This guide provides selected resources available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
- Collins Italian Dictionary by HarperCollins PublishersThe Collins Italian Dictionary has been completely revised and updated with thousands of new references to cover all the latest vocabulary, culture notes to broaden users' knowledge of Italian culture, and web addresses to enable further research.
- Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary by Edited by Pat Bulhosen, Francesca Logi, and Loredana RiuISBN: 9780191739552Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this English-Italian dictionary.
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture by Gino Moliterno (Editor)ISBN: 9780203440254With over 900 entries by international contributors, this volume is interdisciplinary in character, treating traditional political, economic, and legal concerns, with a particular emphasis on neglected areas of popular culture.
- Dictionary of Italian Literature by Peter E. Bondanella , Julia Conaway Bondanella , Jody Robin ShiffmanCovers the entire history of Italian literature, with entries ranging from the 13th century to the present and from Dante and Boccaccio to Umberto Eco.
On the shelves
- Compact Oxford Italian Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff (Editor)ISBN: 9780199663132The Compact Oxford Italian Dictionary offers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary Italian and English.
- Cassell's Italian Dictionary by Cassell Staff (Compiled by); Piero Rebora (Compiled by)ISBN: 0025225308This dictionary is designed as a mirror of contemporary Italian life but it includes obsolete words and phrases which are recurrent in the works of classic Italian writers for the benefit of readers and students of Italian literature.
- The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature by Peter Hainsworth (Editor); David Robey (Editor)ISBN: 0198183321With 2,400 entries from an international team of scholars, it provides a wealth of clear, up-to-date assessments of Italy's writers, famous and not so famous, from 1200 to 2000, whether they wrote in Italian, dialect, or Latin, together with vital background information on historical events, regional culture, and the other arts.
- Streetwise Italian Dictionary/Thesaurus by Nicholas Albanese; Giovanni Spani; Philip Balma; Ermanno ContiISBN: 0071430709The essence of any language lies not in its timehonoreddictionaries, but in its slang. StreetwiseItalian Dictionary/Thesaurus provides Italian studentswith today's most accurate, accessible, and up-to-datereference to current Italian slang and idiomaticexpressions.
- Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studies by Gaetana Marrone (Editor); Paolo Puppa (Editor)ISBN: 9781579583903The Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studiesis a two-volume reference book containing some 600 entries on all aspects of Italian literary culture. It includes analytical essays on authors and works, from the most important figures of Italian literature to little known authors and works that are influential to the field.
Books from other Libraries
If you can't find the book you are looking for please check the collection of other institutions around Canada on WorldCat.org. UCalgary Library is providing an InterLibrary Loan Service for faculty, students and staff. It is free and usually takes not longer then a couple of days until the pdf-document or book arrives.
- Last Updated: Feb 21, 2020 10:07 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/italian
- Print Page