Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Information related to the research, reading, writing and practice of SoTL.
Select Teaching and Learning Journals
- Journal of Teaching in Social Work The Journal of Teaching in Social Work fills a long-standing gap in the social work literature by providing opportunities for creative and able teachers—in schools, agency-based training programs, and direct practice—to share with their colleagues what experience and systematic study has taught them about successful teaching. Through articles focusing on the teacher, the teaching process, and new contexts of teaching, the journal is an essential forum for teaching and learning processes and the factors affecting their quality. The journal recognizes that all social work practitioners who wish to teach (whatever their specialty) should know the philosophies of teaching and learning as well as educational methods and techniques. We believe that this journal will contribute to that knowledge. Articles that focus on the teacher, the teaching process, the learner, and the learning process, as well as new contexts of teaching are considered for publication in the journal. Special attention is given to: field work teaching; in-service training; teaching aids and technologies; policy concerns that have an impact on the educational process. The Journal of Teaching in Social Work features book reviews to help you stay abreast of the field’s ever-growing literature, and will keep you at the forefront of the field with relevant qualitative and quantitative studies, as well as philosophical, historical, and empirical thoughts and works in progress from leaders in social work education and cutting-edge researchers. Peer Review Policy: All articles in this journal have undergone rigorous anonymous double-blind peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymous refereeing by two to three anonymous referees.
- Journal of Social Work Education The Journal of Social Work Education is a refereed professional journal concerned with education in social work and social welfare. Its purpose is to serve as a forum for creative exchange on trends, innovations, and problems relevant to social work education at the undergraduate, master's, and postgraduate levels. 2015 Journal Citations Report® ranks Journal of Social Work Education in Social Work and Education & Educational Research
- Social Work Education Social Work Education publishes articles of a critical and reflective nature concerned with the theory and practice of social care and social work education at all levels. It presents a forum for international debate on important issues and provides an opportunity for the expression of new ideas and proposals on the structure and content of social care and social work education, training and development.
(e)Books
Building Social Work Research Capacity : Doctoral Education in Social Work by ISBN: 9780199703166Publication Date: 2012
A Dream Deferred: How Social Work Education Lost its Way and What Can be Done by
From its inception in the late nineteenth century, social work has struggled to carry out the complex, sometimes contradictory, functions associated with reducing suffering, enhancing social order, and social reform. Since then, social programs like the implementation of welfare and the expansion of the service economy--which should have augured well for American social work--instead led to a continued loss of credibility with the public and within the academy. A Dream Deferred chronicles this decline of social work, attributing it to the poor quality of professional education during the past half-century. The incongruity between social work's promise and its performance warrants a critical review of professional education. For the past half-century, the fortunes of social work have been controlled by the Council of Social Work Education, which oversees accreditation of the nation's schools of social work. Stoesz, Karger, and Carrilio argue that the lack of scholarship of the Board of Directors compromises this accreditation policy. Similarly, the quality of professional literature suffers from the weak scholarship of editors and referees. The caliber of deans and directors of social work educational programs is low and graduate students are ill-prepared to commence studies in social work. Further complicating this debate, the substitution of ideology for academic rigor makes social work vulnerable to its critics. The authors state that, since CSWE is unlikely to reform social work education, schools of social work should be free to obtain accreditation independently, and they propose criteria for independent accreditation. A Dream Deferred builds on the past, presents a bracing critique of the present, and proposes recommendations for a better future that cannot be ignored or dismissed.
Call Number: HV11 .S833 2010ISBN: 9780202363806Publication Date: 2010-02-01
An Analysis of Social Work Education and Practice in Vietnam and Canada by Publication Date: 2006
Teaching and Learning in Higher Education by
In today's higher education climate academic staff are encouraged to focus not only on the up-to-date content of their teaching, but also to identify the most effective ways to engage students in learning, often alongside other key transferrable skills. This had led to a growing requirement for staff to adopt a scholarly approach to learning and teaching practice, and to undertake scholarship of learning and teaching as part of ongoing professional development. This text explores broad best practice approaches to undertaking enquiry into learning and teaching in higher education. It provides an introduction for staff who have been educated within a range of academic disciplines, often with high-level but very focused knowledge about, and understandings of, research processes to the potentially new world of educational enquiry. This is complemented by chapters exploring what educational enquiry means in the context of different academic disciplines, including physical sciences, mathematics, engineering, the life sciences, the arts, the humanities, the health professions, and law. It also includes: An overview of research methodology including data collection, literature reviews, good ethical practice, and research dissemination Case studies of actual research projects to support understanding of how to carry out educational enquiry in practice. Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post arrive? Request and receive your e-inspection copy today!
