LAW Foreign Legislation
Foreign law is the domestic, national or internal law of a country or jurisdiction.This guide is intended to help researchers locate the legislation of foreign jurisdictions.
Accessing the law of Australia
For Australian legal research, consider whether you are dealing with a Federal or state/territory law. The Federal system is called the Commonwealth.
Finding Legislation
Legislation is part of primary legal materials and includes Acts, Statutory Instruments, Orders in Council etc. Internet sources to find legislation include Parliament's website or government website. Government websites have statutes and regulations.The government's website should have the most current legislation.
- ComLawGovernment website contains legislation of the Commonwealth and non self-governing Territories as well as related material, such as Reserved Commonwealth Laws, the Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act and the Constitution (including ancillary documents). It also includes Bills, explanatory memoranda/statements, tables, indexes and other finding aids.
- Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)Includes LawCite which is a noting up feature.
- Law & Justice FoundationLinks to the full text of Commonwealth, State and Territory legislation, parliamentary material, international treaties and the laws of other countries.
- New Zealand LegislationNew Zealand Acts, Bills & Regulations.
- University of Waikato Law LibraryNew Zealand Law
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw This link opens in a new windowLexis Advances Quicklaw provides access to an extensive database of over 2 million cases, jurisdictional sources, including exclusive sources like Halsbury's Laws of Canada and Canadian Tort Law. This database includes QuickCite, which ensures decisions are based on good authority by cases. Lexis Advance QuickLaw provides access to Canadian law (legislation, jurisprudence, and doctrine) as well as law sources from the United States, United Kingdom, France, Australia, New Zealand, and Hong Kong.
- Lexis+ Canada This link opens in a new window
- Available to Faculty of Law students only
- Password access only
Content includes Canadian, US, UK, international and foreign legal materials, and Practical Guidance.
Legislatures and Government Websites
- Australian, State, Territory and Local GovernmentsAccess to the information and services of the Australian, State, Territory & Local governments.
- National Library of AustraliaAustralian Law - selected websites
- Trove - from the National Library of AustraliaDigital Newspapers and Gazettes
- Last Updated: Sep 21, 2023 8:29 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/foreignlegislation
- Print Page