LAW International Law

This guide is intended to provide resources to help with your international legal research, not for foreign jurisdictions.

International Law Websites

These websites will help find international cases and decisions:

International Law Library (WorldLII)
Case Law; Declarations & Decisions; Law Journals; Law Reform Publications; Treaties & International Agreements
International Courts and Tribunals Collection (WorldLII)
Find specific courts and tribunals.

LLMC digital This link opens in a new window
Full text, image-based searchable database of primary and secondary legal publications. Collections include: U.S. federal, state, and territories government documents; case reporters, legal periodicals and treatises; foreign government, multi-jurisdictional, and international law documents; canon law, Native American law, and legal philosophy.

Cases and decisions are often through court and tribunal websites. Here is a list of selected international courts and tribunals:

International Court of Justice
The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN).
more...less...
It was established in June 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations and began work in April 1946.
International Criminal Court
The International Criminal Court (ICC), governed by the Rome Statute, is the first permanent, treaty based, international criminal court established to help end impunity for the perpetrators of the most serious crimes of concern to the international community.
International Tribunal on the Law of the Sea
An independent judicial body established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to adjudicate disputes arising out of the interpretation and application of the Convention.
UN Dispute Tribunal
UN Appeals Tribunal

These databases will help you find international cases and decisions:

International Legal Materials
International Legal Materials (ILM) contains the full texts of important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organizations resolutions and other documents.
more...less...
ILM is accessed from the Legal Journals part of HeinOnline (U of C access only) or in print at JX68 .I72 in the law library.

VLexJustis This link opens in a new window
Includes the International Law Reports
VLexJustis comprises full text documents and meta data of legislation, case law, books & journals, draft bills, news, blogs, and more. Content can be filtered by jurisdictions. Broad jurisdictions include: North America, South America, Central America & Caribbean, Europe, Oceania, Asia, Rest of the World, and International Law. There are four ways to search: from the search bar (ideal for broad searches); browse (suitable for narrowing a broad search); advanced search (for more focused, detailed and complex searches); and Vincent (a virtual legal assistant that uses artificial intelligence and machine learning to discover legal citations, cited authorities and relevant legal concepts). Quickly identify related authorities and see if your case is still considered good law using the Precedent Map.

Subjects: Law