Building Resilience to Misinformation: An Instructional Toolkit

Agarwal, N. K., & Alsaeedi, F. (2020). Understanding and fighting disinformation and fake news: Towards an innovation behavior framework. Proceedings of the Association for Information Science & Technology, 57(1), 1-4.​

Butter, M. (2014). Plots, Designs, and Schemes: American Conspiracy Theories from the Puritans to the Present. De Gruyter: Germany.​

Bliss, N., Bradley, E., Garland, J., Menczer, F., Ruston, S., Starbird, K., & Wiggins, C. (2020). An Agenda for Disinformation Research. A Computing Community Consortium (CCC) Quadrennial Paper. https://cra.org/ccc/resources/ccc-led-whitepapers/#2020-quadrennial-papers. ​

Cook, J., Lewandowsky, S., & Ecker, U. K. H. (2017). Neutralizing misinformation through inocluation: Exposing misleading argumentation techniques reduces their influence. PLoS ONE, 12(5), 1-21.​

Cook, J. (March 31, 2020). A history of FLICC: the 5 techniques of science denial. Skeptical Science. Retrieved from https://skepticalscience.com/history-FLICC-5-techniques-science-denial.html. ​

Cooke, N. A. (2018). Fake News and Alternative Facts: Information Literacy in a Post-Truth Era. American Library Association.​

Ditzkies, P. (2018, March 8). Study: On Twitter, false news travels faster than true stories. MIT News. Retrieved from https://news.mit.edu/2018/study-twitter-false-news-travels-faster-true-stories-0308. ​

Farrell, J., McConnell, K., & Brulle, R. (2019). Evidence-based strategies to combat scientific misinformation. Nature Climate Change, 9(3), 191–195. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41558-018-0368-6.​

Johnson, J. H., & Gluck, M. (2016). Everydata: The Misinformation Hidden in the Little Data You Consume Every Day. Bibliomotion, Inc.: New York, New York.​

Kavanagh, J., & Rich, M. D. (2018). Truth Decay: An Initial Exploration of the Diminishing Role of Facts and Analysis in American Public Life. Santa Monica, California: RAND Corporation.​

Lewandowsky, S., Cook, J., Ecker, U. K. H., Albarracín, D., Amazeen, M. A., Kendeou, P., Lombardi, D., Newman, E. J., Pennycook, G., Porter, E. Rand, D. G., Rapp, D. N., Reifler, J., Roozenbeek, J., Schmid, P., Seifert, C. M., Sinatra, G. M., Swire-Thompson, B., van der ​

Liu, H. (2022, October 14). Disinformation. In Encyclopedia. https://encyclopedia.pub/entry/29164. ​

Linden, S., Vraga, E. K., Wood, T. J., Zaragoza, M. S. (2020). The Debunking Handbook 2020. Retrieved from https://www.climatechangecommunication.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/DebunkingHandbook2020.pdf. ​

Nuccitelli, D. (2013, September 16). The 5 stages of climate denial are on display ahead of the IPCC report. The Guardian. Retrieved from https://www.theguardian.com/environment/climate-consensus-97-per-cent/2013/sep/16/climate-change-contrarians-5-stages-denial. ​

Robinson, D. J. (2021, May 31). How Big Tobacco Set the Stage for Fake Nws. The Walrus. Retrieved from https://thewalrus.ca/how-big-tobacco-set-the-stage-for-fake-news/. ​

Swift, J. (1710). The Art of Political Lying. The Examiner. Retrieved from https://www.bartleby.com/209/633.html. ​

University of Oxford. (2021, January 13). Social media manipulation by political actors an industrial scale problem – Oxford report. University of Oxford – News and Events. Retrieved from https://www.ox.ac.uk/news/2021-01-13-social-media-manipulation-political-actors-industrial-scale-problem-oxford-report. ​

Vosoughi, S., Roy, D., & Aral, S. (2018). The spread of true and false news online. Science (American Association for the Advancement of Science), 359(6380), 1146–1151.​

Wardle, C., & Derakhshan, H. (2017). Information Disorder: Toward and interdisciplinary framework for research and policymaking. Council of Europe.​

Agarwal, N. K., & Alsaeedi, F. (2020). Understanding and fighting disinformation and fake news: Towards an information behavior framework. Proceedings of the Association for Information Science and Technology, 57(1), 1-4. https://doi.org/10.1002/pra2.327. ​

Bailey, T. C., & Hsieh-Yee, I. (2019). Combating the Sharing of False Information: History, Framework, and Literacy Strategies. Internet Reference Services Quarterly, 24(1-2), 9-30. https://doi.org/10.1080/10875301.2020.1863286. ​

Belief. (n.d.). Merriam-Webster Dictionary. Retrieved December 16, 2022, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/behavior .​

