Open Educational Resources (OER)
This guide provides information and resources to help support you learn about OER, find and evaluate existing OER, adopt OER, and create OER projects.
- About Open Educational Resources
- Open Education & Support at UCalgary
- Finding OER
- Adopting, Developing, & Evaluating OER
- Open Education Alberta Publishing Service: Creating OER in Pressbooks
- Open Educational Practices: OER-Enabled and Open Pedagogy
- Copyright & Open Licensing
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Contact Us
An OER repository is an aggregator of resources that can be searched and accessed from a centralized portal. They contain free, open source, creative commons licensed, or public domain educational material. This list is in alphabetical order and the usefulness of any one resource will vary depending on your specific disciplinary needs.
- The American Institute of MathematicsThe American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) seeks to encourage the adoption of open source and open access mathematics textbooks. The AIM Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify the books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses. The Editorial Board maintains a list of Approved Textbooks which have been judged to meet these criteria.
- Creative Commons SearchSearch for a variety of media including images, music, and film.
- HippoCampusA free academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects from middle-school to college level.
- MITOpenCoursewareA web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world.
- NCLOR (North Carolina Learning Object Repository)Provides a guest login. As a guest, you will only have access the items in the collections that have been made available to the public.
- NSDL (National Science Digital Library)Digital resources and collections supporting science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education.
- Open Course LibraryA collection of high quality, free-to-use college-level courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs.
- Open Oregon Educational ResourcesA list of materials created by community college instructors in Oregon, USA.
- Open Professionals Education Network: Find OERFind openly licensed media elements to use within your courses.
- PhET Interactive simulationsInteractive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena for free.
- Saylor Academy Open TextbooksOver 100 free textbooks that are curated from free and open online resources by expert educators.
- SOL*R (BCcampus)Shareable Online Learning Resources created by BC post-secondary educators. Non-BC educators can access the site as a guest.
- UBC OER CollectionThis database of UBC-affiliated open educational resources includes a variety of material types using Creative Commons licensing.
- WikibooksWikibooks is a collaborative book authoring website, where users from all over the world work together to write textbooks and other types of instructional books on many topics. It is a Wikimedia project, operated by the same group of people who run Wikipedia, the Wikimedia Foundation. You can edit this page, and almost all pages like it, at any time. That is the basic principle of Wikibooks: anyone can edit it (taken from website).
- Wisc-OnlineSmall, high quality digital library of Web-based learning resources.
- Last Updated: Mar 22, 2023 5:11 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/OER
- Print Page
Subjects: Open Educational Resources, Research
Tags: OER, open educational resources