BUSN - Company Information

Company reports, financials, directories, news and more

Company Financials & Ratios - Canada

The resources below are specific to Canadian data. Note that North American and International resources will also provide financial and stock data for Canadian companies

S & P Capital IQ
Available only at Business Library on Stations 13, 14 and the Reference desk. The database provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Company ratios are available in the Financials section.
The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.

Company Financials & Ratios - North America

Note that International resources will also provide financial and stock data for Canadian and US companies.

S & P Capital IQ
Available only at Business Library on Stations 13, 14 and the Reference desk. The database provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Company ratios are available in the Financials section.
The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.
CRSP Database (Center for Research in Security Prices) This link opens in a new window
U of C authentication required.
This database, designed and implemented by CHASS, provides access to the data compiled and distributed quarterly, by the Center for Research in Security Prices, Graduate School of Business, University of Chicago. This database provides access to NYSE/AMEX/Nasdaq daily and monthly security prices and other historical data related to over 29,000 companies.
Bloomberg
Bloomberg has a dedicated station (station 14) and must be accessed from the Business Library.
An online financial service that provides quotes and technical analysis of Canadian, U.S. and international securities. Bloomberg also provides company, industry, and market news and historical economic data. Detailed historical financial ratios are included in the financial analysis (FA).
An online financial service that provides quotes and technical analysis of U.S. and international securities. Bloomberg also provides company, industry, and market news and historical economic data from sources such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
Compustat (North America and Global edition via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Compustat North America is a database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on more than 24,000 active and inactive publicly held companies. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items.
Compustat North America is a database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on more than 24,000 active and inactive publicly held companies. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items.

Compustat Global provides authoritative financial and market data covering publicly traded companies in more than 80 countries, representing over 90% of the world's market capitalization, including coverage of over 96% of European market capitalization and 88% of Asian market capitalization. Hundreds of data items, ratios and concepts and up to 12 years of annual history is included.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
This site includes a variety of S&P products. Data includes both government and corporate bonds, stock reports, industry surveys, earnings guide, and mutual funds.
This site includes a variety of S&P products. Data includes both government and corporate bonds, stocks, industry surveys, earnings guide, and mutual funds.

Google Finance
An easy way to search for stocks, mutual funds, and public and private companies. Provides current and historical stock data, interactive charts, news, company management, related companies, top movers information and more.
Yahoo! Finance
Yahoo! Finance offers information including stock quotes, stock exchange rates, corporate press releases and financial reports.

Orbis This link opens in a new window
Orbis contains information on close to 400 million companies and entities across the globe, with 41 million of these having detailed financial information. It provides comparable information on companies, with extensive corporate ownership structures and a holistic view. Data highlights include: unique identifiers, industry codes, trade and detailed company descriptions, standardized and projected financials, agency ratings, global and domestic ultimate owners, M & A deals and rumors, patents and intellectual property, royalty agreements, and stock data and earnings documentation. Search companies by name or BvD ID number.

Company Financials & Ratios - International

S & P Capital IQ
Access is limited to current staff, students, and faculty. An account must be requested from Rhiannon Jones
The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.
Bloomberg
Bloomberg has a dedicated station (station 14) and must be accessed from the Business Library.
An online financial service that provides quotes and technical analysis of Canadian, U.S. and international securities. Bloomberg also provides company, industry, and market news and historical economic data. Detailed historical financial ratios are included in the financial analysis (FA).
An online financial service that provides quotes and technical analysis of U.S. and international securities. Bloomberg also provides company, industry, and market news and historical economic data from sources such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
Factiva This link opens in a new window
In addition to an excellent source of news articles, Factiva also provides company profiles that include company financials, reports and a ratio comparison. To access company information, use the Companies/Markets tab.
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Due to license restrictions, access is limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Interface in English, German, French or Chinese; contents in 22 languages.
Thomson Reuters Eikon
Available only at Business Library on Station 13 and Scurfield Hall Trading Lab.
Provides real-time market data, news, ownership data and analysis tools covering public corporations and all types of investment vehicles. Coverage is North America and historical data is available. Equity screening is offered and Excel add-in permits dynamic data updating.

Google Finance
An easy way to search for stocks, mutual funds, and public and private companies. Provides current and historical stock data, interactive charts, news, company management, related companies, top movers information and more.
Yahoo! Finance
Yahoo! Finance offers information including stock quotes, stock exchange rates, corporate press releases and financial reports.

Compustat (North America and Global edition via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Compustat Global provides authoritative financial and market data covering publicly traded companies in more than 80 countries, representing over 90% of the world's market capitalization, including coverage of over 96% of European market capitalization and 88% of Asian market capitalization. Hundreds of data items, ratios and concepts and up to 12 years of annual history is included.
Compustat North America is a database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on more than 24,000 active and inactive publicly held companies. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items.

Compustat Global provides authoritative financial and market data covering publicly traded companies in more than 80 countries, representing over 90% of the world's market capitalization, including coverage of over 96% of European market capitalization and 88% of Asian market capitalization. Hundreds of data items, ratios and concepts and up to 12 years of annual history is included.
Orbis This link opens in a new window
Orbis contains information on close to 400 million companies and entities across the globe, with 41 million of these having detailed financial information. It provides comparable information on companies, with extensive corporate ownership structures and a holistic view. Data highlights include: unique identifiers, industry codes, trade and detailed company descriptions, standardized and projected financials, agency ratings, global and domestic ultimate owners, M & A deals and rumors, patents and intellectual property, royalty agreements, and stock data and earnings documentation. Search companies by name or BvD ID number.

Industry Benchmark Financials & Ratios

These resources provide benchmark financial data and ratios for companies by industry.

S & P Capital IQ
Available only at Business Library on Stations 13, 14 and the Reference desk. The database provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Company ratios are available in the Financials section.Industry ratios are found in the Key Stats and Ratios area of the industry report.
The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.

Statistics Canada
See the following Statistics Canada tables for benchmark financial data and ratios by industry:
1. Table 187-0001: Quarterly balance sheet and income statement, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), quarterly (Dollars) at the Canadian level
2. Table 180-0003: Financial and taxation statistics for enterprises, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annually (Dollars) at the Canadian level
3. Table 187-0002: Quarterly statement of changes in financial position, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), selected financial ratios and selected seasonally adjusted components, quarterly (Dollars) at the Canadian level.
Financial Performance Data (Small Business Profiles)
Provides industry-specific income statement and balance sheet data for small and medium sized businesses. Data is available at provincial and national levels.

Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Key Business Ratios provides access to competitive benchmarking data. Industry benchmarks are compiled from D&B's database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. Contains industry balance sheet and income statement information along with ratios organized by SIC codes.

Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios by Troy, Leo
Call Number: HF5681 .R25 A13
Publication Date: Annual
RMA annual statement studies by Robert Morris Associates
Call Number: HF5681 .B2 R62
Publication Date: Annual

Vertical (Common Size) Analysis

Common size financial statement
Investopedia provides a description and examples of a common size financial analysis.

S & P Capital IQ
Access is limited to current staff, students, and faculty. An account must be requested from Rhiannon Jones
The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.
Bloomberg
Bloomberg has a dedicated station (station 14) and must be accessed from the Business Library.
An online financial service that provides quotes and technical analysis of Canadian, U.S. and international securities.
An online financial service that provides quotes and technical analysis of U.S. and international securities. Bloomberg also provides company, industry, and market news and historical economic data from sources such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Last Updated: May 11, 2023 10:21 AM
URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/Company
Print Page

Subjects: Business

Tags: businesses, companies, company, corporations, dtc, enterprises, entrepreneurs, entrepreneurship

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides