Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Information related to the research, reading, writing and practice of SoTL.
Journals
- Arts and Humanities in Higher Education Arts and Humanities in Higher Education is an international peer reviewed journal. It publishes articles, reviews and scholarly comment relating to the arts and humanities in higher education.
- Communication: Journalism Education Today Publishes articles on all aspects of scholastic media with lesson plans, current research, teaching tips, and other resources.
- Learning and Teaching in Social Sciences (LATISS) A peer-reviewed journal that uses the social sciences to reflect critically on learning and teaching in the changing context of higher education.
- Communication Education A journal of the National Communication Association, Communication Education publishes high-quality international scholarship that is committed to the advancement of communication and learning broadly defined as instructional communication and communication education
- Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics Cosponsored by the American Statistical Association, the Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics (JEBS) publishes articles that are original and useful to those applying statistical approaches to problems and issues in educational or behavioral research. Typical papers present new methods of analysis. In addition, critical reviews of current practice, tutorial presentations of less well known methods, and novel applications of already-known methods will be published. Papers discussing statistical techniques without specific educational or behavioral interest will have lower priority.
(e)Books
International Handbook on Teaching and Learning Economics by
The International Handbook on Teaching and Learning Economics provides a comprehensive resource for instructors and researchers in economics, both new and experienced. This wide-ranging collection is designed to enhance student learning by helping economi
Call Number: HB74.5 .I58 2012ISBN: 9781781001936Publication Date: 2013-06-28
Inquiry-Based Learning for the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences by
Inquiry-based learning (IBL) is a learner-centered and active learning environment where deep learning is cultivated by a process of inquiry owned by the learner. IBL has its roots in a constructivist educational philosophy and it is oriented around at least three components: 1) exploration and discovery (e.g. problem-based learning, open meaning-making), 2) authentic investigations using contextualized learning (e.g. field studies, case studies), and 3) research-based approach (e.g. research-based learning, project-based learning). IBL encourages more self-regulated learning because the primary responsibility is on the learners to determine the issues and research questions and the resources they need to address the questions. In this way, learning occurs across all learning domains (affective, cognitive, and social) because different types of knowledge are acquired though experience with complex, real-life problems. This volume serves as a conceptual and practical resource and guide for educators and offers practical examples of IBL in action and diverse strategies for how to implement IBL in different contexts.
Call Number: LB1027.23 -- .I578 2014ebISBN: 9781784412364Publication Date: 2014-12-15
Creativity in the Classroom by Call Number: LB1062 -- .C74 2013ebISBN: 9781841507880Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Teaching and Learning in Higher Education by
In today's higher education climate academic staff are encouraged to focus not only on the up-to-date content of their teaching, but also to identify the most effective ways to engage students in learning, often alongside other key transferrable skills. This had led to a growing requirement for staff to adopt a scholarly approach to learning and teaching practice, and to undertake scholarship of learning and teaching as part of ongoing professional development. This text explores broad best practice approaches to undertaking enquiry into learning and teaching in higher education. It provides an introduction for staff who have been educated within a range of academic disciplines, often with high-level but very focused knowledge about, and understandings of, research processes to the potentially new world of educational enquiry. This is complemented by chapters exploring what educational enquiry means in the context of different academic disciplines, including physical sciences, mathematics, engineering, the life sciences, the arts, the humanities, the health professions, and law. It also includes: An overview of research methodology including data collection, literature reviews, good ethical practice, and research dissemination Case studies of actual research projects to support understanding of how to carry out educational enquiry in practice. Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post arrive? Request and receive your e-inspection copy today!
Call Number: LB2331 .T43 2014ISBN: 9781446254639Publication Date: 2014-04-03
Psychology, Sociology Journals and (e)Books
- British Journal of Sociology of Education The journal engages with a diverse range of contemporary and emergent social theories along with a wide range of methodological approaches. Articles investigate the discursive politics of education, social stratification and mobility, the social dimensions of all aspects of pedagogy and the curriculum, and the experiences of all those involved, from the most privileged to the most disadvantaged. The vitality of the journal is sustained by its commitment to offer independent, critical evaluations of the ways in which education interfaces with local, national, regional and global developments, contexts and agendas in all phases of formal and informal education. Peer Review Policy: All articles in this journal have undergone rigorous peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymized refereeing by at least two anonymous referees from the journal's Editorial Board. This ensures the world class quality of the journal and maintains the continuity of sociological debate.