Call Number: LB2331 .T43 2014ISBN: 9781446254639Publication Date: 2014-04-03
From strength to strength : social work education and aboriginal people by Call Number: HV11 .F75 1993Publication Date: 1993- Undergraduate social work education : today & tomorrow byCall Number: HV11 .F44 1972Publication Date: 1972
Integrating Theory and Practice in Social Work Education by
This clear and instructive text gives practical advice on how to write better essays or assessments and give better presentations within social work. It shows how practitioners and students can apply theoretical considerations to practical social work and how they can articulate this connection in written or oral reports, both in pre-qualification and for professional development post-qualification. The authors, experienced teachers and researchers in social work education, explain how to go about gathering evidence from fieldwork and practice placements and how to prepare and plan an assignment or project. They give guidance on incorporating ethical considerations and theoretical developments, applying law and policy, and developing all these aspects in reflection, analysis and evaluation of practice. Also included are helpful sections on vivas in borderline situations and how to react in the case of failure. This clear and accessible guide will be invaluable to social work students, practice teachers, social work practitioners and social service managers.
ISBN: 9781853029813Publication Date: 2001-11-28
Call to Teach : Philosophy, Process, and Pragmatics of Social Work Education by Publication Date: 2013
Disaster Concepts and Issues : A Guide for Social Work Education and Practice by Publication Date: 2010
Women of Color on the Rise by
Social workers have long fought to bring diversity, inclusiveness, and economic justice to the communities in which they serve, but for decades the internal practices of the profession have contradicted its public persona, perpetuating myths and misconceptions about women of color and their ability to teach and lead. In these essays African American, Asian American, Latina, Pacific Islander, and Native American women share their experiences working within the field of social work, describing their rise to leadership and their efforts to maintain authority. Emphasizing themes of social change and justice, these narratives make visible the unique challenges faced by leaders and administrators of color, an issue that continues to affect women within the field today. Trading on decades of experience, Halaevalu F. O. Vakalahi and Wilma Peebles-Wilkins choose essays that specifically examine concerns and techniques facilitating the development of women of color as leaders. Their lessons inform future research, policy, and practice and are sure to enhance scholarship on diversity within the profession. There is even a chapter written by a university vice president, who focuses entirely on working within the academy. Altogether, these contributors prove that culturally based paradigms of leadership, historically devalued and suppressed, are crucial to women on the rise.
Call Number: HV11.7 .W665 2010ISBN: 9780231144766Publication Date: 2009-11-12
Models of international collaboration in social work education by Call Number: HV11 .M57 2003Publication Date: 2003
Experiential Learning: a Foundation for Social Work Education and Practice by Call Number: HV11 .G634 2001ISBN: 0872930807Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Routledge International Handbook of Social Work Education by
The Routledge International Handbook of Social Work Educationprovides an authoritative overview of current understanding through coverage of key debates, exploring the state of play in particular social work education fields and reflecting on where the future might be taking us. The overall aim of the Handbook is to further develop pedagogic research and scholarship for social work education. Drawing on medical education as an exemplar, the contributions view social work education as a specialism and a field of expertise that counts in the same way as research programmes in more traditional areas of social work practice. The chapters are concerned with the theory and practice of social work education at all levels; they are accessible, conceptually clear, research based where appropriate, critically reflective and ethically underpinned. The Handbook is organised into seven sections that reflect the proposed themes and sub-themes covering: Social work education in context: the western drivers Emerging and re-emerging social work education The scholarship of learning and teaching New insights into field education New directions in learning and teaching Future challenges in social work education This handbook presents a contribution to the process of exchange and dialogue which is essential to global social work education. It brings together professional knowledge and lived experience, both universal and local, and will be an essential reference for social work educators, researchers, students and professionals.
ISBN: 9781138890237Publication Date: 2016-04-14
Spirituality in Social Work and Education by
Over the past ten years, the fields of social work and education have grappled separately with definitions of spirituality, ways to integrate spirituality into the classroom, and the rendering of spirituality as a meaningful concept for practitioners, students, and researchers. Social work and education have many commonalities in areas of engagement with children, families, and communities. For the first time, this book brings together these two professional disciplines for interdisciplinary discussions that advance our knowledge in the broad area of “spirituality.” The book’s three sections reflect broad topic areas created to facilitate dialogue between the contributors, all of whom have established expertise in exploring spirituality in education or social work. The first section of the book explores the historical and theoretical underpinnings of spirituality in education and social work. Examination of our respective heritages uncovers the religious roots within our professions and reveals a present understanding of spirituality that calls for active engagement in challenging oppression and working toward social justice. The second section shifts the focus to the pedagogical implications of incorporating spirituality into higher-education classrooms. The varied level of acceptance and the tensions that come from including spirituality, implicitly or explicitly, in the programs and coursework in our respective faculties are illuminated by authors in both professions. The final section explores issues related to practising and teaching in the field from a spiritually sensitive perspective.
