Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Information related to the research, reading, writing and practice of SoTL.
Select Teaching and Learning Journals
- European Journal of Engineering Education European Journal of Engineering Education is published six times a year in print and electronic editions and provides an essential forum for dialogue between researchers and specialists in the field of engineering education, at European and worldwide levels. European Journal of Engineering Education is the Official Journal of SEFI, the Société Européenne pour la Formation des Ingénieurs (the European Society for Engineering Education). SEFI is a non-governmental organization whose aims are to develop information about engineering education, to improve communication and exchange between professors, researchers and students and to promote cooperation between the various institutions concerned with engineering education. European Journal of Engineering Education examines the economic, cultural, and social factors which influence the education of engineers in different societies and provides a forum in which teachers and researchers in engineering schools, institutions and industry can share accounts of good practice and discuss methodology. Technological change constantly creates new demands on both engineers and the educational system that produces them. The Journal contributes to the development and improvement of engineering education necessary to meet those demands. While European Journal of Engineering Education puts a special emphasis on specific European developments in the field of engineering education, the Journal also welcomes papers presenting a worldwide perspective and with an international or intercultural dimension.
- IEEE Transaction on Education The IEEE Transactions on Education (ToE) publishes significant and original scholarly contributions to education in electrical and electronics engineering, computer engineering, computer science, and other fields within the scope of interest of IEEE.
- International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education The International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education's origins date back to 1948, when the world’s first stored-programme digital computer ran at the University of Manchester. In 1963, the Bulletin of Electrical Engineering Education evolved into the International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education (IJEEE). This journal is peer reviewed and is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)
- The International Journal of Mechanical Engineering Education The International Journal of Mechanical Engineering Education is a peer-reviewed journal aimed at teachers and trainers of mechanical engineering students in higher education and focuses on the discussion of the principles and practices of training professional, technical and mechanical engineers and those in related fields. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
- Journal of Engineering Education The Journal of Engineering Education is published on behalf of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) and serves to cultivate, disseminate, and archive scholarly research in engineering education.
(e)Books
Discipline-Based Education Research by
The National Science Foundation funded a synthesis study on the status, contributions, and future direction of discipline-based education research (DBER) in physics, biological sciences, geosciences, and chemistry. DBER combines knowledge of teaching and learning with deep knowledge of discipline-specific science content. It describes the discipline-specific difficulties learners face and the specialized intellectual and instructional resources that can facilitate student understanding. Discipline-Based Education Research is based on a 30-month study built on two workshops held in 2008 to explore evidence on promising practices in undergraduate science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education. This book asks questions that are essential to advancing DBER and broadening its impact on undergraduate science teaching and learning. The book provides empirical research on undergraduate teaching and learning in the sciences, explores the extent to which this research currently influences undergraduate instruction, and identifies the intellectual and material resources required to further develop DBER. Discipline-Based Education Research provides guidance for future DBER research. In addition, the findings and recommendations of this report may invite, if not assist, post-secondary institutions to increase interest and research activity in DBER and improve its quality and usefulness across all natural science disciples, as well as guide instruction and assessment across natural science courses to improve student learning. The book brings greater focus to issues of student attrition in the natural sciences that are related to the quality of instruction. Discipline-Based Education Research will be of interest to educators, policy makers, researchers, scholars, decision makers in universities, government agencies, curriculum developers, research sponsors, and education advocacy groups.
