BUSN - International Business
Resources on doing business in other countries, international trade, foreign markets and more
Country and Regional Information
- Economist Intelligence UnitAn excellent resource for country analysis, industry information, historical data retrieval and special reports.
Not all information is freely available. - Doing Business(World Bank Group)
(Open Access)
Information on business regulations and other information essential to starting a business in over 190 economies around the world. Search by geographic region or topic. - CIA World FactbookSelect a country to access a detailed profile of the country including a section on "People and Society".
- Country Commercial Guides (U.S. Department of State)These profiles include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of many economic regions around the world.
- Political Risk Yearbook(Via Business Source Complete database)
To access these reports, go the the Business Source Complete database and enter the country name and add the term "political risk yearbook". Scroll through the list of results to find the latest issue or change the "Relevance" sort to "Date descending".
Electronic country reports for many countries; each report expertly assesses potential political, financial, and economic risks to business investments and trade. - IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook-- evaluation and ranking of the world’s most competitive economies
-- 2016 edition available in print at the High Density Library (HF1 .W67)
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- Passport This link opens in a new windowAccess country reports by inputting- "country name" country profile - into the search box in the top right hand corner of the page.
- NationMaster - World Statistics, Country ComparisonsA large central statistical data source on countries of the world. Information is obtained from sources like the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
- GlobalEDGE (Michigan State University)A portal that provides access to a wealth of information on global business activities. Includes extensive data at the global and country levels as well as information on major global industry groups.
Go to "Insight Research by Country" to access a country report that includes a section on government. - Nations Online(Open Access)
An online guide to cultures and nations around the world. This site is a portal to extensive information on countries, regions, cities. Includes excellent demographic information.
- InFact / Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowConference Board of Canada database includes regular reports on world economic outlook as well as trade, investment policy and international cooperation. Use the topics tab to locate reports on relevant topics or search by keyword.
- Human Development Reports (United Nations)Access the current international human development report; find international human development indicators and country profiles and human development indicators.
- U.S. Census Bureau Foreign Trade(Open Access)
Find U.S. import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or other trade related topics. - International Monetary FundIncludes data and statistics, research, publications, news and more.
- Market Reports (Canadian Trade Commissioner)(Open Access)
These market reports provide a detailed analysis of industry sectors that enable businesses to take advantage of the right opportunities abroad. Find market reports by industry sector or country/region. - World Bank- TCdata 360Global Open trade and competitiveness data. Browse by country or indicator.