Call Number: HV530 .S65 2012ISBN: 9781554586264Publication Date: 2012-10-15
Social Work Education and Training by
Excellent social work education and training is vital for ensuring best practice, and it is important to understand the key approaches and methods in order to provide the best teaching and ensure effective learning. This volume provides an overview of social work education, including the background and current context. It covers the key debates surrounding social work education, such as the evaluation of social work education, the use of IT, research-mindedness, and the effectiveness of interdisciplinary education. The book also offers guidance on effective teaching and learning approaches tailored to the needs of social work educators, covering teaching within a higher education institution, on student practice placements, and in post-qualifying settings. This will be an indispensable text for educators and trainers in the field of social work.
Call Number: HV11 .S58823 2012ISBN: 9781849050760Publication Date: 2011-09-15
Tackling Institutonal Racism: Anti-Racist Policies and Social Work Education and Training by
The publication of the Inquiry into the murder of Stephen Lawrence emphasised the institutionally racist nature of British society. Public bodies and welfare institutions are having to face the consequences of racism within their organisations. This task should draw on the earlier experience of the Central Council for Education and Training in Social Work's (CCETSW) anti-racist agenda, whose initiative came under attack from government ministers, media commentators and sections of the social work profession.This book describes and analyses the development of anti-racist social work education and training and moves on to a broader debate:it critically assesses the concept of 'race', the historical development and maintenance of racism in contemporary British society, exploring 'race-related' legislation and its theoretical underpinnings;it offers an historical exploration of the role of social work and its relationship with, and response to, the needs of deprived and marginalised communities;it provides an assessment of the backlash against CCETSW's anti-racist developments from politicians, the media and sections of the social work profession, incorporating a debate regarding charges of political correctness.Issues such as 'political correctness' and 'identity politics' are critically explored, and the implications of these political processes on the anti-racist policy agenda are assessed. The analysis reflects on both the possibilities and limitations placed on establishing anti-racist policies.Tackling institutional racism will be of particular interest to Diploma in Social Work students, social work practitioners and academics, social policy undergraduates and postgraduates. It should also be read by professionals at different levels in the policy-making process, particularly those working directly with, acting on behalf of, or pursuing, the interests of the black community.
Call Number: HV245 .P46 2000ISBN: 1861341814Publication Date: 2000-10-11
Teaching international content : curriculum resources for social work education by Call Number: HV11 .T37 2005Publication Date: 2005- Continuing social work education : an annotated bibliography byCall Number: HV11 .L596 1980Publication Date: 1980
Holistic Engagement by
This text offers innovation and a call to action for educators - engage fully to engage students fully. With stories from the classroom, Holistic Engagement invites and challenges social work, human services and counseling educators to seek meaning in their methods and content in the processesof teaching. Empirically grounded, the authors propose a new model for advancing pedagogy to draw from many ways of knowing and wisdom across traditions. Through rich analysis of globalization, higher education and the social work profession, as well as first person accounts, they co-create a storyof holistic pedagogies being employed across the globe. Aiming toward transformative social work practice, the authors discuss the ways that they engage with the whole person (body, mind, heart, culture and spirit) and reveal how such participatory pedagogies strengthen presence, attunement, empathy, professional self-care and the integrativecapabilities of social work students and human service professionals. Drawing from a wide range of literature and traditions, from Freire's critical pedagogy to the neuroscience of mindfulness, these engaging essays have much to offer both seasoned and new social work educators, while creating anintegrative and realistic conceptual home for them. The authors discuss the uses of theatre, the arts, ritual, mindfulness, critical dialogue, yoga and many other methods that upend the traditional social work classroom. These approaches are used at the undergraduate and graduate levels in a range of courses, including policy, theory and practice.The auto-ethnographical nature of many of the essays will invite educators to reflect on their own pedagogies as they consider the rewards and risks of going beyond the cognitive and engaging the whole person.
