Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Information related to the research, reading, writing and practice of SoTL.
Select Teaching and Learning Journals
- Action Learning: Research and Practice Action Learning : Research & Practice will publish articles which advance knowledge and assist the development of practice through the processes of action learning. Articles should aim to create theory, grounded in empirical observation of data and experience, that widens understanding of action learning and research in professional and organisational settings. Papers should encourage practitioners to gain new insights into their work and help them improve their effectiveness and contribution to their clients and the wider community. Action learning is grounded in the approach pioneered by Reg Revans which holds that there can be no learning without action and no knowing without the effort to practise and implement what is claimed as knowledge. Because action learning promotes the creative integration of thinking & doing, theory & practice, academic & practitioner, contributors are asked to strive to hold these often diverse perspectives together. An important question in assessing papers will be: “Is this likely to help people in the further development of their practice in working with people, organisations and communities?” Articles which cross the conventional boundaries of professions, organisations and communities are particularly welcome. The editors will also welcome responses from readers to all these contributions, and publish alternative views in the spirit of debate and discussion.
- Journal of the Learning Sciences JLS provides a multidisciplinary forum for research on education and learning as theoretical and design sciences. It publishes research that elucidates processes of learning, and the ways in which technologies, instructional practices, and learning environments can be designed to support learning in different contexts. JLS articles draw on theoretical frameworks from such diverse fields as cognitive science, sociocultural theory, educational psychology, computer science, and anthropology. Submissions are not limited to any particular research method, but must be based on rigorous analyses that present new insights into how people learn and/or how learning can be supported and enhanced. Successful submissions should position their argument within extant literature in the learning sciences. They should reflect the core practices and foci that have defined the learning sciences as a field: privileging design in methodology and pedagogy; emphasizing interdisciplinarity and methodological innovation; grounding research in real-world contexts; answering questions about learning process and mechanism, alongside outcomes; pursuing technological and pedagogical innovation; and maintaining a strong connection between research and practice.
(e)Books
Action Research in Teaching and Learning by
A practical, down-to-earth guide for those who work in teaching and learning in universities, this book will be indispensable reading for those who would like to carry out action research on their own practice. Lin S Norton's concept of 'pedagogical action research' has come from over twenty years' experience of carrying out such research, and more than six years of encouraging colleagues to carry out small scale studies at an institutional, national and international level. This accessible text illustrates what might be done to improve teaching/supporting learning by carrying out action research to address such questions such as: What can I do to enthuse my students? What can I do to help students become more analytical? How can I help students to link theory with their practice? What can I do to make my lecturing style more accessible? What is going wrong in my seminars when my students don't speak? Action Research for Teaching and Learningoffers readers practical advice on how to research their own practice in a higher education context. It has been written specifically to take the reader through each stage of the action research process with the ultimate goal of producing a research study which is publishable. Cognisant of the sector's view on what is perceived to be 'mainstream research', the author has also written a substantial theoretical section which justifies the place of pedagogical action research in relation to reflective practice and the scholarship of teaching and learning.
Call Number: LB1028.24 .N67 2009ISBN: 0415468469Publication Date: 2009-01-14
Learning to Teach in Higher Education by
This bestselling book is a unique introduction to the practice of university teaching and its underlying theory. This new edition has been fully revised and updated in view of the extensive changes which have taken place in higher education over the last decade and includes new material on the higher education context, evaluation and staff development. The first part of the book provides an outline of the experience of teaching and learning from the student's point of view, out of which grows a set of prinicples for effective teaching in higher education. Part two shows how these ideas can enhance educational standards, looking in particular at four key areas facing every teacher in higher education: * Organising the content of undergraduate courses * Selecting teaching methods * Assessing student learning * Evaluating the effectivenesss of teaching. Case studies of exemplary teaching are used throughout to connect ideas to practice and to illustrate how to ensure better student learning. The final part of the book looks in more detail at appraisal, performance indicators, accountability and educational development and training. The book is essential reading for new and experienced lecturers, particularly those following formal programmes in university teaching, such as courses leading to ILT accreditation.
