Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indigenous Topics

General Statistics Sites

Although general data repositories may not separate out indigenous statistics, they can be useful for comparison and generalizations. The following sites provide data and statistics from the local to global.


Calgary Economic Development

Calgary Economic Development works with business, government and community partners to position Calgary as the location of choice for the purpose of attracting business investment, fostering trade and growing Calgary’s workforce.

  • Contains reports on Economic Indicators, Demographics, and Resources.

Calgary Police Service Crime Statistics

These reports provide statistics on person and property crimes, disorder, traffic, LRT, domestic conflict, drugs, hate/bias crime, weapons, youth, centre city and gang related crime in Calgary.

  • Includes, Trends, Annual Reports, Quarterly Reports, and Monthly Reports.
  • Reports are separated by area or crime as noted above.

Alberta Office of Statistics & Information

The OSI is the Government of Alberta's statistical agency. Our purpose is to consolidate and develop social and economic statistics and information relating to Alberta.

  • Click "Society and Community Statistics" or "Demographics" for social analysis' most relevant to indigenous topics.

     

Focus on Geography Series

  • Provides Census data collected by the federal government on the Calgary Metropolitan Area.
  • Reports and analysis may be browsed. Includes tables, graphs, and percentile changes between census data

Canadian Opinion Research Archive

 

 

 

 

 

  • Data gathered from public opinion polls and surveys includes trends, papers, reports, data analysis and links.
  • Navigate links on right of page to find reports and raw data

Canadian Periodical Index CPI.Q.

  • This repository, brings together published and archival collections relating to the Canadian Aboriginal military experience, is a valuable resource and encourages further research into the the rich history of Canadian Aboriginal Military History.

  • Follow database searching methods described in the home tab of this guide


Canadian Research Index

  • Provides citations and abstracts for publications issued by the federal government and the governments of the ten provinces and three territories, including policy papers, statistical reports, annual reports, and research papers. Also includes information on Canadian dissertations.

  • Coverage is from 1982 to the present.
  • Library has full-text of documents on microfiche on 3LT at call number J103 .A1 M52
  • Follow database searching methods described in the home tab of this guide
  • Use statistic search terms to find journal publications
  • Use statistic search terms to find journal publications

UN Database

"Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries are also provided to aid research. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators."

  • Reports and analysis may be browsed. Includes tables, graphs, and percentile changes between census data

Urban Aboriginal Peoples Study

A not for profit organization that examines data and conducts surveys of aboriginals in eleven Canadian cities. The 2011 Urban Aboriginal Peoples Study was coordinated by the Environics Institute and has helped shatter some stereotypes of urban Native people.

  • Browse ‘Surveys/Data’ tab for raw data and analytic reports.

First Nations Information Governance Centre

A national organization that collects and centralizes data. Especially focused on managing “First Nations Regional Longitudinal Health Survey”.

  • Browse ‘Resources’ tab for online raw data access.