ISBN: 9780199392728Publication Date: 2016-01-11
The Andragogic Learning Center: a Field Study in Social Work Education by
This publication was made possible by the Rector's Fund in support of publications and books, Bar Ilan University, Israel. The Andragogic Learning Center examines an eight-year study at the Bar Ilan School of Social Work, Israel (1989-1997). The study tested the efficacy of an innovative community-based teaching approach, combining field and class instruction. The efficacy of interaction between teaching and learning style in learning process and context was also examined. More than 400 B.S.W. students participated, divided each year into an experimental group of twelve students learning all three social work methods, and two control groups learning two social work methods. A number of hypotheses were tested, utilizing a detailed before/after questionnaire, which included a learning style questionnaire (TABS) and Middleman's Study Guide for ACSW Certification Exam. Role, Learning, and Andragogy Theories provided a framework for interpreting and understanding the process and results.
Call Number: HV11.8 .I75 S66 2010ISBN: 9780761849476Publication Date: 2009-12-21
Social work education : voices from the Asia Pacific by
Social work and social development in the Asia-Pacific region continue to grow in new and exciting ways. Social work educators are an essential part of shaping social work and development.
Call Number: HV383 .S63 2013ISBN: 9781743320396Publication Date: 2013
Distance Learning and Online Education in Social Work by
This edited collection focuses on the early development, gradual evolution, and present status of distance learning and online education in the social work profession. Chapters cover a comprehensive range of topics, including organizational and administrative aspects, teaching and practice, recent research and the challenge of creating intimacy and interaction.
Call Number: HV11 .D57 2014ISBN: 9781138019591Publication Date: 2014-05-16
Technology in Social Work Education and Curriculum by
Save time and trouble as you incorporate technology into your social work curriculum The dramatic increase in the use of computers and other forms of technology in social work education and practice has educators, trainers, and administrators investing valuable time, money, and effort into trying to make the transition from traditional teaching to a Web-assisted learning environment. Technology in Social Work Education and Curriculum takes the mystery out of the online experience with practical information on using technology to enhance and enrich learning--but not at the expense of the "human" approach to social work. This unique book presents a variety of creative and interesting methods for incorporating technology that's affordable and user-friendly, and for developing online skills that won't become obsolete as computer hardware and software evolves. Technology in Social Work Education and Curriculum transforms technology into an everyday resource for agency field instructors, human service educators, trainers, and social work administrators. The book addresses concerns that educators with limited technical skills may have in using technology to teach cultural competency, group work, research, direct practice, social policy and advocacy, and field practicum, presenting hands-on approaches that are innovative but accessible. And by focusing on approaches rather than simply reviewing available hardware and software, the book provides you with background knowledge that makes it easier for you to successfully incorporate online learning into the classroom. Technology in Social Work Education and Curriculum examines using instructional technology to emotionally engage students in the learning process using digital video and qualitative data analysis software to teach group practice the role technology plays in advocacy distance-education technologies in policy education incorporating Web-assisted learning into a traditional classroom setting the advantages of distance education over more conventional approaches a model for planning the use and integration of computer technology in schools of social work how the behaviors of computer consultants can affect the students who seek their help using innovation diffusion theory in technology planning and much more! Social workers have traditionally embraced the latest technologies and scientific developments since the earliest days of the profession. Technology in Social Work Education and Curriculum helps continue that tradition, offering invaluable guidance to educators and administrators, no matter how experienced--or inexperienced--they are in dealing with communications technologies.
Call Number: HV11 .T43 2005ISBN: 0789029626Publication Date: 2005-09-19
International Social Work by
This book focuses on three key issues of international social work: international dimensions of social problems and how social work practice can deal with these challenges; cultural issues social workers have to think of when practicing, teaching, and developing social work on an international level; and aspects of international approaches in social work education. The authors practice and teach social work in several countries and their professional experience gives them the chance to gain profound experience in international social work. Therefore, the authors not only write about international perspectives, but also write from an international perspective.
Call Number: HV11 .I57 2007ISBN: 9783866490871Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Challenge and change in social work education : toward a world view : selected papers by Call Number: HV11 .S723 2003Publication Date: 2003
International Handbook on Social Work Education by
Experts from around the world fill a major gap about social work education with their survey of the state of the field in over 23 countries and regions within the Americas (United States, Canada, Mexico and Central America, South America, Argentina), Europe (United Kingdom, Sweden, France, Germany, Central/Eastern Europe, Russia and the Republics), Africa (Africa, Zimbabwe, South Africa), the Middle East (the Middle East and Egypt, Israel), and Asia and the Pacific (Asia/Pacific, Australia, India, Bangladesh, Japan, China). This reference guide also considers social work education from a comparative and global perspective in terms of current problems and programs and future prospects. Social workers, educators, academics, and professionals will gain from the country studies, international overview, and lengthy bibliographies.
Call Number: HV11 .I566 1995ISBN: 0313279152Publication Date: 1995-11-30
