Art & Art History
This guide is intended to help you get started with your art research.
My name is Alex Alisauskas and I'm your subject librarian for Art and Art History. This guide brings together resources related to art, art history and visual studies at the University of Calgary and beyond.
If you have any questions or have anything you would like to see included in this guide, please get in touch!
Key Resources for Art Research
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowARTstor is a digital library of over a million images with new image collections added several times a year and with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.ARTstor is a digital library of over a million images with new image collections added several times a year and with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, serving users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts including historians of Art and Architecture and others engaged in the visual arts (Painting, Sculpture, Photography, Decorative arts, Design), as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Literary Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Religious Studies, and Renaissance Studies.
- Users can register themselves to access further tools.
- Users may download a client for displaying images in presentations, but they can also capture them for use in powerpoints.
- Instructions for downloading images (PDF)
- Handouts and Subject Guides
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowGrove Art Online is today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art.Grove Art Online is today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) -- the landmark reference work containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations) contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries. Grove Art Online is maintained with a regular update program to articles and bibliographies. Each year, new articles are added to enhance the coverage of significant areas of the visual arts with the participation of more than 1,000 international art historians. All new content continues to be written and peer reviewed by scholars and specialists.
- Art Abstracts This link opens in a new windowArt Abstracts is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.Art Abstracts, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins with September 1984 and abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles.
- Coverage is from 1929 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a shared digital library which includes over 2,300 academic journals (dating back to the first volume ever published), along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.JSTOR is a shared digital library which includes over 2,300 academic journals (dating back to the first volume ever published), along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. JSTOR also includes articles in the public domain, including Early Journal Content (U.S. content published before 1923 and non-U.S. content published prior to 1870).
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heillbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryThe Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as demonstrated through the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Users can compare art across cultures and geographic areas for a given time span or pursue the development of art for a single place or culture over an extended time period.
Banner Image Credit: Installation view of Revolutionaries and Ghosts: Memory, Witness and Justice in a Global Canadian Context (Nickle Galleries, Calgary, January 31, 2019 - May 3, 2019). Photograph by Dave Brown, LCR Photo Services. https://www.flickr.com/photos/uc_imagingservices_db/46898636082/in/album-72157676124395017/
- Last Updated: Feb 14, 2023 2:49 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/art
- Print Page
Subjects: Architecture & Landscape, Art & Art History
Tags: drawing, painting, photography