RDC News
RDC News Coming Soon!
October 2020
NEW - Longitudinal Administrative Databank (LAD) data linked to hospital data
Statistics Canada and the Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI) are pleased to announce the release of a new LAD – DAD linkage key that increases the analytical and research value of the individual LAD files by including information about hospitalization.
CIHI is collaborating with Statistics Canada to make the integrated data available in the Research Data Centres and to support researchers using the file.
As part of its record data linkage activities, Statistics Canada has created a new linkage key that allows RDC users to link the Longitudinal Administrative Database (LAD) (1982 to 2016) with patient records in the Discharge Abstract Database (DAD) (1997/1998 to 2016/2017).
The integration of LAD data which represents 20% of Canadian tax filers with provincial administrative data held by CIHI creates a valuable dataset that can provide answers to important research questions that cannot be found in single administrative datasets alone.
Statistics Canada has a long history of creating and using record linkages. Record linkage is an important and cost-effective statistical technique used to develop integrated data that support advanced research and provide insight on important social issues, such as the labour market and financial outcomes experienced by individuals and families following hospitalizations resulting from acute illness and injuries. Statistics Canada protects the confidentiality of micro data and masked unique individual identifiers are used in the linkage key and in the data so that no users can identify separate individuals by knowing the actual individual identifiers of the unit of analysis.
NEW - Under the umbrella of the 2018 Canadian Housing Survey (CHS), a suite of files is now available and can be accessed by researchers with approved projects.
These files are the outcome of a number of social inclusion related projects supported by the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. They were conducted to enhance the CHS and support the National Housing Strategy. These new projects produced a Proximity Measures Database, indicators of neighbourhood income mixing (Income dispersion), a social inclusion index[1], and spatial mobility data based on historical addresses. The Proximity Measures Database provides information on what access Canadians have, within a given distance of their dwelling, to services and amenities including transit, health services, schools and parks. The indicators of neighbourhood income mixing are designed to measure the diversity of income levels across neighbourhoods and multi-unit apartment buildings. The Social Inclusion Index measures how satisfied Canadian households are with their dwellings and neighbourhoods; how much they feel part of their community; as well as how safe and financially secure they feel. Historical data on the spatial mobility project can be used to study housing transitions.
This suite of files also includes income information from T4 tax Files, the T1 Family Files (T1FF) and the Administrative Personal Income Masterfile (APIM).
The CHS provides information on how Canadians feel about their housing and how housing affects them. It collects information on core housing need; dwelling characteristics and housing tenure; perceptions of economic hardship from housing costs; dwelling and neighbourhood satisfaction; perceptions of neighbourhood issues and safety; housing moves and intentions to move; volunteering; community engagement; life satisfaction; community satisfaction; dwelling adaptations to improve accessibility; self-assessed health; experience with homelessness; and sociodemographic characteristics.
Researchers do need to request and be approved for access to:
- Canadian Housing Survey 2018 (CHS), and
- Income information from T4 tax Files, the T1 Family Files (T1FF) and the Administrative Personal Income Masterfile (APIM), and/or;
- Social Inclusion, and/or;
- Proximity Measure, and/or;
- Income Dispersion, and/or;
- Historical addresses.
NEW - The Life After Service Survey (LASS) - 2019
The Life After Service Survey (LASS) is a national longitudinal survey that collects information on the transition from military to civilian life, general health and well-being, chronic conditions, labour force participation and other related information. An important goal of the survey is to understand the transition period from military to civilian life and health outcomes in Canadian Veterans.
NEW - As part of Statistics Canada's commitment to provide timely and relevant information on COVID-19 and its impact on Canadians, updated provisional datasets from the Canadian Vital Statistics Death Database are now available.
The datasets include demographic information on people who died in the 12 reporting jurisdictions between January 1, 2020 and August 1, 2020 and for whom Statistics Canada received information on or before September 4, 2020. Data for Yukon are not available
The datasets follow the same format as the Canadian Vital Statistics Death Database annual files. More information on these variables and the Canadian Vital Statistics Death Database can be found in the 2018 DATA DICTIONARY AND USER GUIDE OF THE CANADIAN VITAL STATISTICS DEATH DATABASE, already available in the RDC.
- Last Updated: Oct 7, 2020 3:21 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/rdc-news
- Print Page