Behaviour. (n.d.). Merriam-Webster Dictionary. Retrieved December 16, 2022, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/behavior .​

Clarke, J., Proudfoot, J., Vatiliotis, V., Verge, C., Holmes-Walker, D. J., Campbell, L., Wilhelm, K., Moravac, C., Indu, P. S., Bridgett, M. (2018). Attitudes towards mental health, mental health research, and digital interventions by young adults with type 1 diabetes: A qualitative analysis. Health Expectations, 21(3), 668-677. https://doi.org/10.1111/hex.12662. ​

Cooke, N. A. (2018). Fake News and Alternative Facts: Information Literacy in a Post-Truth Era. American Public Library Association.​

European Commission (2018). A multi-dimensional approach to disinformation: Report of the independent High level Group on fake news and online disinformation. https://digital-strategy.ec.europa.eu/en/library/final-report-high-level-expert-group-fake-news-and-online-disinformation. ​

Guarda, R. F., Ohlson, M. P., Romanini, A. V. (2018). Disinformation, dystopia, and post-reality in social media: A semiotic-cognitive perspective. Education for Information, 34(3), 185-197.  https://doi.org/10.3233/EFI-180209. ​

Khan, M. L., & Idris, I. K. (2019). Recognise misinformation and verify before sharing: a reasoned action and information literacy perspective. Behaviour and Information Technology, 38(12), 1194-1212. https://doi.org/10.1080/0144929X.2019.1578828. ​

Martzoukou, K. (2020). Academic libraries in COVID-19: A renewed mission for digital literacy. Library Management, 42(4/5), 266-276. https://doi.org/10.1108/LM-09-2020-0131. ​

McQuail, D., & Deuze, M. (2020). McQuail's Media and Mass Communication Theory (7th ed.). Sage Publications Ltd.​

Nygren, T., & Guath, M. (2021). Students Evaluating and Corroborating Digital News. Scandinavian Journal of Educational Research, 1-17. https://doi.org/10.1080/00313831.2021.1897876. ​

Prentice, D. A. (1987). Psychological Correspondence of Possessions, Attitudes, and Values. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 53(6), 993-1003. https://doi.org/10.1037/0022-3514.53.6.993. ​

Rokeach, M. (1968). Beliefs, Attitudes and Values: A Theory of Organization and Change. Jossey-Bass Inc.​

Scheibenzuber, C., Hofer, S., & Nistor, N. (2021). Designing for fake news literacy training: A problem-based undergraduate course. Computers in Human Behaviour, 121, 1-13. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.chb.2021.106796. ​

Tandoc Jr., E. C., Lim, Z. W., Ling, R. (2018). Defining "Fake News": A typology of scholarly definitions. Digital Journalism, 6(2), 137-153. https://doi.org/10.1080/21670811.2017.1360143. ​

Tay, Q. L., Hurlstone, M. J., Kurz, T., & Ecker, U. K. H. (2022). A comparison of prebunking and debunking interventions for implied versus explicit misinformation. The British Psychological Society, 113(3), 591-607. https://doi.org/10.1111/bjop.12551. ​

University of Calgary Libraries and Cultural Resources. (2018). Primary Sources. Research Guides. https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/primarysources. ​

University of Calgary Libraries and Cultural Resources. (n.d.). High School Classes. Research Guides. https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/highschool/scholarly-sources. ​

University of Toronto Libraries. (n.d.). UTSC Finding Primary Sources. University of Toronto. https://guides.library.utoronto.ca/c.php?g=250552&p=1671079. ​

University of Toronto Libraries. (n.d.). What are secondary sources? University of Toronto. https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/faq/what-are-secondary-sources. ​

University of Toronto Libraries. (n.d.). What counts as a scholarly source? University of Toronto. https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/faq/what-counts-scholarly-source. ​

University of Toronto Libraries. (n.d.). What's the difference between scholarly and peer-reviewed articles? University of Toronto. Retrieved from https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/faq/whats-difference-between-scholarly-and-peer-reviewed-articles. ​

Wardle, C., & Derakhshan, H. (2017). Information Disorder: Toward and interdisciplinary framework for research and policymaking. Council of Europe.​

Zerback, T., Töpfl, F., & Knöpfle, M. (2021). The disconcerting potential of online disinformation: Persuasive effects of astroturfing comments and three strategies for inoculation against them. New Media & Society, 23(5), 1080-1098. https://doi.org/10.1177/1461444820908530.