- Teaching Sociology Teaching Sociology (TS), published quarterly, provides articles, notes, and reviews intended to be helpful to the discipline's teachers. Articles range from experimental studies of teaching and learning to broad, synthetic essays on pedagogically important issues. The general intent is to share theoretically stimulating and practically useful information and advice with teachers.This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
- Sociology of Education Sociology of Education (SOE), published quarterly, provides a forum for studies in the sociology of education and human social development. SOE publishes research that examines how social institutions and individuals' experiences within these institutions affect educational processes and social development. Such research may span various levels of analysis, ranging from the individual to the structure of relations among social and educational institutions. In an increasingly complex society, important educational issues arise throughout the life cycle.
The Public Sociology Debate: Ethics and Engagement by
In 2004, Michael Burawoy challenged sociologists to move beyond the ivory tower and into the realm of activism, to engage in public discourses about what society could or should be. His call to arms sparked debate among sociologists. Which side would sociologists take? Would "public sociology" speak for all sociologists? In this volume, leading Canadian experts continue the debate by discussing their discipline's mission and practice and the role that ethics plays in research, theory, and teaching. In doing so, they offer insights as to where their discipline is heading and why it matters to people inside and outside the university.
Call Number: HM511 .P82 2014ISBN: 9780774826631Publication Date: 2014-05-10
21st Century Sociology by
21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook provides a concise forum through which the vast array of knowledge accumulated, particularly during the past three decades, can be organized into a single definitive resource. The two volumes of this Reference Handbook focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as document the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry.
Call Number: HM585 .A13 2007ISBN: 1412916089Publication Date: 2006-11-17
Controversial issues in the curriculum by Call Number: HN29 .C66 1986ISBN: 0631151273Publication Date: 1986
Sociology for Caribbean students by Call Number: HN192.5 .M87 2009ISBN: 9789766373559Publication Date: 2009
Sociology and Teaching by Call Number: LC191.2 .S737 1988ISBN: 0709936974Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Sociology of education : an introductory view from Canada by
This book is written for undergraduate students who seek a sociological understanding of the educational process. It is written especially for students in education or sociology who, as future educators, need to be knowledgeable about current sociological debates in education in general, and in Canadian education in particular
Call Number: LC191.8 .C2 B37 2007ISBN: 9780132255493Publication Date: 2008- Sociology of Education : Emerging Perspectives byPublication Date: 1998
Intersectionality and Higher Education by
Intersectionality is a term coined by Kimberl#65533; Crenshaw in 1989. A scholar of law, critical race theory, and Black feminist thought, Crenshaw used intersectionality to explain the experiences of Black women who – because of the intersections of race, gender, and class – are exposed to exponential forms of marginalization and oppression. Intersectionality & Higher Education documents and expands upon Crenshaw’s ideas within the context of U.S. higher education. The text includes theoretical and conceptual chapters on intersectionality; empirical research using intersectionality frameworks; and chapters focusing on intersectional practices. The volume may prove beneficial for graduate programs in ethnic studies, higher education, sociology, student affairs, and women and gender studies alike.
ISBN: 9781433125881Publication Date: 2014-09-29
Teaching As Scholarship by
This book is about teaching for professional practice and explores ways to engage students in the classroom. It draws on the principles of rigorous scholarship and focuses on interactive learning between the class and the professor and among the students. Each contributor addresses the need to connect theory with community practice, deploying different methods in different contexts, and sharing scholarly reflections about how to improve the craft of teaching. The essays offer practical suggestions that allow readers to adapt and apply these ideas in their own classrooms to suit their particular contexts and share the outcomes of that process.
ISBN: 9781771121439Publication Date: 2016-04-15
School of Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Cultures Journals and (e)Books
- Foreign Language Annals Dedicated to the advancement of language teaching and learning, the journal seeks to serve the professional interests of classroom instructors, researchers, and administrators who are concerned with the learning and teaching of languages, particularly languages other than English at all levels of instruction.
- Language Learning Journal The Language Learning Journal (LLJ) provides a forum for scholarly contributions on current aspects of foreign language and teaching. LLJ is an international, peer-reviewed journal that is intended for an international readership, including foreign language teachers, language teacher educators, researchers and policy makers. Contributions, in English, tend to assume a certain range of target languages. These are usually, but not exclusively, the languages of mainland Europe and ‘Community Languages’; other languages, including English as a foreign language, may also be appropriate, where the discussion is sufficiently generalisable.