Call Number: LB2331 -- .R28 2003ebISBN: 9781134412068Publication Date: 2003-09-02
Teaching and Learning in Higher Education by
In today's higher education climate academic staff are encouraged to focus not only on the up-to-date content of their teaching, but also to identify the most effective ways to engage students in learning, often alongside other key transferrable skills. This had led to a growing requirement for staff to adopt a scholarly approach to learning and teaching practice, and to undertake scholarship of learning and teaching as part of ongoing professional development. This text explores broad best practice approaches to undertaking enquiry into learning and teaching in higher education. It provides an introduction for staff who have been educated within a range of academic disciplines, often with high-level but very focused knowledge about, and understandings of, research processes to the potentially new world of educational enquiry. This is complemented by chapters exploring what educational enquiry means in the context of different academic disciplines, including physical sciences, mathematics, engineering, the life sciences, the arts, the humanities, the health professions, and law. It also includes: An overview of research methodology including data collection, literature reviews, good ethical practice, and research dissemination Case studies of actual research projects to support understanding of how to carry out educational enquiry in practice. Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post arrive? Request and receive your e-inspection copy today!
Call Number: LB2331 .T43 2014ISBN: 9781446254639Publication Date: 2014-04-03
The University and Its Disciplines by
University teaching and learning take place within ever more specialized disciplinary settings, each characterized by its unique traditions, concepts, practices and procedures. It is now widely recognized that support for teaching and learning needs to take this discipline-specificity into account. However, in a world characterized by rapid change, complexity and uncertainty, problems do not present themselves as distinct subjects but increasingly within trans-disciplinary contexts calling for graduate outcomes that go beyond specialized knowledge and skills. This ground-breaking book highlights the important interplay between context-specific and context-transcendent aspects of teaching, learning and assessment. It explores critical questions, such as: What are the ways of thinking and practicing characteristic of particular disciplines? How can students be supported in becoming participants of particular disciplinary discourse communities? Can the diversity in teaching, learning and assessment practices that we observe across departments be attributed exclusively to disciplinary structure? To what extent do the disciplines prepare students for the complexities and uncertainties that characterize their later professional, civic and personal lives? Written for university teachers, educational developers as well as new and experienced researchers of Higher Education, this highly-anticipated first edition offers innovative perspectives from leading Canadian, US and UK scholars on how academic learning within particular disciplines can help students acquire the skills, abilities and dispositions they need to succeed academically and also post graduation. Carolin Kreber is Professor of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education and the Director of the Centre for Teaching, Learning and Assessment at the University of Edinburgh"
Call Number: LB2361 .U55 2009ISBN: 9780415965200Publication Date: 2008-09-17
Ubiquitous Learning by
&&LI&& Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {{mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;}} This collection seeks to define the emerging field of "ubiquitous learning," an educational paradigm made possible in part by the omnipresence of digital media, supporting new modes of knowledge creation, communication, and access. As new media empower practically anyone to produce and disseminate knowledge, learning can now occur at any time and any place. The essays in this volume present key concepts, contextual factors, and current practices in this new field. Contributors are Simon J. Appleford, Patrick Berry, Jack Brighton, Bertram C. Bruce, Amber Buck, Nicholas C. Burbules, Orville Vernon Burton, Timothy Cash, Bill Cope, Alan Craig, Lisa Bouillion Diaz, Elizabeth M. Delacruz, Steve Downey, Guy Garnett, Steven E. Gump, Gail E. Hawisher, Caroline Haythornthwaite, Cory Holding, Wenhao David Huang, Eric Jakobsson, Tristan E. Johnson, Mary Kalantzis, Samuel Kamin, Karrie G. Karahalios, Joycelyn Landrum-Brown, Hannah Lee, Faye L. Lesht, Maria Lovett, Cheryl McFadden, Robert E. McGrath, James D. Myers, Christa Olson, James Onderdonk, Michael A. Peters, Evangeline S. Pianfetti, Paul Prior, Fazal Rizvi, Mei-Li Shih, Janine Solberg, Joseph Squier, Kona Taylor, Sharon Tettegah, Michael Twidale, Edee Norman Wiziecki, and Hanna Zhong.
