BUSN - Writing and Presenting
This guide provides resources to help with business communication, focusing on academic integrity, business writing, presentations, citing and referencing, and using web resources.
Trade, Magazine and News
Trade publications
- Also referred to as industry publications, applied literature or professional publications.
- Intent: to inform those working in the field/profession of industry trends, events, new products, techniques, and other professional issues.
- Trade literature is written by people working in the field. The articles in trade and professional journals cover news in the field, brief reports on research, opinions about trends and events, and products.
- Articles are fairly short, include illustrations, contain teminology used in the industry, and rarely include in-text citations and references.
Examples:
Harvard Business Review Canadian Jeweller CA Magazine Food in Canada Canadian Mining Journal Oilweek
Popular magazines
- Popular literature is written by journalists, who are employed by the magazine for which they write. Journalists cover news and current events in a field, general interest articles, profiles of people, places, or events, and political opinions.
- Intent: to entertain, to report news, or to summarize information.
- Popular magazines have eye-catching covers, include glossy illustrations and advertising.
- Articles are short and do not include in-text citations or references. Author credentials are not provided.
Examples:
Better Homes and Gardens Forbes National Geographic Time
News sources
- New sources include newspaper articles, press releases, newswires, broadcast transcripts, news organization blogs etc.
- Intent: to provide information and facts on current issues at the local,
national and international levels.
The U of C subscribes to many databases that contain a combination of peer-reviewed, scholarly, trade and popular journals and articles. Most of these databases allow you to limit your search results to peer-reviewed, scholarly/academic articles, trade publications, magazines, news articles etc.
Try searching these databases:
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI / Business Premium Collection) This link opens in a new windowABI Inform database contains a broad array of business information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry and market focused trade news and features the latest news from top sources like the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times and The Economist. Widely recommended as an excellent source for all business disciplines and courses. You may limit your search results to articles in trade (industry) publications or magazines using the "Source Type" limiter after entering search terms.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