Call Number: Q183.3 .A1 N3585 2012ISBN: 9780309254113Publication Date: 2012-09-27- Empowering Professional Teaching in Engineering: Sustaining the Scholarship of Teaching Synthesis Lectures on Engineering by Two instructor centred and two learner centred philosophies of knowledge, curriculum and instruction are used to discern the fundamental (basic) questions that engineering educators should answer in respect of their own beliefs and practice. They point to a series of classroom activities that will enable them to challenge their own beliefs, and at the same time affirm, develop, or change their philosophies of knowledge, curriculum and instruction.Publication Date: 2018
- Engineering Education 4. 0 by This book presents a collection of results from the interdisciplinary research project "ELLI" published by researchers at RWTH Aachen University, the TU Dortmund and Ruhr-Universität Bochum between 2011 and 2016. All contributions showcase essential research results, concepts and innovative teaching methods to improve engineering education. Further, they focus on a variety of areas, including virtual and remote teaching and learning environments, student mobility, support throughout the student lifecycle, and the cultivation of interdisciplinary skills. ISBN: 9783319469157Publication Date: 2017-04-24
Evaluating and Improving Undergraduate Teaching in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics by
Economic, academic, and social forces are causing undergraduate schools to start a fresh examination of teaching effectiveness. Administrators face the complex task of developing equitable, predictable ways to evaluate, encourage, and reward good teaching in science, math, engineering, and technology. Evaluating, and Improving Undergraduate Teaching in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics offers a vision for systematic evaluation of teaching practices and academic programs, with recommendations to the various stakeholders in higher education about how to achieve change. What is good undergraduate teaching? This book discusses how to evaluate undergraduate teaching of science, mathematics, engineering, and technology and what characterizes effective teaching in these fields. Why has it been difficult for colleges and universities to address the question of teaching effectiveness? The committee explores the implications of differences between the research and teaching cultures-and how practices in rewarding researchers could be transferred to the teaching enterprise. How should administrators approach the evaluation of individual faculty members? And how should evaluation results be used? The committee discusses methodologies, offers practical guidelines, and points out pitfalls. Evaluating, and Improving Undergraduate Teaching in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics provides a blueprint for institutions ready to build effective evaluation programs for teaching in science fields.
ISBN: 9780309512114Publication Date: 2002-12-19
Inquiry-Based Learning for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) Programs by
Inquiry-based learning (IBL) is a learner-centered active learning environment where deep learning is cultivated by a process of inquiry owned by the learner. It has roots in a constructivist educational philosophy and is oriented around three components: 1) exploration and discovery (e.g. problem-based learning, open meaning-making), 2) authentic investigations using contextualized learning (e.g. field studies, case studies), and 3) research-based approach (e.g. research-based learning, project-based learning). IBL begins with an authentic and contextualized problem scenario where learners identify their own issues and questions and the teacher serves as guide in the learning process. It encourages self-regulated learning because the responsibility is on learners to determine issues and research questions and the resources they need to address them. This way learning occurs across all learning domains. This volume covers many issues and concepts of how IBL can be applied to STEM programs. It serves as a conceptual and practical resource and guide for educators, offering practical examples of IBL in action and diverse strategies on how to implement IBL in different contexts.
Call Number: 507.1 BLI 2015ISBN: 9781784418502Publication Date: 2015-10-20- Lean Engineering Education by This book addresses instructional issues that impact the intersection of what engineering faculty teach, what engineering students learn for workplace effectiveness, and what engineering employers look for when hiring and inducting graduates into the workforce. Borrowing from the precepts of "lean engineering"--to eliminate waste and always look to where design decisions can add value--the book's thesis is that engineering education can be made more efficient, and more successful, as measured by graduate rates and by workforce outcomes. The book's contents include an analysis of current shortfalls in engineering education and specifically education as it relates to professional practice. Further, the authors describe desirable improvements as well as advocacy for the use of lean-engineering tenets and tools to create a new future for engineering education. This book includes global applications of lean engineering, which has particular relevance for the developing world.ISBN: 9781606508251Publication Date: 2015-08-22
Teaching and Learning in Higher Education by
In today's higher education climate academic staff are encouraged to focus not only on the up-to-date content of their teaching, but also to identify the most effective ways to engage students in learning, often alongside other key transferrable skills. This had led to a growing requirement for staff to adopt a scholarly approach to learning and teaching practice, and to undertake scholarship of learning and teaching as part of ongoing professional development. This text explores broad best practice approaches to undertaking enquiry into learning and teaching in higher education. It provides an introduction for staff who have been educated within a range of academic disciplines, often with high-level but very focused knowledge about, and understandings of, research processes to the potentially new world of educational enquiry. This is complemented by chapters exploring what educational enquiry means in the context of different academic disciplines, including physical sciences, mathematics, engineering, the life sciences, the arts, the humanities, the health professions, and law. It also includes: An overview of research methodology including data collection, literature reviews, good ethical practice, and research dissemination Case studies of actual research projects to support understanding of how to carry out educational enquiry in practice. Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post arrive? Request and receive your e-inspection copy today!
