Map Resources at UCalgary and Beyond

Alberta and Canada are the main focus of our collections at the University. See the Search for Maps at UCalgary page for information on searching the UCalgary collection for maps.

Noteworthy series in the UCalgary collection covering outside of Alberta:

• Sectional maps of Western Canada, 1871-1955 - GA473.7 .D84 1989. See also other works in the series by ACMLA
• Saskatchewan Rural Municipality maps (G3553). Arranged numerically
• Prairie Township Plans (G3530 s31); ca.1870s-1940s / Hard copy holdings focus on southern Alberta. Arranged by M-R-T-S
• Discover and access Calgary area plans via web map app
• Prairie Sectional Maps (G3530 s190 & G1166 C5 C34 V.1-2); ca. 1891-1950 [print holdings not complete]. See Sectional .kml file below for links to scanned maps using Google Earth. Maps show towns, trails, railways and DLS grid. Used as a base at various scales for other “lands disposed of” series. / Precursor to NTS topographic series (G3400)
• Ontario, Quebec and Maritimes County Atlases (G1148) / Many older editions are also available online via the Canadian County Digital Atlas Project

Canadiana Map Collection

This collection contains nearly 22,000 Canadian maps from the 1:50,000 scale National Topographic Series. Maps date 1905-2012. These maps were digitized by McGill University Library.

ACMLA

Association of Canadian Map Libraries and Archives (ACMLA) historic map facsimiles represent a significant number of important maps of North America, however ancient world maps, Canadian city bird's eye views and regional maps are also included. Link to a list of maps, or contact SANDS to see print copies, or portfolio volumes.

Antique Maps Canada CD

Link to a list of 89 antique maps with thumbnail images. Click on the thumbnail map to download or view its high resolution MrSid format image. Catalogue record.

The National Atlas of Canada
Interactive maps, thematic and references maps are linked

Atlas of Canada Small-scale Reference Maps
A collection of digital and print-ready 8.5” x 11” sized maps of Canada’s provinces and territories. It also includes a collection of maps of the continents and the World. Each map is available in three formats – colour, black and white, and black and white without names.

Toporama
Representation of the National Topographic Data Base as images : total coverage of Canada at 1:250,000; partial coverage of Canada at 1:50,000.

GeoGratis
GeoGratis is a web and file transfer protocol (ftp) site that distributes geospatial data of Canada. Data is available for download, without charge. Similarly, several types of full resolution satellite imagery are on-line. Also has link for Google Earth KMZ.

IMW Index map with links to scanned Canadian maps
This series: International Map of the World (IMW), Canadian Sector, 1956-1987, provides maps with coverage at the scale of 1:1,000,000, in Lambert Conformal Conic projection. The maps are available for download as .pdf and .tiffand are originally from GeoGratis.

Canadian Geographic Mapping
Interactive maps, archive, historical timeline

Canadian Topographic Maps Index for Alberta
Alberta grid index for Canadian 1:50,000 NTS map sheets for sale via Map Town (Calgary)

Historical National Topographic System (NTS): 1:50,000 Scale Maps, Data, & GIS
This collection provides open access to digitized historical maps at the 1:50,000 scale, covering towns, cities, and rural areas in Canada over the period of 1948 to the early 21st century.

Community Information Database
Provides access to socio-economic and demographic data and information for all communities across Canada

Canada Post Householder Counts and Maps (requires Flash)
Maps and tables, in .pdf, showing FSA (Forward Sortation Area) boundaries, 3-digit postal code and householder counts for urban and rural districts

Canadian Cell Tower Map Locater
FAQs about the data, and the data itself can be found here: http://www.loxcel.com/canada-cell-tower-faq.html

National Archives of Canada - Maps and cartographic items
Search LAC Archives using basic or advanced, or Image Search, limiting by "Maps and cartographic material".

Canadian Sessional Papers Maps
Hosted by the University of Toronto Map & Data Library, contains maps from 1900-1925

Historical Atlas of Canada
Historical Atlas of Canada Online Learning Project is under development. A small portion of the maps and research data created for the Atlas are available over the Internet

Early Canadian topographic maps, from University of Ottawa
Maps published prior to 1950, covering select parts of Canada at a scale of 1 inch to 1 mile

Historical National Topographic System (NTS): 1:50,000 Scale Maps, Data, & GIS
This collection provides open access to digitized historical maps at the 1:50,000 scale, covering towns, cities, and rural areas in Canada over the period of 1948 to the early 21st century.

