BUSN - Industries
Find industry reports, articles, ratios and more
Canadian Industry Ratios
- Financial Performance Data (Small Business Profiles)(Open Access) Provides industry-specific income statement and balance sheet data for small and medium sized businesses. Data is available at provincial and national levels.
- S & P Capital IQAvailable only at Business Library on Stations 10, 11, 13, 14 and the Service desk. The database provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Company ratios are available in the Financials section. Industry reports are also available (under the Markets tab) and provide Key Stats and Ratios.
- Statistics CanadaSee the following Statistics Canada tables for benchmark financial data and ratios by industry:
1. Table 187-0001: Quarterly balance sheet and income statement, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), quarterly (Dollars) at the Canadian level
2. Table 180-0003: Financial and taxation statistics for enterprises, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annually (Dollars) at the Canadian level
3. Table 187-0002: Quarterly statement of changes in financial position, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), selected financial ratios and selected seasonally adjusted components, quarterly (Dollars) at the Canadian level.
North American and International Industry Ratios
Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios by Call Number: HF5681 .R25 A13Publication Date: Annual(Available in print only in the Business Library reference collection HF5681 .R25 A13) The Almanac provides 50 comparative operating and financial factors including important ratios for most industry groups. It is organized by NAICS industry codes (North American Industry Classification System) and provides comparisons for 13 asset sizes.RMA annual statement studies by
Call Number: HF5681 .B2 R62Publication Date: Annual(Risk Management Association)(Available in print only in the Business Library reference collection HF5681 .B2 R62)Composite financial data including balance sheet and income statement information as well as important ratios. Organized by NAICS industry codes (North American Industry Classification System), information is also provided for various asset sizes and sales ranges.
- S & P Capital IQAvailable only at Business Library on Stations 10, 11, 13, 14 and the Service desk. The database provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Company ratios are available in the Financials section. Industry reports are also available (under the Markets tab) and provide Key Stats and Ratios.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowIn addition to an excellent source of news articles, Factiva also provides company profiles that include company financials, reports and a ratio comparison. To access the ratio comparison report use the Companies/Markets tab, input a company name, and choose Reports - Ratio Comparison Report.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowThis site includes a variety of S&P products. Data includes both stock reports and industry surveys with a North American focus. The industry reports include "Key Ratios and Financials" and "How to analyze a company in the industry" (provides relevant metrics for specific industries).
- Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
- BloombergCovers broad geographic areas and industries. Input BI into the command line, select the industry and geography and then select VALUATION.