Call Number: LB2331 .T43 2014ISBN: 9781446254639Publication Date: 2014-04-03
Teaching and Learning STEM by
Rethink traditional teaching methods to improve student learning and retention in STEM Educational research has repeatedly shown that compared to traditional teacher-centered instruction, certain learner-centered methods lead to improved learning outcomes, greater development of critical high-level skills, and increased retention in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines. Teaching and Learning STEM presents a trove of practical research-based strategies for designing and teaching courses and assessing students' learning. The book draws on the authors' extensive backgrounds and decades of experience in STEM education and faculty development. Its engaging and well-illustrated descriptions will equip you to implement the strategies in your courses and to deal effectively with problems (including student resistance) that might occur in the implementation. The book will help you: Plan and conduct class sessions in which students are actively engaged, no matter how large the class is Make good use of technology in face-to-face, online, and hybrid courses and flipped classrooms Assess how well students are acquiring the knowledge, skills, and conceptual understanding the course is designed to teach Help students develop expert problem-solving skills and skills in communication, creative thinking, critical thinking, high-performance teamwork, and self-directed learning Meet the learning needs of STEM students with a broad diversity of attributes and backgrounds The strategies presented in Teaching and Learning STEM don't require revolutionary time-intensive changes in your teaching, but rather a gradual integration of traditional and new methods. The result will be continual improvement in your teaching and your students' learning.
Call Number: Q181 -- .F453 2016ebISBN: 9781118925836Publication Date: 2016-02-11- Teaching Engineering by The majority of professors have never had a formal course in education, and the most common method for learning how to teach is on-the-job training. This represents a challenge for disciplines with ever more complex subject matter, and a lost opportunity when new active learning approaches to education are yielding dramatic improvements in student learning and retention. This book aims to cover all aspects of teaching engineering and other technical subjects. It presents both practical matters and educational theories in a format useful for both new and experienced teachers. It is organized to start with specific, practical teaching applications and then leads to psychological and educational theories. The "practical orientation" section explains how to develop objectives and then use them to enhance student learning, and the "theoretical orientation" section discusses the theoretical basis for learning/teaching and its impact on students. Written mainly for PhD students and professors in all areas of engineering, the book may be used as a text for graduate-level classes and professional workshops or by professionals who wish to read it on their own. Although the focus is engineering education, most of this book will be useful to teachers in other disciplines. Teaching is a complex human activity, so it is impossible to develop a formula that guarantees it will be excellent. However, the methods in this book will help all professors become good teachers while spending less time preparing for the classroom. This is a new edition of the well-received volume published by McGraw-Hill in 1993. It includes an entirely revised section on the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) and new sections on the characteristics of great teachers, different active learning methods, the application of technology in the classroom (from clickers to intelligent tutorial systems), and how people learn.ISBN: 9781612493626Publication Date: 2015-01-15
Associations and Conferences
- American Association for Engineering Education Founded in 1893, the American Society for Engineering Education is a nonprofit organization of individuals and institutions committed to furthering education in engineering and engineering technology.
- Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta University students in their second, third, and fourth years in engineering and geoscience at the University of Alberta and the University of Calgary are invited to apply to APEGA's Mentoring Program.
- Canadian Engineering Education Association The Canadian Engineering Education Association (CEEA) is a membership driven organization whose mission is to “enhance the competence and relevance of graduates from Canadian Engineering schools through continuous improvement in engineering education and design education.” The first annual CEEA conference integrated and grew on the previous efforts of the Canadian Design Engineering Network (CDEN) and the Canadian Congress on Engineering Education (C2E2).
- Frontiers in Education We advance and re-define engineering and computing education to ensure that all students receive the best possible preparation for their future. The IEEE Education Society founded the conference in 1971.
- International Technology and Engineering Educators Association The annual ITEEA conference provides an unparalleled opportunity for technology and engineering educators to gain comprehensive professional development and networking experiences. ITEEA members pay a reduced rate to attend and can choose from dozens of interest sessions, workshops, and social events. This is a unique opportunity to learn from and share with other technology and engineering STEM education professionals in a variety of formats.
- Learning and Teaching in Computing and Engineering (LaTiCE) The conference focuses on the unique challenges of learning and teaching computing and engineering in multi-cultural contexts in universities and high schools and on innovative and emergent practices that are informed by pragmatic scholarship.