Religious Studies Web Guide

• Catholic Portal - "provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives. By electronically bringing together resources in many formats from many collections, the Portal enables easy, effective and global discovery of Catholic research resources."
• Church, Religious, Saints and Spiritual Resources
• Roman Catholic Biblical Studies
• Sharing the Word  - includes links to Catechism,  Code of Canon Law and St. Thomas Aquinas' Catena Aurea 
• US Conference  of Catholic Bishops -  information and documents, also includes revised version of the New American Bible .

Comprehensive:

• Institute Catholique de Paris - index to books and articles
• Catholic Reference Resources  (joint project of Roman Catholic Denomination Group of the American Theological Library Association and the Academic Section of the Catholic Library) -  use tags to link to works by subject

Focused:

• Abbot Columba Marmion : select bibliography
• Augustine of Hippo - texts, critical material and images
• Augustine Bibliography - Finding Augustine - comprehensive searchable database
• Augustine's Confessions: a bibliography - bibliography from Latin text and commentary by James J. O'Donnell (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1992)
• Augustinus-Literaturdatenbank - index to books and articles on Saint Augustine produced by the Zentrum für Augustinus-Forschung at the Julius-Maximilians University Wurzburg
• Benedictines and Art: a select bibliography
• Bibliografie zur deutschsprachigen Mariologie und Marienverehrung 
• Bibliographia Thomistica - index to articles and books on Thomas Aquinas
• Bibliography of  articles and books written by African American Catholics or about the African American Catholic Community (United Conference of Catholic Bishops)
• Bibliography of the Black Catholic Theological Symposium
• Bibliography on Women and Mary - see also Black Madonna Bibliography and History of Mariology Bibliography (extensive lising of works on Mary in New Testament and art and literature and Medjugorje Bibliography
• Bibliothèque diocésaine de Quimper et Léon - index to books and journal articles on Biblical Studies and Catholic theology. While some of the citations are to English language material, the majority are in French
• BIBP:  Bibliographic Information Base in Patristics -  indexes over 65,000 records
• BISA - works on synodal law - can also browse by synod    (Bonn University)
• Cluny Bibliographie - Benedictines, monastic life in the middle ages
• Crusades from  ORB bibliographies - compiled by Lynn Nelson
• Database Kanonisches Recht - over 40,000 citations to books and articles on canon law
• Duns Scotus Bibliography from 1950 to the Present - primary and seconday literature on Duns Scotus and Scotism compiled by Tobias Hoffman
• Franciscan Women: Bibliography- 13th - 18th century - over 5,000 entries can browse by citation, keyword or author or keyword search using the Franciscan Women database
• Gregorian Chant bibliography
• Hagiography Database - Great tool to aid the study of writings about saints and their posthumous cults. 119 saints of the 8th to 10th centuries are included in this database which contains information from the Greek vitae and martyria, collections of miracles and notices from the Synaxarion of Constantinople. Provides searching of the Greek vitae of the saints by keyword or by category such as medicine, monasticism etc. - link to the Greek text is provided for most of the saints.
• Helinand of Froidmont Bibliography - compiled by Hans Voorbij
• Homosexuality and Catholicism : a partially annotated bibliography - very comprehensive bibliography compiled by Paul Halsall
• Jesuit Historical Institute in Africa's Thesis Database
• Joan of Arc - International Joan of Arc Society
• Karl Rahner - Bibliography of Secondary Literature (Universitätsbibliothek Freiburg)
• Lonergan Bibliography - complete bibliography of all works cited in current and past editions of the Lonergan Studies Newsletter
• Longergan Studies Bibliography - primary and secondary works to 2005 compiled by Terry Tekippe
• Medieval Church - extensive collection of books, articles and web resources compiled by Robert Bradshaw - includes fulltext
• Meister-Eckhart Gesellschaft - extensive bibliography on Meister Eckhart
• Monastic Matrix Bibliographia - "comprehensive database of citations to primary secondary, published and unpublished sources related to medieval religious women and their communities" - cover 400 to 1500 CE
• Monastic Research Bulletin: Bibliography 2003-2008
• Pope John Paul II Bibliography Index
• Rule of St. Benedict: Bibliography - also includes "comprehensive index to the Rule of St. Benedict"
• Thomas Aquinas in English : A bibliography
• Thomas Aquinas Bibliographia Thomistica - extensive bibliography of secondary literature, over 28.000 records - can search author/title/year or all fields
• Vincent of Beauvais Bibliography - Dominican Friar died 1264

