Art & Art History
This guide is intended to help you get started with your art research.
- You must have an account in Artstor to download images, organize collections of images and to share these with other UCalgary users.
- Check out the online tutorials: YouTube ARTstor tutorials.
- Art Project
- "Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces."
- ARTstor and Google project
- Art Renewal Center
- Includes an online museum with >65,000 images focusing on realistic art
- Art Resource
- Artsy : A growing collection of over 50,000 images
- Art auction database: "place to buy, sell and research fine art online"
Thumbnail resolution images only available
- For information on contemporary British visual artists
- Basel Mission Picture Archive
- Photographs taken at the intersection of European, African, and Asian cultures from 1850 to 1950
- Bridgeman Art Library
- Thumbnail size images. For better resolution, access through Credo Reference (UofC only).
- Canadian Art Database (York University)
- National Gallery of Canada and the Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography
- Search collection or browse Artist's Index
- Fashion Plate Collection
- Getty Museum - Open Content
- PhotoGraphic Libraries.com
- Victoria & Albert Museum Access to Images
- Visual Arts Data Service
- Visual collections: images of art, history and culture
- Includes Cartography, Fine Arts, Architecture, Photography, and other images
- Digital image collections from Museums, Universities and private collections throughout the world - by Cartography Associates (David Rumsey)
- Web Gallery of Art
- Last Updated: Nov 20, 2023 1:19 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/art
- Print Page