Canadian Geographic Map Maker
Interactive maps, archive, historical timeline

Indian Reserves - Western Canada
Includes database which provides item-level descriptions on approximately 1,500 maps, with approximately 1,200 digitized items, now in the public domain

Western Land Grants (1870-1930)
Searchable database of records which refer to grants issued in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and the railway belt of British Columbia for Letters Patent. Provides microform reference, however copies must be ordered from National Archives

Hudson's Bay Company Archives - Post Maps Search Aid
Provides maps and lists, by HBC Post, of records held at their archives

The Canadian West online exhibition maps
Has links to digital copies of important maps regarding exploration of western Canada

Rootsweb Historical Maps Digitization Project
Several early Canadian atlases and maps of Saskatchewan and Alberta are available from this genealogy website

Exploration of Canada: Mapmakers
Essays and maps covering the 16th-18th century explorations of Canada

Canadian County Atlas Digital Project
The County Atlas Digital Project is a searchable database of the property owners names which appear on the township maps in the historical county atlases (years vary between 1874 to 1881)

Federal Township Survey Plans and Field Notes
Interactive map viewer (requires Autodesk download; prefer using IE Explorer) allows searches for historic federal township plans, with image results in either DJVU, TIFF or JPEG formats

Scanned 1:50k NTS Maps from McGill University at Canadiana
Approximately 22,000 superseded and current National Topographic System (NTS) 1:50,000 scale maps scanned by McGill University.

Online Township Survey and Field Notes can sometime be searched via Provincial Registry websites, federally from Canada Lands Surveys. For Alberta, these maps, along with Surveyors' Field Notes are available from SPIN2

Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada

National Air Photo Library

Canadian Hydrographic Service Products

GEOSCAN - Geological Survey of Canada

Map Town, Calgary , AB
Travel maps for the world, topographical and aeronautical maps for Canada, municipal and county maps for Alberta

Alberta Environment and Parks Geographic Information
Links to purchasing information for maps, airphotos, geodetic, survey and resource data.

National Air Photo Library (NAPL)
Requires registration to log-in and search collection (under airborne) which spans over 70 years of aerial photography in Canada. Imagery from various years can be found for most areas of Canada

Orthoshop
Commercial vendor of aerial and satellite imagery, located in Calgary

Tarin Resource Services
Calgary company which provides imagery solutions to various industries including Oil & Gas, Surveying, Engineering, Agriculture and Government Services

GoTrekkers
Calgary -based ecommerce company, carrying a full line of Canadian and international travel maps, as well as its own line of northern park maps

McElhanney Consulting Services Ltd., Alberta and BC
Offices Airphotos and orthophotos for many parts of Alberta and NE British Columbia

Gem Trek Publishing
Publishers of detailed maps of the Canadian Rockies

International Travel Maps (ITMB), Vancouver, BC
Publishers and distributors of international travel maps

World of Maps, Ottawa, ON
International travel maps

Alberta Agriculture, Food and Rural Development - Publications and Maps
Links to publication catalogue of books, maps, soil reports and fact sheets which may be freely available or can be purchased

Calgary City Online
Maps and digital product purchasing information for city-wide, section and community district maps

Edmonton Maps and Aerial Photos
Open mapping and census data also available from Geospatial Services

Red Deer Maps and Air Photos
Interactive Web map provides view maps of City facilities, major attractions , recreation facilities, transit routes or an aerial view

GeoBC Mapping and Geomatic Services
Information on BC's Provincial Base Maps, TRIM maps, cadastral mapping, air photos, geo-spatial data and specifications on products.

Manitoba Land Information Division - Airphoto Library & Map Sales
Ordering information for air photos and map sales. Free digital maps can be downloaded from the Manitoba Land Initiative upon registration

New Brunswick - GeoNB
Online gateway to geographic information and related value-added applications and map products

Newfoundland Surveys & Mapping Services
Service group to government and the public which provides services for topographic mapping, geodesy, aerial photography and geographical names

Nova Scotia - Map Store
Links to online store where you can purchase a range of products such as maps, atlases and charts, as well as the GeoNova Portal, a gateway to open digital map data

Land Information Ontario
Provides information on wide range of geographic information available for purchase, download or by interactive mapping

Saskatchewan - Maps & Airphotos
Sales information for hardcopy maps and aerial photography as well as a link to Saskatchewan's Geospatial Data Directory