- International Journal of Computer-Assisted Language Learning and Teaching (IJCALLT) The International Journal of Computer-Assisted Language Learning and Teaching (IJCALLT) serves as a forum for researchers, teachers, practitioners, and education professionals to discuss and share their ideas, experience, and knowledge in combining computer technology with language teaching and learning. Due to the fast pace of technological change, innovative teaching approaches and strategies should be developed to successfully integrate new technologies into language teaching. This journal provides opportunities to evaluate, improve, and apply such strategies in the fields of CALL and foreign/second language learning.
- Language Teaching Editorial board Language Teaching is the essential research resource for language professionals providing a rich and expert overview of research in the field of second-language teaching and learning. It offers critical survey articles of recent research on specific topics, second and foreign languages and countries, and invites original research articles reporting on replication studies and meta-analyses. The journal also includes regional surveys of outstanding doctoral dissertations, topic-based research timelines, theme-based research agendas, and recent plenary conference speeches. Research-in-progress reports, themed comparative book review articles and a list of publications received complement the content of each issue. A thorough peer-reviewing procedure applies to both the commissioned and the unsolicited articles.
- The Canadian modern language review The Canadian Modern Language Review publishes one guest-edited theme issue per year, normally in the fall, and have addressed such topics as..... Indigenous, Minority, and Heritage Language Education in Canada Bilingualism in a Plurilingual Canada: Research and Implications Current Developments in Form-Focused Interaction and L2 Acquisition French Immersion Education: Benefits for All Learners Information and Communication Technologies(ICTs) and the Learning and Teaching of Second Languages Language Assessment Multilingual Literacies Second Language Vocabulary Acquisition
- The Modern Language Journal The editorial mission of The Modern Language Journal is to publish “research and discussion about the learning and teaching of foreign and second languages.” The MLJ is an international refereed journal that is dedicated to promoting scholarly exchange among researchers and teachers of all modern foreign languages and English as a second language. The journal is particularly committed to publishing high quality work in non-English languages. Its publication focus is further defined by linking the findings of research to teaching and learning in a variety of settings and on all educational levels. Article contributions are expected to meet the highest standards of scholarly excellence, advance theoretical knowledge, and explore clearly stated and well supported implications for teaching.
- TESOL Quarterly TESOL Quarterly, a professional, refereed journal, was first published in 1967. The Quarterly encourages submission of previously unpublished articles on topics of significance to individuals concerned with English language teaching and learning and standard English as a second dialect. As a publication that represents a variety of cross-disciplinary interests, both theoretical and practical, the Quarterly invites manuscripts on a wide range of topics, especially in the following areas: psychology and sociology of language learning and teaching issues in research and research methodology testing and evaluation professional preparation curriculum design and development instructional methods, materials, and techniques language planning professional standards
Evaluating Second Language Education by
Responsibility for planning language teaching programmes now carries with it a strong element of accountability. Evaluation of the whole process of course design, development and implementation is therefore a necessary area of activity for course designers, language planners and researchers. Evaluating Second Language Education is divided into three parts: * Part One presents a review of the literature showing how the field got to where it is * Part Two contains a series of eight original case-studies which illustrate the strengths and limitations of qualitative and quantitative approaches * Part Three contains practical advice on how to design and execute evaluations in the field. It is a valuable resource both for those already engaged in evaluation and for those in training.
Call Number: LC3719 .E93 1992ISBN: 0521410673Publication Date: 1992-02-27
Rethinking Heritage Language Education by
This collection presents new investigations into the role of heritage languages and the correlation between culture and language from a pedagogic and cosmopolitical point of view. Rethinking Heritage Language Education is an edited collection that brings together emerging and established researchers interested in the education field of Heritage Language Education to negotiate its concepts and practices, and investigate the correlation between culture and language from a pedagogic and cosmopolitical point of view. The scholars, who have contributed to the growth of Heritage Language Education as a discipline, reconsider and enrich their findings by drawing new lines across the boundaries of research and practice. It complements the previous work of these theorists, filling a void in the current literature around the question of Heritage Language Education.
