Indigenous Topics
Residential Schools Resources
Select resources from the U of C Catalogue
Aboriginal Education by ISBN: 0774807822Publication Date: 2000-08-15Education is at the heart of the struggle of Aboriginal peoples toregain control over their lives as communities and nations. The promiseof education is that it will instruct the people in ways to live longand well, respecting the wisdom of their ancestors and fulfilling theirresponsibilities in the circle of life. Aboriginal Educationdocuments the significant gains in recent years in fulfilling thispromise. It also analyzes the institutional inertia and governmentpolicies that continue to get in the way. The contributors to this book emphasize Aboriginal philosophies andpriorities in teaching methods, program design, and institutionaldevelopment. An introductory chapter on policy discourse since 1966provides a context for considering important achievements andconstraints in transforming Aboriginal education into an instrument ofself-determination. A number of the chapters are drawn from reports andpapers prepared for the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples asbackground to its 1996 report. They cover a broad range of subjects:educational practice from elementary to post-secondary levels;initiatives in language conservation and communications media; thedevelopment of Aboriginal institutions; and policy discourse amongAboriginal, federal, provincial, and territorial bodies. As the authors make clear, Aboriginal education continues to bepractised on an intensely political terrain. While governments fundparticular Aboriginal initiatives, the homogenizing pressures of aglobalizing society are relentless. Political gains in negotiatingself-government thus establish the context in which the distinctivenessof Aboriginal education and cultures is sustained. This book is a valuable resource for administrators, educators andstudents with an interest in Aboriginal issues and educationalreform.
A Knock on the Door by ISBN: 9780887557859Publication Date: 2015-12-18"It can start with a knock on the door one morning. It is the local Indian agent, or the parish priest, or, perhaps, a Mounted Police officer." So began the school experience of many Indigenous children in Canada for more than a hundred years, and so begins the history of residential schools prepared by the Truth & Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC). Between 2008 and 2015, the TRC provided opportunities for individuals, families, and communities to share their experiences of residential schools and released several reports based on 7000 survivor statements and five million documents from government, churches, and schools, as well as a solid grounding in secondary sources.A Knock on the Door, published in collaboration with the National Research Centre for Truth & Reconciliation, gathers material from the several reports the TRC has produced to present the essential history and legacy of residential schools in a concise and accessible package that includes new materials to help inform and contextualize the journey to reconciliation that Canadians are now embarked upon.Survivor and former National Chief of the Assembly First Nations, Phil Fontaine, provides a Foreword, and an Afterword introduces the holdings and opportunities of the National Centre for Truth & Reconciliation, home to the archive of recordings, and documents collected by the TRC. As Aimée Craft writes in the Afterword, knowing the historical backdrop of residential schooling and its legacy is essential to the work of reconciliation. In the past, agents of the Canadian state knocked on the doors of Indigenous families to take the children to school. Now, the Survivors have shared their truths and knocked back. It is time for Canadians to open the door to mutual understanding, respect, and reconciliation.
The Politics of Official Apologies by ISBN: 9780521693851Publication Date: 2008-01-28Intense interest in past injustice lies at the centre of contemporary world politics. Most scholarly and public attention has focused on truth commissions, trials, lustration, and other related decisions, following political transitions. This book examines the political uses of official apologies in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the United States. It explores why minority groups demand such apologies and why governments do or do not offer them. Nobles argues that apologies can help to alter the terms and meanings of national membership. Minority groups demand apologies in order to focus attention on historical injustices. Similarly, state actors support apologies for ideological and moral reasons, driven by their support of group rights, responsiveness to group demands, and belief that acknowledgment is due. Apologies, as employed by political actors, play an important, if underappreciated, role in bringing certain views about history and moral obligation to bear in public life.
Call Number: 371.829971 BEF 2007 DVD
Publication Date: 2007
The fallen feather provides an in-depth critical analysis of the driving forces behind the creation of Canadian Indian Residential Schools. Using historical source documents, survivors' personal testimonies and detailed analysis from community leaders, the film explores in detail, the Federal Government's primary motivation in the creation of these schools. While examining the influences of Indian wars, Sir John A. MacDonald's National Policy, Land Claims issues, the film details how all of these events and visions contributed to the development of these schools. The film argues that the lasting effects that First Nations in Canada suffer today, can be traced back directly to their experiences within these schools. Finally, we as Canadians are all challenged to re-examine our shared history.
Bezeau, Hoskins, Bezeau, Randy N, Hoskins, Jannica R, & Fallen Feather Productions. (2007). The fallen feather Indian industrial residential schools Canadian confederation. Fallen Feather Productions.
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Use buttons in the Turtle on home page to find information according to subject
- or follow standard database searching strategies to access materials
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Follow standard database searching strategies to access materials
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Indexes monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and government publications covering native American topics and issues, including education, anthropology, psychology, political science, sociology, and legal and medical research.
- Coverage is of items published from the sixteenth century to the present.
Residential School Locations - ArcGIS Mapping Application
Created by the University of Calgary Libraries and Cultural Resources department, this interactive map identifies all Residential School locations across Canada, according to the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation. Several locations contain links connected to relevant archival materials from the Glenbow Library and Archives digital collection at the University of Calgary. This application acts as an educational tool, intended to inform and support student learning of Residential Schools and the impacts of colonization on Indigenous cultures throughout Canadian history.
This map exists as part of a larger project connecting educators and students to archival materials, highlighting Indigenous cultures and peoplehood. More information can be found here.