Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indigenous Topics

Table of Contents

 Home
Overview

Search Tips

  • Steps of building your topic, terms, and results

  • How to effectively use Boolean terms

  • How to use Truncation

  • A selection of general terms used by databases

Database Searching

  • Steps on how to find and access a database

  • How to find resources within a database

  • How to access resources within a database

 General Academic Resources
  • Student Resources
  • Discipline Resources
  • Related Research Guides
Research Learning Materials
General Databases
Terminology
  • Search Disclaimer
  • Search Tips
  • Why Does This Matter? 
  • External Research Guides
Terms and Definitions
Indigenous Peoples Database
Overview

Navigating the Database

  • Search Bar

  • Term Frequency

  • Term Clusters

  • Results Navigation

Resource Overview

  • Historical Videos

  • Manuscripts

  • Monographs

  • Photographs

  • Reports/Records

  • Newspapers

 Statistics
Overview

General Statistics Sites

  • Local Statistics
  • Canadian Statistics
  • Global Statistics
  • Indigenous Specific Statistics

Government of Canada

  • Statistics Canada

  • Citing Statistics Canada

  • Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada 

  • Government Publications

Books

 

Indigenous Women

Overview

  • Terminology
  • Focused Searching

Government Resources

  • Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)
  • Department of Indian Affairs Report
Books, Media, Articles, and Databases

MMIWG2S

  • Government Resources
  • Secondary Sources
 Residential Schools

Overview

  • Terminology
National Center for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR)
Government Resources
Books, Media, and Databases
Health and Wellness 

Indigenous Health and Wellness

  • University of Calgary Student Resources
  • Government of Canada Resources
  • External University Library Guides 

Two-Spirit

  • Concepts and Terms
  • Books, Media, and External University Research Guides

Traditional Healing 

  • Concepts and Terms
  • Books, Articles, Media, and External University Research Guides

The Medicine Wheel 

  • Concepts and Terms
  • Books, Articles, and Media 

Intergenerational Trauma 

  • Concepts and Terms
  • Books, Articles, and Media