Call Number: P40.5 .L56 R48 2014ISBN: 9781107437623Publication Date: 2014-09-11
Heritage Language Education by
"... focuses on issues at the forefront of heritage language teaching and research. Its state-of-the-art presentation will make this volume a standard reference book for investigators, teachers, and students. It will also generate further research and discussion, thereby advancing the field." María Carreira, California State University - Long Beach, United States "In our multilingual and multicultural society there is an undeniable need to address issues of bilingualism, language maintenance, literacy development, and language policy. The subject of this book is timely.... It has potential to make a truly significant contribution to the field." María Cecilia Colombi, University of California - Davis, United States This volume presents a multidisciplinary perspective on teaching heritage language learners. Contributors from theoretical and applied linguistics, sociolinguistics, psychology, educational policy, and pedagogy specialists explore policy and societal issues, present linguistic case studies, and discuss curricular issues, offering both research and hands-on innovation. - The term "heritage language speaker" refers to an individual exposed to a language spoken at home but who is educated primarily in English. Research and curriculum design in heritage language education is just beginning. Heritage language pedagogy, including research associated with the attrition, maintenance, and growth of heritage language proficiency, is rapidly becoming a field in its own right within foreign language education. This book fills a current gap in both theory and pedagogy in this emerging field. It is a significant contribution to the goals of formulating theory, developing informed classroom practices, and creating enlightened programs for students who bring home-language knowledge into the classroom. Heritage Language Education: A New Field Emerging is dedicated to Professor Russell Campbell (1927-2003), who was instrumental in advocating for the creation of the field of heritage language education.
Call Number: P53 .H47 2008ISBN: 9780805848038Publication Date: 2007-11-13
Teaching and Learning Languages by
This publication provides essential reading for any language teacher. Pupil engagement in the language-learning process is key to success, and with this in mind the authors provide a comprehensive list of ideas as well as explaining the underlying principles of successful language-learning. Neil Jones, Assistant Headteacher Learning a language, especially in a class or group, is an intensely practical subject. Active participation by students is the key to successful language learning at any age or ability level. This book offers teachers a multitude of practical activities in which students take the lead, and clearly links these to the various linguistic and pragmatic skills. The book provides clear and comprehensive guidance on the classroom environment, models of teaching and learning, and assessment. It aims to help teachers plan engaging lessons which will enable all students to develop the key skills of speaking, listening, reading and writing in the target language. Topics covered include: The essentials of language learning Use of the target language; training the ear and training the voice Exploiting audio and video recordings Exploiting texts and pictures Using stories and drama in the classroom, and independent reading Making good use of written work Integrating multimedia resources and the Internet across the language skills Integrating grammar into communication " Teaching and Learning Languages "has been written in line with national and European language policies, reflecting contemporary trends in the teaching and learning of languages. The text s focus on active learning and its indispensable guidance for planning lessons make it essential reading for all trainee and practising teachers. "
Call Number: P53.42 -- .B74 2013ebISBN: 9781136179143Publication Date: 2013-03-05
Humour in Language Education by Call Number: P53.43 .P67 2009ISBN: 3639179021Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Cultural Globalization and Language Education by
We live in a globalized and globalizing world that is marked by the twin processes of economic globalization and cultural globalization. In this thought-provoking book, Kumaravadivelu explores the impact of cultural globalization on second- and foreign-language education. Kumaravadivelu examines in detail how the cultural component of second- and foreign-language education has been informed by the Western notions of cultural assimilation, cultural pluralism, and cultural hybridity. Drawing insights from international and interdisciplinary sources, he argues that they have only a limited and limiting relevance to language education in the era of cultural globalization. Grounded in Western as well as non-Western perspectives, and written in an easily accessible style that combines personal narrative and academic genre, this book is indispensable for graduate students, practicing teachers, teacher educators, researchers, and others who are interested in exploring the complexity of cultural globalization and language education.
Call Number: P53.45 .K86 2008ISBN: 9780300111101Publication Date: 2007-08-28
Minority Populations in Canadian Second Language Education by
Until now, the picture painted of French second language learning in Canada has tended to focus on successful French immersion. This volume offers a broader representation, in response to the demographic changes that have made the French language classroom a more complex place. Focusing on inclusion and language maintenance, the chapters discuss how a multilingual population can add the two official languages to their repertoire whilst maintaining their languages of origin/heritage; how the revitalization of Indigenous languages can best be supported in the language classroom, and how students with disabilities can be helped to successfully learn languages.
Call Number: P57 .C3 M56 2013ISBN: 9781783090297Publication Date: 2013-08-21
Challenges for Language Education and Policy by
Addressing a wide range of issues in applied linguistics, sociolinguistics, and multilingualism, this volume focuses on language users, the 'people.' Making creative connections between existing scholarship in language policy and contemporary theory and research in other social sciences, authors from around the world offer new critical perspectives for analyzing language phenomena and language theories, suggesting new meeting points among language users and language policy makers, norms, and traditions in diverse cultural, geographical, and historical contexts.
