Art & Art History

Located on the 1st Floor, TFDL.
The Nickle offers an extensive collection of contemporary art consisting of over thirty five hundred prints, drawings, photographs, paintings, sculptures and decorative art pieces, a comprehensive collection of numismatic material, mainly ancient coins of the Greek, Roman and Byzantine periods and includes The Jean and Marie Erikson Rug Collection. Contact staff at the Nickle to access their collections.

Glenbow Western Research Centre and Reading Room, 2nd Floor, TFDL
The University of Calgary Archives and Special Collections is home to several artist books. You can request to view them at through our library catalogue, or get in touch with ASC.

4520 Crowchild Trail SW, Calgary
A public exhibition space with the goal of contributing to Canadians' understanding of our military experience in the field of human conflict by displaying historic and contemporary works of art and related artifacts.

10th floor of the Earth Sciences Building
The Arctic Institute of North American (ANIA) at the University of Calgary has as its mandate to advance the study of the North American and circumpolar Arctic through the natural and social sciences, the arts and humanities and to acquire, preserve and disseminate information on physical, environmental and social conditions in the North. AINA holds a significant photographic collection as well as an art collection.

The Arctic Institute’s photographic collection consists of over 4000 photographs dating from the late 1800s through the 1900s. Consisting mostly of black and white prints, but also some negatives and slides, the bulk of the collection dates to the first half of the 20th century. The photos were taken on a variety of expeditions and patrols by scientists, mountaineers, police and military patrols, and other Arctic explorers. The collection has been professionally archived and is now available online. If you have any questions or comments, please contact the Arctic Institute of North America.

Includes artworks from major museum and gallery collections. There are many features for viewing artworks in some collections, including zooming in for very fine detail, and in some cases, augmented reality capabilities.