Italian Studies
This guide provides selected resources available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
The Italian collection at the University of Calgary supports the teaching and research needs of all students & faculty. The book collection is located on the fifth & sixth floor of the Taylor Family Digital Library.
Key Resources
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsCovers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, as well as various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Key Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Collins Italian Dictionary by The edition of Collins Italian Dictionary has been completely revised and updated with thousands of new references to cover all the latest vocabulary, culture notes to broaden users' knowledge of Italian culture, and web addresses to enable further research.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture by ISBN: 9780203440254With over 900 entries by international contributors, this volume is genuinely interdisciplinary in character, treating traditional political, economic, and legal concerns, with a particular emphasis on neglected areas of popular culture.
The Cambridge History of Italian Literature by Leading scholars describe and assess the work of writers who have contributed to the Italian literary tradition, including Dante, Petrarch and Boccaccio, the Renaissance humanists, Machiavelli, Ariosto and Tasso, pioneers and practitioners of opera and drama from commedia delVarte to Pirandello and Dario Fo, the nineteenth- and twentieth-century poets from Leopardi to Montale, and the novelists from Manzoni to Calvino and Eco.