Indigenous Topics
Indigenous Women's Resources
Select resources from the U of C Catalogue
The Fourth World by ISBN: 155266080XPublication Date: 2004-09-01An examination of the cultural assumptions embedded in the theories propounded by white feminists, this important contribution to fourth-world theory provides a distinctive perspective on the dichotomy between Eurocentric and Aboriginal thought. Challenges to the hegemony of contemporary feminist theory are extended to facilitate consideration of self-government on Aboriginal terms. This thoughtful, culturally relevant analysis reconsiders the tacit resuppositions that have guided dominant feminist theory.
Firekeepers of the Twenty-First Century by ISBN: 9780773532168Publication Date: 2008-03-28Presents the lives of sixty-four of ninety women chiefs who assumed the traditionally male role of elected First Nations leadership. This book presents the colonial histories behind the issues that Aboriginal communities struggle with. It examines the experiences of women as they negotiate multiple roles and navigate the worlds of gender and race.
Contact Zones by ISBN: 0774811366Publication Date: 2006-07-01As both colonizer and colonized (sometimes even simultaneously), women were uniquely positioned at the axis of the colonial encounter - the so-called "contact zone" - between Aboriginals and newcomers. Aboriginal women shaped identities for themselves in both worlds. By recognizing the necessity to "perform," they enchanted and educated white audiences across Canada. On the other side of the coin, newcomers imposed increasing regulation on Aboriginal women's bodies. Contact Zones provides insight into the ubiquity and persistence of colonial discourse. What bodies belonged inside the nation, who were outsiders, and who transgressed the rules - these are the questions at the heart of this provocative book.
In the Days of Our Grandmothers by ISBN: 9780802041173Publication Date: 2006-10-21From Ellen Gabriel to Tantoo Cardinal, many of the faces of Aboriginal people in the media today are women. In the Days of Our Grandmothers is a collection of essays detailing how Aboriginal women have found their voice in Canadian society over the past three centuries. Collected in one volume for the first time, these essays critically situate Aboriginal women in the fur trade, missions, labour and the economy, the law, sexuality, and the politics of representation. Leading scholars in their fields demonstrate important methodologies and interpretations that have advanced the fields of Aboriginal history, women's history, and Canadian history. A scholarly introduction lays the groundwork for understanding how Aboriginal women's history has been researched and written and a comprehensive bibliography leads readers in new directions. In the Days of our Grandmothers is essential reading for students and anyone interested in Aboriginal history in Canada.
Native Women's Association of Canada
An association that "works to advance the well-being of Aboriginal women and girls, as well as their families and communities through activism, policy analysis and advocacy."
- Browse "Policy Areas" to reports and fact sheets on specific subjects
The site "contains a directory of resources on selected topics including statistics and indicators, gender mainstreaming, and online clearinghouses on themes currently on the United Nations agenda."
- Browse according to subject of interest.
Canadian Human Rights Commission
A generalized approach to human rights in Canada and common issues related to rights
- Click 'Publications' under the 'Resources' tab or search for specific terms in the search box
- Indigenous Feminisms in Canada"This essay explores three case studies that show how Indigenous women enact the principles of Indigenous feminism by deploying the concept of active silence to bring attention to the social justice goals of Indigenous communities in Canada. It begins by defining Indigenous feminism and its broader objectives before turning to a discussion of the Sahtu Dene’s efforts to restore land polluted through uranium mining, Heiltsuk resistance to the Northern Gateway Pipeline Project, and Canada’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission."
Suzack, Cheryl. (2015). Indigenous Feminisms in Canada. NORA : Nordic Journal of Women's Studies, 23(4), 261–274. https://doi.org/10.1080/08038740.2015.1104595
- Gendered Violence and Politics in Indigenous Communities: THE CASES OF ABORIGINAL PEOPLE IN CANADA AND THE SÁMI IN SCANDINAVIAThis article examines the depoliticization of violence against women in indigenous communities. It argues that there is a pressing need to examine the ways in which gendered violence is explained, addressed and often sanctioned in indigenous communities. The article draws on Crenshaw's concept of political intersectionality and examines responses to gendered violence in indigenous communities through two groups: Aboriginal women in Canada and Sami women in Scandinavia.
Kuokkanen, Rauna. (2015). Gendered Violence and Politics in Indigenous Communities. International Feminist Journal of Politics, 17(2), 271–288. https://doi.org/10.1080/14616742.2014.901816
- Aboriginal women in Canada: on the choice to renounce or reclaim Aboriginal identity"As a woman of mixed European and Aboriginal heritage I am a product of Colonization, living with the repercussions of both the original acts of Colonization and Canada's subsequent assimilation policies. For over 150 years, Aboriginal women in Canada were subjected to active and deliberate marginalization, gender discrimination, and racism before being granted the opportunity to reclaim official Aboriginal rights as "status Indians" through the 1985 Indian Act. Today, I am entitled to reclaim official "status" from the Canadian State; however, I do not feel that this is an entitlement that I should ethically be awarded solely on ethnic heritage. If we are to accept the popular idea of "race" simply as a socially constructed phenomenon, then official Aboriginal recognition should no longer be awarded on the basis of inherited ethnicity."
Naumann, Danielle. (2008). Aboriginal women in Canada: on the choice to renounce or reclaim Aboriginal identity. Canadian Journal of Native Studies, 28(2), 343.
North American women's letters and diaries (NAWLD)
NAWLD includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women, as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
- Browse or search from the top Navigation Bar.
- Many of the sources are written in the United States or about the United States. Include in search "Canada" or "Canadian" to receive results about Canadian Women.
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Use the search bar to find relevant articles to your topic
http://gdc.galegroup.com.ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/gdc/artemis?p=AHSI&u=ucalgary