Identifying and expanding on previously neglected aspects of language studies, the book is inspired by the work of Elana Shohamy, whose critical view and innovative work on a broad spectrum of key topics in applied linguistics has influenced many scholars in the field to think "out of the box" and to reconsider some basic commonly held understandings, specifically with regard to the impact of language and languaging on individual language users rather than on the masses.
Call Number: PE1128 .C48325 2015ISBN: 9780415711906Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Multicultural Language Education by
Multicultural Language Education: From Research into Practice is a collection of essays which will appeal to teachers of modern languages, no matter the level of instruction. The contributions highlight the latest developments of Foreign Language Teaching in the Balkan countries. The field of Multicultural Language Education ensures that learners are engaged in the teaching and learning experiences. These experiences will allow learners to successfully participate in a rapidly changing world where cross-cultural understanding and intercultural communication skills are essential.This book surveys current approaches and methods in foreign language teaching, such as grammar translation, language acquisition, classroom management, communication competence, critical thinking skills and communicative language teaching. It also contains research studies as well as educational experiences and proposals, presented from different perspectives and backgrounds, all of which are theoretically grounded with a clear and sound rationale. Readers will find a variety of educational projects and research studies situated in specific educational contexts and in particular geographical locations.
ISBN: 9781443863063Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Creativity and Innovation in Language Education by
This volume sheds light on Creativity and Innovation in Language Education as key issues for the development of personal, professional and social competences and aims at highlighting the relevance of such concepts which education at any level, in any sector and at any time should continuously stimulate and enhance. The prefaces and the interrelated sections explore the concept of creativity linked with issues such as cultures and language use, language teaching, business settings, technology. This is carried out following theoretical and practical perspectives which integrate with each other. The volume is published in a historical moment in Europe in which the European Commission is celebrating the 10th Anniversary of the Barcelona Agreement (2002-2012), which emphasized the importance of learning two languages in addition to the mother tongue. The volume reflects on strategies for achieving these objectives, while underlining the belief that creativity is a skill which needs to be identified, stimulated and nurtured for the benefit of the entire society.
ISBN: 9783034310802Publication Date: 2013-02-20
Intercultural Learning in Modern Language Education by
Many educators aim to engage students in deeply meaningful learning in the language classroom, often facing challenges to connect the students with the culture of the language they are learning. This book aims to demonstrate that substantial intercultural learning can and does occur in the modern language classroom, and explores the features of the classroom that support meaningful culture-in-language-learning. The author argues that transformative modern language education is intimately tied to a view of language learning as an engagement in meaning-making activity, or semiotic practice. The empirical evidence presented is analyzed and then linked to both the theorizing of culture-in-language-teaching and to practical concerns of teaching.
ISBN: 9781783094677Publication Date: 2015-12-03
World Yearbook of Education, 2003 by
The 2003 World Yearbook of Education examines the contrasts, dilemmas, tensions and potentials of language education around the world today. Split into three parts, it considers: issues in language education; national approaches to language education (including Russia, East Asia, India, Brazil, the UK, Australia, Japan, Spain, South Africa and the USA); and urban language education.
ISBN: 9780749436131Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Functional Perspectives on Education and Discourse by
This collection of essays by leading functional linguists presents the latest perspectives on language and discourse in educational settings. Language, Education and Discourse is divided into two sections. Part one covers early childhood and the growing development of a language system from the basic semiotic system of the infant. This is followed by an analysis of the beginnings of literacy in kindergarten, the introduction to writing in primary school and the ideological content of reading material. Part two furthers this analysis by looking at discourse in secondary and tertiary education. The contributors pose questions about the role and importance of teaching grammar in the school system, and finally examine how to refine the discourse of education. This book will be useful to academics interested in the latest functional perspectives on language and education.
ISBN: 0826461875Publication Date: 2004-06-29
Language Education and the Challenges of Globalisation by
This book, by an international group of scholars, focuses on a number of sociolinguistic issues, some of them complex and controversial, linked to language education in the age of globalisation. It examines these in different contexts of immigration and super-diversity, in the light of new mobilities and new conceptualisations of changing social realities and language communities. The various investigations presented in the volume are often united and interconnected in their approaches to these key areas of focus, although each peer-edited chapter brings its own relevance to the work as a whole, and each reflects the complexities and practices of the particular contexts and speech communities examined.The insights presented provide a useful way of looking at the current state of the art of language education across the different levels of schooling and also within the various contexts analysed. Because of the increasing interest in language education as a result of both the growing number of migrant children in schools and the globalisation associated with the rapid spread of English, the volume will be of interest to a wide international readership, including scholars and students of sociolinguistics and language education.
