East Asian Studies
This guide provides selected resources available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
Example from the "Chinese Cultural Revolution Posters" Collection
Collections
- NDL Digital Collections
This collection contains roughly 90,000 items, including material written in Japanese prior to the end of the Edo period (1868) and material written in Chinese prior to the end of the Qing dynasty. Some 1,500 materials contain commentaries or transcriptions. Roughly 70,000 of these items are available on the NDL website. - East Asian Collection - University of Wisconsin Libraries
The East Asian Collection includes historical images that present a visual archive of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage. Currently, the collection consists of images that document early 20th century China including the the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), a visual history of Buddhist practices and temples in China, and other images of daily life in both rural and urban China.
Other Specialized Collections
- National Archives of Japan Digital ArchiveThe National Archives is an organization for preserving, as historical materials, public records and archives of importance transferred from state organs.
- New York Public Library China CollectionChina, in a series of views, displaying the scenery, architecture, and social habits, of that ancient empire. Drawn, from original and authentic sketches, by Thomas Allom. With historical and descriptive notices by the Rev. G. N. Wright.
- Early Photography of JapanEarly Photography of Japan is a virtual collection of more than 40 souvenir photograph albums and illustrated publications with over 2,000 images from Widener Library, the Fine Arts Library, and Harvard-Yenching Library.
- Chinese Cultural Revolution PostersPropaganda posters created by various Chinese agencies, 1968-1989.