Religious Studies Web Guide

Focused:

• Africabib - Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database - includes Africana Periodical Literature - Over 170,000 records from more than 800 journals with a focus on journals from Africa. A number of the articles have links to full text - very useful for research on religion in Africa
• African Journals Online - index to over 521 journals and open access is provided for approximately 50% of the articles. Includes 6 religious studies journals published in Africa
• African Studies Abstracts Online  - search for "religion" retrieves over 3,000 citations to books and articles
• African Studies Centre Catalogue - indexes 90,000 books and 2,0000 journals in the humanities and social sciences covering North and Sub-Saharan Africa, as well as government reports, African newspapers and films.
• AIATSIS - listing of books and articles about the cultures and lifestyles of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
• Akademiai Kiado - search the 60 journals published by this press including: Acta Orientalia Academiae Scientiarum Hungaricae. A few are available open-access
• Anthropological Index Online - index to the over 4,000 journals held by the Royal Anthropological Institute at the British Museum
• AnthroSource - index to publications produced by the American Anthropological Association. Excellent resource for Anthropology and Religion, especially for study of religion in non-western cultures - while can freely search the index, you can only view the fulltext if your are an AAA member
• Apocalypse and Millennium: A Bibliography - originally published in Millennialism: a International Bibliography by Garland
• The Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving - searchable database to over 25,000 scholarly works on slavery. Search for the term "religion" retrieves over 300 records. For current material search the issues of Slavery & Abolition
• Bioethics Research Library of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics
• biblat -  index to journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean  - links to full text for open access journals
• Bibliographie Afrique: religion, philosophie - from the ANKH: Journal of Egyptology and African Civilizations website
• Bibliography on Animals, Religion and Ethics (2003) - compiled by Forrest Clingerman
• Biodiversity Heritage Library -  open access books and articles on religion and science
• Central and East European Online Library -   Theology and Religion section - You can search "articles from 184 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics." While some full text is open access, you need to create an account to view the open access articles or to pay download fee.
• Classical Sociology of Religion Reading List - compiled by Andrew McKinnon
• The Comparative-Historical Study of Religion Reading List - prepared by Ateş Altınordu, Sabancı University
• Dart - Europe E-thesis Portal - open access to over 730,000 theses from over 800 universities in 28 European countries
• DIALNET - excellent index to Spanish articles, essays, books and theses . Includes some links to full text. Indexes over 10,000 journals and 144,000 theses.
• Directory of History Dissertations (American Historical Association) - over 54,000 US and Canadian history dissertations completed or in progress.
• Digitalia Hispanica - Religion section
• El Buscon - searches National Library of Spain as well as a number of other sources and provides an index to journal literature by searching Intute, Dialnet and Google Scholar
• ESSPR - Index to Italian journals in the area of economics, law, social sciences and history. Includes a number of articles on religion
• ETHOS - index to UK theses - over 450,000 doctoral theses - many are available open access, just need to create an account
• Find NZ Articles - access to articles from New Zealand newspapers and journals. Excellent resource for material on Maori religion.
• Film, Faith and Popular Culture - compiled by Gordon Matties - listing of books and articles on religion and film
• Gender and Religion - compiled by  Marta Trzebiatowska,  Feb 6, 2015
• Hell-On-Line - texts and images covering hell from Hinduism, Buddhism, Christian, Zoroastrian, Islamic and Jewish traditions
• History of Science, Technology Medicine: An Annotated Bibliography by Robert A Hatch - extensive listing of books
• Ian Barbour - bibliography of articles by and about him published in Zygon
• International Bibliography on Religious Freedom and Persecution (2004) - compiled by  International Institute for Religious Freedom
• International Society for Environmental Ethics Bibliography (2008)
• International Society for Science and Religion Library Project  -  listing of 250 books on science and religion
• Internationale Volkskundliche Bibliographie - international ethnographic bibliography published by the German Society for Ethnology . Can browse the Religion section
• Jan Phillips Database for Interreligious Encounter -  extensive listing of books, articles, essays, websites on interfaith dialogue/encounter
• Journal TOCs -" is the largest free collection of scholarly journals Tables of Contents (TOCs). It contains recent tables of content for over 29,000 journals (including over 11,000 Open Access journals.Can search for articles by keyword or browse journals by title.  Indexes over 600 religious studies journals.
