African Studies

Our site provides information on African Canadian artists and their work, links to other Canadian resources on the web, and updates about the activities of the Centre.

National tour 1992-1994, circulated in cooperation with the Canadian Museum of Civilization

Black Canadian Film is a website dedicated to celebrating amplifying Black cinema and filmmakers from Canada. This includes the films and filmmakers who have brought Black stories to life, as well as the industry professionals, festivals, and programs creating spaces for Black Canadian artists. (from website)

Black Lunch Table [BLT] is a radical archiving project. Our mission is to build a more complete understanding of cultural history by illuminating the stories of Black people and our shared stake in the world. We envision a future in which all of our histories are recorded and valued.

BlackPast is dedicated to providing a global audience with reliable and accurate information on the history of African America and of people of African ancestry around the world. We aim to promote greater understanding through this knowledge to generate constructive change in our society.

Founded in 2020, the Canada Black Music Archives (CBMA) is part of the historical record and our continuing memory as Canadians. As a digital archive, we are accessible to everyone with online access and will become an important educational tool. The CBMA provides important evidence of past and continuing contributions of Black Canadian musicians. A key objective of the CBMA is to increase the sense of identity and belonging in a place where Black Canadians have lived and contributed to furthering Canada’s development for over 400 years. (from website)

The goal of the Digital Library on American Slavery is to bring together and make freely accessible public records related to enslavement, with an emphasis upon the names and stories of the enslaved. DLAS strives to be a documentation project, not an interpretive effort. The team works with researchers to make data sets available for personal research.

Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global Black experience through online materials at the Schomburg Center created and curated by our staff and librarians. Visitors can locate online articles, digital exhibitions, photographs, audio and video streams, historical projects, and external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.

The Harriet Tubman Institute is committed to the study of the past as it is linked to the present experience of Africans and its Diasporas from multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary perspectives. Thus, the Institute’s research program brings to light the diversity of Africans and its Diasporas. It joints to the necessity that we understand the diversity of Blackness and what Blackness means in the Canadian context. It offers York faculty members and students a unique niche of knowledge that exposes the richness and diversity of Africans and people of African descent’s experience in Canada and globally.

Online Exhibitions including Slavery and Freedom 1400-1877 https://www.searchablemuseum.com/slavery-and-freedom

Umbra Search African American History makes African American history more broadly accessible through a freely available widget and search tool, umbrasearch.org; digitization of African American materials across University of Minnesota collections; and support of students, educators, artists, and the public through residencies, workshops, and events locally and around the country.

Canada's Leading Caribbean and African News Magazine, has been established since January, 1983. Pride News, reflecting the ambitions, aspirations, accomplishments and achievements of the African & Caribbean Canadian community, is updated daily online.

A general news and media website. TheGrio’s editorial mandate is to focus on news and events with a pronounced impact on a Black global audience. From Kampala to Atlanta, TheGrio is Black culture amplified. Find us everywhere you watch, any way you want to watch.

A general news website supported through advertising and sponsorships.