SEE ALSO General Christianity Bibliographies and Indexes

• All about Mary: An encyclopedic tool for information on Mary, the Mother of Christ
• Catholic Dictionary - from Catholic Culture.org this includes over 5,000 terms
• The Catholic Encyclopedia - work in progress transcribing articles from the Old Catholic Encyclopedia
• CatholicSaints.Info 
• Claremont Coptic Encyclopedia
• Crum's Coptic Dictionary
• Encyclopedia Coptica
• Franciscan Women : Encyclopedia  from Franciscan Women: History and Culture: A geographical and bio-bibliographical Internet Guide
• Iconography Terms - compiled by Nicholas Roumas and Nick Beinor and edited by Raoul Smith
• Lexikon der christlichen Moral - by Karl Hormann
• Lives of the Saints by Butler
• Marienlexicon
• Okumenisches Heiligenlexikon - lexicon of Catholic saints - can search by attributes

•  Catholic Portal to research resources (Books, archival material, pamphlets etc) can limit search to full text.   Also provides access to the  Catholic News Archive
• Catholic Culture Library - encyclicals, writings of the Church Fathers, articles and commentaries
• Corpus Thomisticum - complete works of Thomas Aquinas as well as index, dictionary and bibliography
• Dorothy Day
• Digital Catholica Collection - books, journals papers and manuscripts
• Digital Vatican Library  - eventually over 80,000 codices will be digitized
• Documenta Catholica Omnia
• Federation of Asian Bishops Conference Papers and documents
• Franciscan Archive
• Jesuit Historiography Online -  "over 70 historiographical essays written by experts in their field....authors explore trends in Jesuit historiography"
• Jesuit relations and allied documents: 1610-1792 -"This site contains the entire English translation of the The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents, originally compiled and edited by Reuben Gold Thwaites and published by The Burrows Brothers Company, Cleveland, throughout the latter part of the nineteenth century. Each file represents the total English contents of a single published volume."
• Loyola University Chicago Digital Special Collections
• II Vatican Council Documents - from the Vatican site
• II Vatican Council - documents with a full-text search engine from www.stjoseph.at
• II Vatican Council documents from Intratext.com
• Vatican Web Site

• Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities - 28 Jesuit colleges and Universities in the United States
• Cardinal Newman Society Recommended Colleges and Universities

• Biblioteca Augustiniana
• Bibliothèques de l’Université catholique de Louvain
• Bibliothèque diocésaine de Quimper et Léon  -  index to books and journal articles on Biblical Studies and Catholic Theology.  While some of the citations are to English language material, the majority are in French
• Carmelite Monastery of Baltimore Archives  - holdings "reach back into seventeenth century English and Low Country history as well as seventeenth and eighteenth century Maryland colonial history. This repository holds records relating to the early history of the Catholic Church in the United States including letters and documents of the first U.S. Bishops, the Jesuits and other religious communities.
• Catholic Portal -  to free research resources (Books, archival material, pamphlets etc) and Catholic News Archive
• The Catholic University of America Library - see also  Digital Collections.  

• Centro Pro Unione Library - "significant collections of ecumenical theology, the history of ecumenical movement, Vatican II, the WCC and an exhaustive documentation of the interconfessional theological dialogue

• International Marian Research Institute Library  (University of Dayton) -   Browse the Marian Library "recognized nationally and internationally as a center for scholarship on the Blessed Virgin Mary"
• Institute Catholique de Paris - index to books and articles
• Jesuit Historical Institute in Africa Library -  indexes books and some articles on Jesuits,  Christianity in Africa and African religions.   Africa thesis bank
• KU Leuven Libraries - Maurits Sabbe Library (Faculty of Theology and Religious Studies) -- over 1 million volumes on theology and religious studies
• Loyola University Chicago - see Digital Collections
• Unione Romana Biblioteche Ecclesiastiche - links to the catalogs of 18 Libraries
• Uniwersytet Papieski Jana Pawla II w Krakowie
• Vatican Apostolic Library -  Archival Holdings -  See also Digital Vatican Library

• All-Saints Eastern Orthodox Church Liturgical Resources
• Codex Iuris Canonici
• Documenta Catholica Omnia
• Papal Encyclicals Online
• Vatican Web Site