ISBN: 9781443858137Publication Date: 2014-06-15
Sociolinguistics and Language Education by
This book, addressed to experienced and novice language educators, provides an up-to-date overview of sociolinguistics, reflecting changes in the global situation and the continuing evolution of the field and its relevance to language education around the world. Topics covered include nationalism and popular culture, style and identity, creole languages, critical language awareness, gender and ethnicity, multimodal literacies, classroom discourse, and ideologies and power. Whether considering the role of English as an international language or innovative initiatives in Indigenous language revitalization, in every context of the world sociolinguistic perspectives highlight the fluid and flexible use of language in communities and classrooms, and the importance of teacher practices that open up spaces of awareness and acceptance of --and access to--the widest possible communicative repertoire for students.
ISBN: 9781847692832Publication Date: 2010-06-17
Multiliteracies in World Languages Education by
Putting a multiliteracies framework at the center of the world language curriculum, this volume brings together college-level curricular innovations and classroom projects that address differences in meaning and worldviews expressed in learners' primary and target languages. Offering a rich understanding of languages, genres, and modalities as socioculturally situated semiotic systems, it advocates an effective pedagogy for developing learners' abilities to operate between languages. Chapters showcase curricula that draw on a multiliteracies framework and present various classroom projects that develop aspects of multiliteracies for language learners. A discussion of the theoretical background and historical development of the pedagogy of multiliteracies and its relevance to the field of world language education positions this book within the broader literature on foreign language education. As developments in globalization, accountability, and austerity challenge contemporary academia and the current structure of world language programs, this book shows how the implementation of a multiliteracies-based approach brings coherence to language programs, and how the framework can help to accomplish the goals of higher education in general and of language education in particular.
ISBN: 9781138832190Publication Date: 2015-10-12
Creative and Performing Arts (e)Books
Ballet Pedagogy by
Finally, a ballet pedagogy book for teachers of all training methods "This book, although written with the ballet teacher in mind, is equally useful to the modern dance teacher. All teachers of concert dance should have it close at hand."--Eileen Cropley, Paul Taylor Dance Company "An original concept and a work of great necessity in the field of training in ballet. This is the best book on ballet pedagogy I have encountered."--Rick McCullough, Florida State University There are many different methods for teaching classical ballet--Bournonville, Vaganova, Cecchetti, and Royal Academy of Dancing being the most widely known. All of these methods are effective tools for presenting the technique and art of ballet. Knowing how to use these tools successfully requires more than being a devotee of the technique; it also requires the mastering of various skills. In Ballet Pedagogy, Rory Foster aims to share his extensive knowledge of how to teach rather than focus exclusively on what to teach. He argues that it is not enough for a ballet teacher to be well trained in technique, but that he or she must also know how to utilize pedagogical skills. Designed as both a manual for beginning teachers as well as a reference for experienced instructors, Ballet Pedagogy is appropriate for either followers of a single methodology or for those who have adopted a more eclectic approach to technique. Foster believes that effective teaching skills--proper demonstration, counting, correcting, musicality, anatomical approach, etc.--do not come automatically just because one has trained as a dancer. In this book, Foster--an expert in multiple ballet methods--covers all areas involving dance, from history to injury prevention, from anatomy and kinesiology to vocabulary and music. He even offers pragmatic advice on the business of starting a dance school. The result is an essential addition to every dance teacher's library.