• JURN - "a curated academic search-engine, indexing 3,426 free ejournals in the arts & humanities"
• LAPTOC - Latin American Periodicals Tables of Content - searches over 950 journals from 1994-2009
• Media and Religion Bibliography
• Neurophilosophical Inquiries Bibliography - lists material on yoga, mysticism, Zen, Kabbalah, neurotheology
• New Zealand Bibliography of Religion and Theology - last updated 2004
• Orientalism: A Bibliography compiled by Herb Swanson (last update April 2017)
• Open Access Theses and Dissertations: OATD - index to theses and dissertations produced worldwide - some are open access
• Papers Past -  digitized newspapers and journals from New Zealand
• Persee : the website for scientific journals in social and human sciences, established by the French Ministry of State Education, Higher Education and Research - provides full-text of the articles
• Population Studies Center (University of Michigan) - index to their publications with a few pdf's provided
• PubMed Central - good for identifying articles on religion and medicine/medical ethics​
• Redalyc - index to over 1,000 open access journals from Latin and America, Caribbean, Spain and Portugal
• Regesta Imperii  -  catalogue of works on medieval studies (art, music, religion, philosophy, archaeology, linguistics and literature from late antiquity up to the Reformation.
• Reincarnation Bibliography compiled by James G. Matlock
• Religion and Economy Reading List  compiled by Anna Strhan​
• Religion and Psychoactive Sacraments
• Religion in Canada - compiled by Joel Thiessen
• Religion in Latin America - organized by religion and by region (Central America, South America, Caribbean, North America )
• Religion, Law and Politics Bibliography (Teaching Law and Religion: Case Study Archive)
• Religious and Spiritual Diversity   (Society for the Teaching of Psychology)
• RELMIN -  database of legal texts on the status of religious minorities in the Middle Ages  - includes text and references to: translation, other editions, and critical studies on the work
• Research Methods for the Study of Religions -  overview with reading lists and bibliographies - divided into sections - Conceptualizing Religion, Politics and Ethics, Rigor and Validity, Research Design, Comparative Research, Sampling, Qualitative Methods, Ethnography, Objects and Space, Visual Methods and Researching Media
• Research Sources for Astrology (2002) - compiled by Lester Ness. Contains sections for Astrology in Mesopotamia, Greece and Rome, Judaism, Early Christianity, Islam, India and Medieval and Renaissance Europe
• Ritualbibliographien - covers ritual and ceremony in Egypt, Ancient World, Europe, and South Asia
• Royal Society Archives - fully searchable database of publications of the Royal Society, many of which are freely available in fulltext (have option to limit search to open access).   Good for works on science and religion.
• Saint Louis: Religious Pluralism in the Heart of Senegal  - bibliography  from  Diversity and Tolerance in the  Islam of West Africa - A Digital Library of Peaceful Muslim Practices)
• The Schoenberg Database of Manuscripts - "aggregates observations of pre-modern mansucripts drawn from over 12,000 auction and sales catalogs, inventories, catalogs from institutional and private collections and other sources" - can limit by a wide variety of fields including "liturgical use"
• Science and Religion - listing of key texts by the International Society for Science and Religion
• Science and Religion  (Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences) - bibliography is divided into levels basic, intermediate and research
• Selected Bibliography of Sources Relating to Religion, Law and Politics
• Social Science Research Network - index to fulltext documents. Over 56,000 papers in the Humanites, including many documents on aspects of religious studies - SSRN is " devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research"
• Socio Rhetorical Interpretation Bibliography
• Sociology of Religion Searchable Database
• Spirituality, Medicine and Health Bibliography
• Superheroes and Spirituality: The Religion of the Comic Book
• Studia Liturgica - liturgical texts and studies
• Theology - extensive listing of books, articles and websites on Christian Theology compiled by Robert Bradshaw - includes links to fulltext
• Trove - searches over 500,000 Australian books, images, newspapers, maps, music, archives etc. Can limit to those available free online
• World Pilgrimage Guide - Bibliography and more
• Zygon - Covers the Cognitive Sciences - list of article titles from Zygon: Journal of Religion and Science