Map Resources at UCalgary and Beyond
International Maps at UCalgary
Alberta and Canada are the main focus of our collections at the University, but we do have maps from other areas of the world. See the Search for Maps at UCalgary page for information on searching the UCalgary collection for maps. We have compiled the following list of other sources for international map resources.
International Topographic Maps
The SANDS map collection includes international topographic maps, including have most countries at a 1:250,000 or 1:500,000 scale, some countries at 1:50,000, 1:62,260 or 1:100,000, as well as many international city maps.
Other noteworthy sets include the National Topographic Series (NTS) for Canada and City of Calgary topographic and community district series. Reach out to us at maps@ucalgary.libanswers.com for help finding topographic maps.
International Map Resources and Collections
Historical Maps Resources (International)
Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC) Map VIewer
Focusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC supports the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data. Access to data and WMS layers is also available upon registration.
Sample maps showing some environmental, economic and demographic data
EMDAT (Emergency Disasters Database) Maps
The maps, based upon the EM-DAT database, provide geographical summaries of disaster events and impacts from 1974 onwards
Old Maps Online
An easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
University of Texas at Austin An excellent source for screen sized maps of world nations
Colorado School of Mines - Interactive Index
Links to scanned topographic maps of the world, at various scales, are available from the interactive webmap
Britain - Ordnance Survey, First Edition
Historical County Maps search tool (Scale 1:10,560)
GenMaps: Historic United Kingdom maps
Online images of English, Welsh and Scottish maps from their beginnings to the early 20th Century
Vision of Britain Through Time
Vision of Britain system includes the complete text of accounts of journeys around Britain, census reports and historical maps
Ordnance Survey Maps - 25 inch England and Wales, 1841-1952
A project by the National Library of Scotland, provides topographic mapping covering most parts of southeast England and Wales from the 1840s to the 1950s
Maps of Scotland
Maps date between 1560 and 1964 and relate primarily to Scotland, however also has some maps of areas beyond
WWI Trench Maps and Aerial Photographs
McMaster University Library is providing digital access, and the ability to download copies for non-commercial purposes only
Wartime and Scotland Historic Aerial Photography
The Aerial Reconnaissance Archives (TARA) contains millions of military reconnaissance images of locations throughout the world declassified by the UK Ministry of Defence. The Scottish "National Collection" contains the largest and most significant collection of historic and contemporary aerial imagery of Scotland
Map History / History of Cartography
Gateway site to the subject by Tony Campbell, retired Map Librarian of the British Library with over 1200 links to images of early maps on the web
Historical Maps of the Habsburg Empire
Mapire contains scanned and georeferenced mosaics of historic military survey maps of the Hungarian Empire, along with other European city and country maps
Austro-Hungarian Empire
1:200,000 Mitteleuropa map series published in Vienna between 1877 and 1914
Historic Eastern European Maps
The Federation of East European Family History Societies (FEEFHS) was organized in 1992 as an umbrella organization that promotes family research in eastern and central Europe without any ethnic, religious, or social distinctions
Map Archive of Wojskowy Instytut Geograficzny (WIG)
Contains online maps published by the Polish Military Geographical Institute (1919-1939), as well as other Central European areas
A portal with collections managed by the United Nations Library and Archives in Geneva. Includes thousands of digitized maps.
Other Map Resources (International)
Google Maps
Interactive maps of the world, location finder and satellite imagery
Bing Maps from Microsoft
Road, aerial and bird's-eye views in 2D, along with ability to download 3D globe view with buidling models for many international cities
Wikimapia
Wikimapia was created by Alexandre Koriakine and Evgeniy Saveliev, inspired by Google maps and Wikipedia
USGS EarthExplorer
Query, preview or order satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products through the U.S. Geological Survey. Requires login to download
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
University of Texas at Austin An excellent source for screen sized maps of world nations
Colorado School of Mines - Interactive Index
Links to scanned topographic maps of the world, at various scales, are available from the interactive webmap
MapQuest
Maps, Driving Directions, Road trip Planner
National Geographic
Online views of maps from National Geographic magazine
United Nations: Maps and Geographic Information Resources
Online maps
Atlapedia Online
Maps, Facts and Figures of World Countries
The World Factbook
(US Central Intelligence Agency) Factual information, including small maps, for countries of the world
Clickable World Atlas
World Atlas includes country profiles and statistics
Xpeditions
Printable page-size maps from National Geographic
Outline maps
Outline maps for educational and personal use
International Map Publishers
Collins Bartholomew
International maps and custom mapping
Maps Worldwide
Based in the UK, ships worldwide
Green Map System
Maps which chart sites of environmental significance in urban centres around the world
GeoKatalog
Links to many scientific map publishers around the world
Guide to help search for historic placenames in Europe - click to download pdf
Austro-Hungarian Empire
1:200,000 Mitteleuropa map series published in Vienna between 1877 and 1914
Historic Eastern European Maps
