Arabic Language and Muslim Cultures
Welcome to the Arabic Languages and Muslim Cultures research guide, your gateway to the most relevant research materials you need
About this Guide
The Arabic Language & Muslim culture collection at the University of Calgary supports the teaching and research needs of all students & faculty. The book collection is located on the fifth floor of the Taylor Family Digital Library.
Key Resources
- Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsCovers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, as well as various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Key Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Grammars & Handbooks
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by ISBN: 9780028656038Publication Date: 2003-12-02This title looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by ISBN: 9781414418889Publication Date: 2007-11-01Containing more than 15,000 common words, this is an indispensible reference for those students of Chinese ready to dive straight into everyday conversation.
Middle Arabic and Mixed Arabic by ISBN: 9004228047Publication Date: 2012-04-01Drawing on the recent discussions on Middle Arabic and Mixed Arabic, this book offers a comprehensive survey of the various fields of Muslim, Jewish and Christian Arabic texts (folklore, religious and linguistic literature) as well as the matters of mixed language and diglossia.
Key Journals
- Journal of Arabic literatureThe Journal of Arabic Literature (JAL) is the leading journal specializing in the study of Arabic literature, ranging from the pre-Islamic period to the present.
- Arab Studies QuarterlyArab Studies Quarterly is an English-language academic journal devoted to Arabist studies. It was established in 1979 by the late Professors Edward Said and Ibrahim Abu-Lughod.
- Journal of Islamic and Muslim studiesDescription
The Journal of Islamic Studies is a peer-reviewed academic journal for the field of Islamic studies. The journal was founded in 1990 at the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies and is published by Oxford University Press