Winnifred Eaton Reeve Guide
Winnifred Eaton Reeve Digital Collection
"Scrapbook: 1899-1927", 1899-1927, (CU112046872) by Reeve, Winnifred Eaton, Onoto Watanna (pseudonym). Courtesy of Canadian Literary and Cultural Archives, Winnifred Eaton Reeve fonds Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
Explore the digitized archives of pioneering Canadian writer Winnifred Eaton Reeve held by the University of Calgary. They are comprised of material created or accumulated by Reeve in the course of her life. The archives include original manuscripts of Reeve’s many works, personal and business correspondence, photographs, and other miscellaneous material.
The digital collection consists of:
Professional and Business Activities
Please note that the language, terminology or visual content in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally insensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology.
The information within the collection does not reflect the views of the University of Calgary, but is available in its original form to facilitate research.
Reeve was born in 1875 and spent much of her life in Alberta. She was of mixed Chinese and British ancestry but she frequently wrote under the Japanese pseudonym, Onoto Watanna. Her prolific writing career began in 1894 and spanned more than four decades. She died in Butte, Montana in 1954, while en route to Calgary from California.
"Sunny-San [book cover and art]", 1922, (CU111976260) by Reeve, Winnifred Eaton, Onoto Watanna (pseudonym). Courtesy of Canadian Literary and Cultural Archives, Winnifred Eaton Reeve fonds Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.