The Federation of East European Family History Societies (FEEFHS) was organized in 1992 as an umbrella organization that promotes family research in eastern and central Europe without any ethnic, religious, or social distinctions
Austria-Hungary Empire (Central Europe) - Print: G6500 .F1 560 1857 (on 4 sheets) / Microfiche: G6030 .S75 1876. The four sheets are available in our Historical Maps Digital Collection
Britain - Ordnance Survey Online
Free or Subscription-based downloadable maps
GenMaps: Historic United Kingdom maps
Online images of English, Welsh and Scottish maps from their beginnings to the early 20th Century
Ordnance Survey Maps - 25 inch England and Wales, 1841-1952
A project by the National Library of Scotland, provides topographic mapping covering most parts of southeast England and Wales from the 1840s to the 1950s
Vision of Britain Through Time
Vision of Britain system includes the complete text of accounts of journeys around Britain, census reports and historical maps
MAGIC (UK English Nature)
MAGIC brings together rural and countryside information and allows downloads of GIS digital boundary datasets for designated sites, ancient woodlands and natural areas. A web-based interactive map also brings together geographic information on key environmental schemes and designations for the UK
Maps of Scotland
Maps date between 1560 and 1964 and relate primarily to Scotland, however also has some maps of areas beyond
Historic Map Resources (USA)
David Rumsey Map Collection
Historic 18th and 19th century maps, primarily of North and South America
Library of Congress Map Collections
Seven major categories of digital maps from the Geography & Map Division of the Library of Congress
Mapping Montana and the west – Montana Memory Project
Includes contributions from various Montana institutions, including the Montana Historical Society Research Center and The University of Montana Mansfield Library.
University of Montana – Historic Maps Digital Collection
Selected from the Library’s Regional and Historic Map collection representing Montana and the greater northwest
Washington Secretary of State – Historical Maps
This digital collection draws from state and territorial government records, historic books, federal documents and the Northwest collection. Requires DjVu plugin to view maps
American West
Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newbury Library, Chicago. Note - Access is restricted to University of Calgary students, staff and faculty. Authentication is required if logging in offsite.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Collection of over 5000 worldwide historical maps and atlases
Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection
Contains over 20,000 maps and charts from the late 1700s to present day and includes some of the nation's earliest nautical charts, hydrographic surveys, topographic surveys, geodetic surveys, city plans and Civil War battle maps
Other Map Resources (USA)
USGS Publications and Data Products
Maps, Imagery, Data and Publications from the USGS
USGS Geological maps
US National Geologic Map Database
The National Map of the United States
Map viewer and data for thematic maps of the United States
USGS TopoView Map Locator
Search and download US topographic maps, available at various scales and years
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
Online maps and GIS files for different energy sources. Includes major Canadian oil and gas pipelines.
US Bureau of Land Management, Public Lands Information Center
BLM and Forest Service Maps for western states and Alaska, available in .pdf
Color Landform Atlas of the United States
County, Regional, Black and white, historic as well as satellite images may also be available for each state
Rand McNally Road Atlas
Searchable U.S state road maps, by address or airport, along with driving distances
US Map Publishers
USGS Publications and Data Products
General catalogs, locators, and collections information available via the United States ' largest water, earth, and biological science and civilian mapping agency
Omni Resources , Burlington, NC
International maps, topographic and geologic maps
East View Map Link
A map distributor with access to hundreds of publishers around the world
National Geographic Society
International publications
Rand McNally
Specializes in maps for navigation, road travel, and trip planning
ChartsandMaps.com
A map distibutor who prints high quality public domain maps
-
David Rumsey Map Collection
Historic 18th and 19th century maps, primarily of North and South America
Library of Congress Map Collections
Seven major categories of digital maps from the Geography & Map Division of the Library of Congress
Mapping Montana and the west – Montana Memory Project
Includes contributions from various Montana institutions, including the Montana Historical Society Research Center and The University of Montana Mansfield Library.
University of Montana – Historic Maps Digital Collection
Selected from the Library’s Regional and Historic Map collection representing Montana and the greater northwest
Washington Secretary of State – Historical Maps
This digital collection draws from state and territorial government records, historic books, federal documents and the Northwest collection. Requires DjVu plugin to view maps
American West
Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newbury Library, Chicago. Note - Access is restricted to University of Calgary students, staff and faculty. Authentication is required if logging in offsite.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Collection of over 5000 worldwide historical maps and atlases
Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection
Contains over 20,000 maps and charts from the late 1700s to present day and includes some of the nation's earliest nautical charts, hydrographic surveys, topographic surveys, geodetic surveys, city plans and Civil War battle maps
- Last Updated: Jun 27, 2024 1:46 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/c.php?g=740062
- Print Page