Open Educational Resources (OER)
- About Open Educational Resources
- Open Education & Support at UCalgary
- Finding OER
- Adopting, Developing, & Evaluating OER
- Open Education Alberta Publishing Service: Creating OER in Pressbooks
- Open Educational Practices: OER-Enabled and Open Pedagogy
- Copyright & Open Licensing
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Contact Us
Where to Start
Looking for OERs can be overwhelming! Below are our suggested first 3 steps for getting started in your search for OER.
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM): This tool searches 22 different collections of open educational resources in real time. Use the search box below to search for an OER in these collections.
OASIS: Developed by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library, this database contains records for over 300 000 open educational resources. Use the search box below to find an OER.
Step 2: Search these platforms for a more-detailed look at what OER is available
MERLOT: Search this peer-reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community.
OER Commons: Search this portal for teaching and learning materials around the world.
Open Education Alberta: This catalog of Albertan open textbooks produced in Pressbooks. Open Education Alberta is a collaborative service provided by post-secondary institution partners throughout Alberta and hosted by the University of Alberta.
B.C. Open Collection: a curated selection of course materials developed by educators in B.C. that can be accessed by educators in B.C. and beyond for use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or in other teaching and learning platforms. All the materials are openly licensed, which means they are free to use, customize, and share.
BCcampus Open Textbook Collection: A collection of open textbooks licensed using Creative Commons and available for free in various ebook formats. Print books are available for a cost.
eCampusOntario Open Library: A collection of over 600 free and openly- licensed open textbooks and other OER.
Atlantic OER: A repository that supports the hosting and creation of open educational resources by educators and students in the Atlantic provinces
Open Textbook Library: A searchable online library of over 900 popular Open Textbooks curated by the University of Minnesota.
Pressbooks Directory: This directory provides an index of thousands of books published across Pressbooks networks worldwide. OER published in Open Education Alberta can also be found here.
LibreTexts: This online platform hosts Living Libraries featuring open textbooks and other learning objects divided by discipline. LibreTexts can be used for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER).
PRISM is UCalgary's institutional repository which manages, preserves, and provides access to the academic work by faculty, students, and research groups at the University of Calgary. Many types of materials can be submitted to PRISM including learning objects and OER, so it's another place you could look for UCalgary-specific OER.
Still looking for more? Keep reading for more searchable OER platforms, as well as ways to search for OERs by discipline or material type.
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0) unless otherwise noted. Content adapted from work done by BC Campus, Simon Fraser University, University of British Columbia, George Washington University and more.
- Last Updated: Mar 22, 2023 5:11 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/OER
- Print Page