ISBN: 9780813034591Publication Date: 2010-03-28
Public Scholarship in Dance by
Dance educators in higher education have a long history of enriching the lives of others through community-based teaching, choreography, research, and service. Yet their valuable contributions to community development may not be acknowledged as legitimate scholarship by the university or other educational organizations. If you are a dance educator or student seeking to engage in public scholarship in dance and want to ensure your work receives the attention it deserves, this resource is for you." Public Scholarship in Dance" is a dance-specific guide that provides examples of what others have done and suggestions for ways dance educators can evaluate their own projects or work for scholarship. Complete with research, teaching, performance, assessments, and dissemination tools, it is a total package that supports dance educators in their professional development through public scholarship and community engagement. Author Lynnette Young Overby combines Kolb's experiential education model with her three decades of experience as a dance educator to show how dance can be public scholarship as teaching, choreography, research, and service. Throughout the text, she shares examples of well-known dance educators who use the methodology to create community dance in a range of settings, including nursing homes, schools, community arts organizations, and underserved groups in the community. Through this text, future public scholars will learn how to do the following: -Identify the criteria for public scholarship in dance and connect it to academic requirements for dance educators. -Understand and apply to their projects the framework for public scholarship in dance. -Broaden their view of public scholarship to include research, testing, choreography, performance, and service. -Document their professional activities and development for university administrators. -Demonstrate the value of their contributions within the framework of promotions, merit, and tenure. -Lay the foundation for projects considered legitimate by the university and other academic settings Features include the following: -Real-world examples of successful community dance projects -Dance-specific models for future project design -Assessment tools for connecting projects to rigor in dance education -An appendix with ready-to-use templates to guide the development, implementation, and dissemination of public scholarship in dance projects -Suggested readings and additional resources for continued learning and professional development The goal of this text is to assist dance educators in creating scholarly, community-focused projects. To that end, the book mirrors the stated missions of higher education--teaching, research, service, and--for dance educators--choreography. Chapter 1 establishes the historical and theoretical basis for public scholarship while defining public scholarship in dance. Chapter 2 focuses on academic service learning--including the teaching of dance--and the importance of meeting the experiential learning needs of students. Chapter 3 explores choreography as community expression and offers guidelines on assessing and developing community-based choreography. In chapter 4, dance educators delve into research and the role it plays in shaping a career in public scholarship. Chapter 5 makes a case for service as scholarship while demonstrating specific assessment criteria that demonstrate impact. Chapter 6 explores various forms of assessment that can be used to document projects and prepare for tenure, promotion, and merit considerations. Chapter 7 concludes by proposing a vision for the future of dance education in which community is an integral part. "Public Scholarship in Dance" will inspire budding and experienced dance educators and arm them with the necessary tools to incorporate community engagement into their lives to positively affect students, their communi
ISBN: 9781450424387Publication Date: 2015-08-12
The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning by
Featuring chapters by the world's foremost scholars in music education and cognition, this handbook is a convenient collection of current research on music teaching and learning. This comprehensive work includes sections on arts advocacy, music and medicine, teacher education, and studio instruction, among other subjects, making it an essential reference for music education programs. The original Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning, published in 1992 with the sponsorship of the Music Educators National Conference (MENC), was hailed as a welcome addition to the literature on music education because it serves to provide definition and unity to a broad and complex field (Choice). This new companion volume, again with the sponsorship of MENC, explores the significant changes in music and arts education that have taken place in the last decade. Notably, several chapters now incorporate insights from other fields to shed light on multi-cultural music education, gender issues in music education, and non-musical outcomes of music education. Other chapters offer practical information on maintaining musicians' health, training music teachers, and evaluating music education programs. Philosophical issues, such as musical cognition, the philosophy of research theory, curriculum, and educating musically, are also explored in relationship to policy issues. In addition to surveying the literature, each chapter considers the significance of the research and provides suggestions for future study.Covering a broad range of topics and addressing the issues of music education at all age levels, from early childhood to motivation and self-regulation, this handbook is an invaluable resource for music teachers, researchers, and scholars.
ISBN: 9780199771523Publication Date: 2002-01-01
The Science and Psychology of Music Performance : Creative Strategies for Teaching and Learning by
Music educators and practicing musicians have failed to benefit as much as they could from music psychology research. Parncutt and McPherson propose to improve the situation by describing new approaches, informed by recent psychological research, to teaching music, learning music, and making music at all educational levels.
ISBN: 9780195350173Publication Date: 2002-03-01
English, History and Political Science (e)Books
Teaching, Learning, and the Holocaust by
Classroom study of the Holocaust evokes strong emotions in teachers and students. Teaching, Learning, and the Holocaust assesses challenges and approaches to teaching about the Holocaust through history and literature. Howard Tinberg and Ronald Weisberger apply methods and insights of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning to examine issues in interdisciplinary teaching, with a focus on the community college setting. They discuss student learning and teacher effectiveness and offer guidance for teaching courses on the Holocaust, with relevance for other contexts involving trauma and atrocity.