Bailey, T. C., & Hsieh-Yee, I. (2019). Combating the Sharing of False Information: History, Framework, and Literacy Strategies. Internet Reference Services Quarterly, 24(1-2), 9-30. https://doi.org/10.1080/10875301.2020.1863286. ​

Baptista, J. P., & Gradim, A. (2020). Understanding Fake News Consumption: A Review. Social Sciences, 9(10), 1-22. https://doi.org/10.3390/socsci9100185. ​

Boucher, J. C., Edwards, J., Kim, J., Badami, A., & Smith, H. (2022). Disinformation and Russia-Ukrainian War on Canadian Social Media. The School of Public Polciy Publications, 15(1), 1-10.​

Cook, J., Ellerton, P., & Kinkead, D. (2018). Deconstructing climate misinformation to identify reasoning errors. Environmental Research Letters, 13(2), 1-7.​

Cook, J., Supran, G., Lewandowsky, S., Oreskes, N., & Maibach, E. (2019). America Misled: How the fossil fuel industry deliberately misled Americans about climate change. Retrieved from https://www.climatechangecommunication.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/America_Misled.pdf. ​

Elmansy, R. (2016, January 15). 6 Steps for Effective Critical Thinking. Designorate. https://www.designorate.com/steps-effective-critical-thinking/.​

Entergy. (2018, May 10). Entry Completes Internal Investigation Regarding New Orleans Power Station Advocacy. Retrieved from https://www.entergynewsroom.com/news/entergy-completes-internal-investigation-regarding-new-orleans-power-station-advocacy/. ​

Grimes, D. R. (2017, June 14). Russian fake news is not new: Soviet Aids propaganda costs countless lives. The Guardian. Retrieved from https://www.theguardian.com/science/blog/2017/jun/14/russian-fake-news-is-not-new-soviet-aids-propaganda-cost-countless-lives​

Grimes, D. R. (2022, March 28). Russian Misinformation Seeks to Confound, Not Convince. Scientific American. Retrieved from https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/russian-misinformation-seeks-to-confound-not-convince/. ​

Harold, S. W., Beauchamp-Mustafaga, N., & Hornung, J. W. (2021). Chinese Disinformation Efforts on Social Media. Santa Monica, California: RAND Corporation.​

Holoyda, B. (2023, March 29). QAnon. Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/topic/QAnon​

Kiili, C., Coiro, J., & Räikkönen, E. (2019). Students’ evaluation of information during online inquiry: Working individually or in pairs. Australian Journal of Language and Literacy, 42(3), 167-183. 

Lewandowsky, S., & Cook, J. (2020). The Conspiracy Theory Handbook. Retrieved from https://www.climatechangecommunication.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/ConspiracyTheoryHandbook.pdf​

McKee, M. (2017). The Tobacco Industry: The Pioneer of Fake News. Journal of Public Health Research, 6(1), 878.​

Miler, H. (2021, March 29). Russia's Anti-Vaccine Propaganda is Tantamount to a Declaration of War. Pacific Research Institute: Centre for Medical Economics and Innovation. Retrieved from https://medecon.org/russias-anti-vaccine-propaganda-is-tantamount-to-a-declaration-of-war/. ​

Silver, N. A., Kierstead, E. C., Briggs, J., Schillo, B. (2022). Charming e-cigarette users with distorted science: A survey examining social media platform use, nicotine-related misinformation and attitudes towards the tobacco industry.  BMJ Open, 12(6), n.p.​

Sidani, J. E., Hoffman, B. L., Colditz, J. B., Melcher, E., Taneja, S. B., Shensa, A., Primack, B., Davis, E., & Chu, K. H.  (2022). E-Cigarette-Related Nicotine Misinformation on Social Media. Substance Use and Misuse, 57(4), 588-594.​

Singh,R., & Brinster, K. N. (2021). Fighting Fake News: The Cognitive Factors Impeding Political Information Literacy. In N. G. Taylor, K. Kettnich, U. Gorham, & P. T. Jaegar (Eds.), Libraries and the Global Retreat of Democracy: Confronting Polarization, Misinformation, and Suppression (pp. 109-131). Bingley, England: Emerald Publishing Limited. https://doi.org/10.1108/S0065-283020210000050005. ​

Stein, M. I. (2018, May 4). Actors were paid to support Entergy's power plant at New Orleans City Council meetings. The Lens. Retrieved from https://thelensnola.org/2018/05/04/actors-were-paid-to-support-entergys-power-plant-at-new-orleans-city-council-meetings/. ​

University of Calgary Research Guides – Primary Sources: This Research Guide from the University of Calgary provides information on primary sources for students, such as examples, how to evaluate primary resources, and more. ​

U of L Libraries – Citizen Literacy: This online toolkit from University of Louisville Libraries has six separate modules with helpful tools for students, including Lateral Reading and Evaluating Expertise, among others. ​

University of Louisville. (2023). Paul-Elder Critical Thinking Framework – University of Louisville Ideas to Action. Retrieved from https://louisville.edu/ideastoaction/about/criticalthinking/framework. ​

Yablokov, I. (2022). Russian disinformation finds fertile ground in the West. Nature, 6, 766-767.