Indigenous Student Access Program (ISAP)
Introduction
There are several library locations on-campus, each with excellent study spaces and resources available to UCalgary students. You can click to find general information, contact details, each library's location, and an introduction to the archives collection below.
Libraries on Campus
Opened in 2011, the Taylor Family Digital Library (TFDL), is the main library at the University of Calgary. The TFDL is the most technologically advanced library in North America. The TFDL supports a wide range of services, both traditional and digital, and also houses the Nickle Galleries, Chancellor Cuthbertson Student Success Centre, and the University of Calgary Press. The hours listed below are for the entire Taylor Family Digital Library (Floors 1 through 6). Please check the hours for other units and service desks housed in the Taylor Family Digital Library as their service hours may differ from building hours.
Website: https://library.ucalgary.ca/
Address: 410 University Court NW Calgary
Information: 403.220.8895
Email: libinfo@ucalgary.libanswers.com
Virtual Tour: TFDL
The Bennett Jones Law Library welcomes patrons from all faculties at the University of Calgary, plus the public from surrounding communities at our one-stop desk for circulation-related and reference service.
Website: https://library.ucalgary.ca/law/
Address: Murray Fraser Hall 2340
Information: 403.220.3727
Reference: 403.220.7274
Email: lawlib@ucalgary.ca
Virtual Tour: Bennett Jones Law Library
The Business Library is a joint venture between the Haskayne School of Business and the University of Calgary Library. It supports the teaching and research activities of the Business School and serves the business and information needs of the students, faculty, alumni, and the community. Knowledgeable and experienced information professionals are skilled in assisting clients using the Library's collection covering all aspects of business and management. The Library offers access to more than 60 full-text databases including journal articles from 6000 business journals, company financials and reports, industry information, and a small current reference collection. Students and faculty can request information assistance at the reference desk, by e-mail, telephone, and instant messaging. Library staff offers course-related instruction, tours, workshops, and online tutorials to introduce students to specific information resources.
Address: Scurfield Hall 301
Information: 403.220.6113
Email: library@haskayne.ucalgary.ca
Virtual Tour: Business Library
The Doucette Library of Teaching Resources is open to University of Calgary students, staff, and faculty. The collection is focused on Education K-12 curriculum resource materials, children's literature, French language books, and kits, and professional support materials. Some curriculum materials are restricted to currently registered students in the Werklund School of Education.
Address: Education Block 370
Information: 403.220.5637
Email: doucinfo@ucalgary.ca
Virtual Tour: Doucette Library
The Gallagher Library is located within the science and engineering area of the University campus and provides research support in all aspects of science and engineering research at the undergraduate and graduate levels. The Gallagher Library was established in 1973 when Dr. John Patrick (Jack) Gallagher presented the (then) Geology Department with funds for the development of a library specializing in regional, sedimentary, and petroleum geology. The Gallagher Library began operating in its present site in September 1974 and was officially opened in February 1975. It has one of the largest geology and geophysics collections in Canada, covering sedimentary, regional, and petroleum research publications at the undergraduate, graduate, and professional levels.
Address: Earth Sciences 180
Information: 403.220.6042
Email: gallagher.library@ucalgary.ca
Virtual Tour: Gallagher Library
The Health Sciences Library provides reference and instruction services and a comprehensive collection of materials to support teaching, research, and practice for the Faculties of Medicine, Nursing, and Veterinary Medicine.
Website: https://library.ucalgary.ca/hsl/
Address: Health Sciences Centre 1450
Information: 403.220.6855
Email: hslibr@ucalgary.ca
Virtual Tour: Health Sciences Library
Archives and Special Collections provides access to over five linear kilometers of archival records, including theses, yearbooks, campus newspapers, and the private archives of influential Canadians. The collections include rare book holdings, significant literary, historical, musical, and cultural archives, collections of popular and science fiction, rare works on the Arctic, the largest collection of Canadian architectural drawings and records in the country, and the corporate records of the University of Calgary. From comic books to the EMI Music Canada Archive to the Canadian Architectural Archives to the papers of Nobel Prize-winning author Alice Munro, the holdings in Archives and Special Collections attract researchers from around the world.
Website: https://asc.ucalgary.ca/
Dave, B. (2019). Glenbow-exterior [Photograph]. UCalgary News. https://ucalgary.ca/news/glenbow-western-research-centre-opens-taylor-family-digital-library.