Call Number: LC5803.C65 -- U7 2009ebISBN: 9780252034961Publication Date: 2010-01-12- Teaching Scientific Inquiry : Inquiry-based Training for Biology Graduate Teaching Assistants Improves Undergraduate Learning Outcomes byCall Number: Q183.4.C2 -- H834 2014ebPublication Date: 2014
Optimizing Teaching and Learning by
Optimizing Teaching and Learning will serve as a practical guide for anyone, anywhere, who is interested in improving their teaching, the learning of their students, and correspondingly, contribute to the scholarship of teaching and learning. Bridges the gap between the research and practice of SoTL Provides explicit instructions on how to design, conduct, analyze, and write-up SoTL work Includes samples of actual questionnaires and other materials (e.g., focus group questions) that will jumpstart investigations into teaching and learning Explores the advantages and disadvantages of various pedagogical practices and present applications of SoTL using case studies from a variety of disciplines
ISBN: 9781444305890Publication Date: 2009-02-17
Assessing for Learning by
While there is consensus that institutions need to represent their educational effectiveness through documentation of student learning, the higher education community is divided between those who support national standardized tests to compare institutions' educational effectiveness, and those who believe that valid assessment of student achievement is based on assessing the work that students produce along and at the end of their educational journeys. This book espouses the latter philosophy--what Peggy Maki sees as an integrated and authentic approach to providing evidence of student learning based on the work that students produce along the chronology of their learning. She believes that assessment needs to be humanized, as opposed to standardized, to take into account the demographics of institutions, as students do not all start at the same place in their learning. Students also need the tools to assess their own progress. In addition to updating and expanding the contents of her first edition to reflect changes in assessment practices and developments over the last seven years, such as the development of technology-enabled assessment methods and the national need for institutions to demonstrate that they are using results to improve student learning, Maki focuses on ways to deepen program and institution-level assessment within the context of collective inquiry about student learning. Recognizing that assessment is not initially a linear start-up process or even necessarily sequential, and recognizing that institutions develop processes appropriate for their mission and culture, this book does not take a prescriptive or formulaic approach to building this commitment. What it does present is a framework, with examples of processes and strategies, to assist faculty, staff, administrators, and campus leaders to develop a sustainable and shared core institutional process that deepens inquiry into what and how students learn to identify and improve patterns of weakness that inhibit learning. This book is designed to assist colleges and universities build a sustainable commitment to assessing student learning at both the institution and program levels. It provides the tools for collective inquiry among faculty, staff, administrators and students to develop evidence of students' abilities to integrate, apply and transfer learning, as well as to construct their own meaning. Each chapter also concludes with (1) an Additional Resources section that includes references to meta-sites with further resources, so users can pursue particular issues in greater depth and detail and (2) worksheets, guides, and exercises designed to build collaborative ownership of assessment. The second edition now covers: * Strategies to connect students to an institution's or a program's assessment commitment * Description of the components of a comprehensive institutional commitment that engages the institution, educators, and students--all as learners * Expanded coverage of direct and indirect assessment methods, including technology-enabled methods that engage students in the process * New case studies and campus examples covering undergraduate, graduate education, and the co-curriculum * New chapter with case studies that presents a framework for a backward designed problem-based assessment process, anchored in answering open-ended research or study questions that lead to improving pedagogy and educational practices * Integration of developments across professional, scholarly, and accrediting bodies, and disciplinary organizations * Descriptions and illustrations of assessment management systems * Additional examples, exercises, guides and worksheets that align with new content
ISBN: 9781579224950Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Doctoral Education in Social Work by
Doctoral education in social work is said to be in crisis. While there is a glut of available programs, there is a shortage of doctoral graduates for faculty positions in social work education requiring that the field prepare more high-quality graduates for these positions. There is also anincreasing need for doctoral-level social workers in leadership roles outside of schools of social work, such as in think tanks, professional associations, public and organizational administration, and practice.Based on findings from a national survey of doctoral students in social work, this volume discusses the purpose of doctoral education in a practice profession, as well as past and current controversies about what that should be. Survey findings about student demographics and their reasons forseeking the doctoral degree are discussed in comparison to national data from related fields. In addition, their program experiences are considered and parsed, including specifics on what they like and do not like, such as the dissertation research and writing experience and preparation for the PhDjob market. While most programs are designed to prepare stewards of the discipline, it turns out that the resources available in social work doctoral programs, including student aid, are quite variable. The book identifies a variety of recommendations that can enhance the profession's ability toprepare the next generation of intellectual leadership.This is essential reading for anyone interested in or already working towards a social work doctorate, and for faculty and directors of schools of social work determined to understand and shape the future of doctoral education in social work.
ISBN: 9780195378061Publication Date: 2012-01-25