ISBN: 9780253011466Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Teaching and Learning English Literature by
'It is scarcely possible to imagine a truly educated person who cannot read well. Yet it is not clear how or even if courses in literature actually work. How can teachers of English help students in their developmental journey toward becoming skillful readers and educated persons? This is the complex question that Chambers and Gregory address in Teaching and Learning English Literature. The authors consider practical matters such as course design and student assessment but do not shirk larger historical and theoretical issues. In a lucid and non-polemical fashion - and occasionally with welcome humor - Chambers and Gregory describe the what, why, and how of "doing" literature, often demonstrating the techniques they advocate. Veteran teachers will find the book rejuvenating, a stimulus to examining purposes and methods; beginning teachers may well find it indispensable' - Professor William Monroe, University of Houston 'The transatlantic cooperation of Ellie Chambers and Marshall Gregory has produced an outstanding book that ought to be on the shelves of anyone involved in the teaching of English Literature, as well as anyone engaged in the scholarship of teaching and learning in general or in any discipline. As they say, "the teaching of English Literature plays a central role in human beings' search for meaning" although others in other disciplines may make this claim for theirs too. If so, they will still learn a great deal from this book; anyone looking for no more than a means of satisfying the demands of governments that look for simplistic quality measures and economic relevance, let them look elsewhere. This is a book for now and for all times' - Professor Lewis Elton, Visiting Professor, University of Manchester, Honorary Professor, University College London This is the third in the series Teaching and Learning the Humanities in Higher Education. The book is for beginning and experienced teachers of literature in higher education. The authors present a comprehensive overview of teaching English literature, from setting teaching goals and syllabus-planning through to a range of student assessment strategies and methods of course or teacher evaluation and improvement. Particular attention is paid to different teaching methods, from the traditional classroom to newer collaborative work, distance education and uses of electronic technologies. All this is set in the context of present-day circumstances and agendas to help academics and those in training become more informed and better teachers of their subject. The book includes: - how literature as a discipline is currently understood and constituted - what it means to study and learn the subject - what 'good teaching' is, with fewer resources for teaching, larger student numbers, an emphasis on 'user-pay' principles and vocationalism. This is an essential text for teachers of English Literature in universities and colleges worldwide. The Teaching & Learning in the Humanities series, edited by Ellie Chambers and Jan Parker, is for beginning and experienced lecturers. It deals with all aspects of teaching individual arts and humanities subjects in higher education. Experienced teachers offer authoritative suggestions on how to become critically reflective about discipline-specific practices.
ISBN: 9781847877239Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Literary Learning by
Literary Learning explores the nature of literary knowledge and offers guidance for effective teaching of literature at the college level. What do English majors need to learn? How can we help them develop the skills and knowledge they need? By identifying the habits of mind that literary scholars use in their own research and writing, Sherry Lee Linkon articulates the strategic knowledge that lies at the heart of the discipline, offering important insights and models for beginning and experienced teachers.
ISBN: 9780253005595Publication Date: 2011-10-05
Teaching and Learning History by
'This book, informed by exceptionally wide inquiry into current history teaching practices in the English-speaking world, is a real achievement. The authors convey current context and challenges with great insight, and they move through possibilities in sequencing, content, skills and assessment, without strident comment, extending our knowledge of options and pitfalls in the process' - Peter N. Stearns, Provost, George Mason University 'Comprehensive, persuasive, and at all times accessible in style and argument, this text both encourages and empowers university historians to review and enhance their teaching practices. All key facets of programme development are explored with reference to an extensive and well-chosen range of international examples. The chapter on the historian's skills and qualities of mind is one of several that I will be referring to frequently' - Jeanine Graham, Senior Lecturer, History, University of Waikato '... the varied findings make fascinating reading ... this book should be required reading for everyone involved in teaching history: there is plenty here for us all to learn from' - ESCalate 'In providing such a clear, informative and thoughtful exploration of the current state of history in higher education, and in helping to raise the quality of critical debate about its future, this book contributes greatly to the growing scholarship of teaching and learning in the discipline. It should also become a vital resource for all historians who wish to honour the old dictum that, in teaching as in research, the one duty we owe history is to rewrite it' - Professor Paul Hyland, Director of History in the Subject Centre for History, Classics and Archaeology Over the last 10 years or so, history as an academic discipline has become steeped in controversy and introspection. Additional areas of interest have opened up, fresh perspectives and approaches have been offered, and new teaching and learning strategies have been advocated. There has been an increasing emphasis on producing well-qualified graduates equipped with the skills, knowledge and attitudes to cope with the changing demands of the world of work. This book suggests how these issues may be managed. The authors identify and discuss the underlying principles, and consider ways in which they can be applied at module and programme levels. The Teaching & Learning in the Humanities series, edited by Ellie Chambers and Jan Parker, is for beginning and experienced lecturers. It deals with all aspects of teaching individual arts and humanities subjects in higher education. Experienced teachers offer authoritative suggestions on how to become critically reflective about discipline-specific practices.
Call Number: D16.2 .T56 2005ISBN: 0761947736Publication Date: 2005-05-20
