Data and Statistics
Aggregate Data
Data that has been combined from several measurements, observations, or individual records to provide a summary or a high-level overview. Examples of aggregate data include averages, such as average household income, counts, such as the average number of transactions occurring within a specific time frame, and summations, such as total sales revenue generated by a company in a quarter.
By Geography
- Statistics Canada Census ProgramThe Census Program consists of the 2021, 2016 Census and 2016 Census of Agriculture as well as previous censuses (1996, 2001, 2006 and 2011).
Statistics organized into a data structure or database based on tabulations organized by geography, time or social observations.
General
- Data Liberation Initiative CollectionProvides access to Statistics Canada socioeconomic aggregate data products and documentation for public use microdata files and master files.
- InfoGuide: Historical resourcesThis guide lists sources of historical statistics produced by Statistics Canada and its predecessor agencies. The guide also lists sources of information about the history of the Canadian census, surveys and statistical programs, and Statistics Canada.
- Historical Statistics of CanadaContains about 1,088 statistical tables on the social, economic and institutional conditions of Canada from the start of the Confederation in 1867 to the mid-1970s.
- Correctional Services CanadaIncludes research reports for various offender and corrections topics.
- Elections CanadaResults and statistics from past federal elections.
Business and Finance
- Revenue CanadaIncome and GST statistics
- Canadian Business Patterns, Dissemination Area [custom tabulation] This dataset is a custom tabulation of the Canadian Business Patterns Product, that includes: establishment counts by dissemination area, 6-digit NAICS and employment size range from 2007-2016, and 2020.
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion
- Gender, diversity and inclusion statisticsFrom Statistics Canada
- Data on Racialized PopulationsThis guide consists of a curated list of datasets that include ethnicity and race variables which can be used to facilitate anti-racism research in Canada. Although not comprehensive, the intention is to provide a starting point for researchers investigating topics about anti-racism and the impact of racism.
- First Nations Data CentreThe First Nations Data Centre (FNDC) is a Knowledge Translation resource from FNIGC that provides access to published, unpublished, and record-level data from our respected national survey work, including the First Nations Regional Health Survey (FNRHS, or RHS) and the First Nations Regional Early Childhood, Education and Employment Survey (FNREEES, or REEES).
Health
Housing
- Housing Market Information PortalCanadian housing data from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Canada's national housing agency.
- Housing Market IndicatorsFrom Statistics Canada, provides access to key housing market indicators for Canada, by province and by census metropolitan area.
Immigration and Citizenship
- Citizenship and Immigration CanadaStatistics on permanent and temporary residents.
Public Opinion
- Canadian Opinion Research ArchiveIncludes historic and current public opinion
- IPSOS CanadaIpsos Canada is a survey-based-marketing research firm. They assess market potential and interpret market trends and also measure public opinion worldwide.
- IPSOS Public Affairs DatasetsThe Ipsos Canadian Public Affairs Dataverse is a repository of over 60 Ipsos Canada surveys that shed light on Canadian culture, politics, and society.
- LISPOP's Key Sources of Public Opinion Data The Laurier Institute for the Study of Public Opinion and Policy
- Alberta Community Health Survey (ACHS)The Alberta Survey program is a telephone conducted survey of Albertans, to collect data on specific determinants of health to support the creation of material and social deprivation indices, and assess their effects on health. A dataset containing individual level survey response details is available, along with a supporting document containing column descriptions for this dataset. Aggregate level datasets for select determinants based upon the ACHS are also available.
- Calgary Community Crime Statistics1983-2018
- Community Crime Statistics on the Open Data Portal2012 - 2020 (marked for archiving)
- Interactive Health Data ApplicationThe IHDA contains many health indicators derived from various sources, in topics such as demographics, mortality, chronic and infectious disease and children's health.
- OECD iLibrary (former title: SourceOECD)Includes 34 statistical databases as well as all books and periodicals in full text format
- UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)Detailed trade statistics reported to the UN Statistics Division from 140+ countries representing 90 to 95% of world trade: imports, exports, trading partners and commodities from 1962-
- Eurostat (Statistical Office of the European Communities)This database contains macroeconomic and social statistics data covering European Union member states but also many of the central European countries.
- Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Data ResourcesFrom the International Association for Social Science Information Service and Technology (IASSIST)
- Election Resources on the InternetDetailed national and local election statistics
- Penn World Tablesprovides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2007. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.
- Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)U.S. and international economic data
- DataUSAU.S. public government data
- Pew Research CenterSocial and demographic trends project studies, behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure.
- Open Data Inventory (ODIN)The Open Data Inventory (ODIN) assesses the coverage and openness of official statistics to identify gaps, promote open data policies, improve access, and encourage dialogue between national statistical offices (NSOs) and data users.
- Global Open Data IndexThe Global Open Data Index (GODI) is the annual global benchmark for publication of open government data, run by the Open Knowledge Network. Our crowdsourced survey measures the openness of government data according to the Open Definition. (Dated)
Spatial and Numeric Data Services
Contact Information
Spatial and Numeric Data Services
Taylor Family Digital Library, room 466
403-220-6822
maps@ucalgary.ca