Sports, Pow-wows, Music, Animals, Christmas, and even Scary Stuff.
- Introductory lesson for basic Cree grammar and vocabulary.
The Cree Language Resource Project (CLRP) dictionary has the ability to translate words from English to Cree in Syllabics and Roman Orthography (Cree written in English) with explanation of how it fits in a sentence. The translated word will be associated with a picture, sound, and a video clip. The goal of the project is to promote the learning and preservation of the Cree language. The online dictionary will have the ability to accommodate different regional Cree dialects. In addition to translation function the system will allow the creation of flash cards and storyboard using the picture and the words (syllabics and English) from the database. Others features will be managed educational games such as word matching and puzzles. These games will have testing component to assess student learning. The system will include a database of Cree language lesson plans that will guide teachers in integrating First Nation Languages in the curriculum.
- Cree Language dictionary and grammar resource. Also an accredited source.
FaceBook Group; Nêhiyawêwin (Cree) Word/Phrase of the Day
A variety of Cree words and phrases from nouns, verbs, expressions and the like, that should be shared by all nêhiyaw speakers. Open to all persons who share a common goal of wanting more nêhiyawêwin to be learned by all people. This site's creators also prefer Standard Roman Orthography.
- Facebook discussion group where questions can be answered.