Religious Studies Web Guide

See also Language Dictionaries and Translators Webpage for links to a wide variety of language dictionaries

Ancient Languages/Semitic Languages
 

Akkadian

• Akkadian Dictionary
• Concise Dictionary of Akkadian - Addendum and Corrigenda

Arabic

• Arabic- English Lexicon by Lane
• Principal Arabic Lexical Resources (CJK Dictionary Institute)

Aramaic

• Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon

Assyrian

• Assyrian Dictionary of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago

Greek

• Léxico de magia y religión en los papiros mágicos griegos - over 2500 words for magic and religion found in the editions of K. Preisendanz (Papyri Graecae Magicae) and R. Daniel and F Maltomini (Supplementum Magicum)
• Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon

Hebrew

• Hebrew and English Lexicon of the Old Testament: with an appendix containing the biblical Aramiac (1906) based on the Lexikon of Gesenius as translated by Robinson and edited by Brown with the assistance of Driver and Briggs
• Hebrew- Chaldee Lexicon to the Old Testament by Gesenius
• Semantic Dictionary of Biblical Hebrew

Hittite

• Hittite Dictionary ( The Oriental Institute of Chicago) - selected fascicles are available fulltext.

Latin

• Whitaker's Words Online - Latin dictionary of approximately 39,000 entries. Can translate from Latin to English and English to Latin

Syriac

• Compendious Syriac Dictionary - version from Tyndale archives

Chinese

• Chinese Characters: A Genealogy and Dictionary by Rick Harbaugh
• Principal Chinese Lexical Resources (CJK Dictionary Institute)

Japanese

• Jeffrey's Japanese-English Dictionary
• Principal Japanese Lexical Resources (CJK Dictionary Institute)

Sanskrit, Pali, Tamil and other South Asian Languages

• Digital Corpus of Sanskrit - " is a searchable collection of lemmatized Sanskrit texts"
• Digital Dictionaries of South Asia - many south Asian Languages including Hindi, Bengali, Malayalam, Pali, Sanskrit and Urdu
• Imperial Gazetteer of India
• Hobson-Jobson: a glossary of Colloquial Anglo-Indian Words and Phrases and of Kindred Terms, Etymological, Historical, Geographical and Discursive
• Pali-English Dictionary ( Pali Text Society)
• Sanskrit, Tamil Dictionary Search - can search by Sanskrit, Tamil, or English word - consists of Cologne Digital Sanskrit Lexicon, Capeller's Sanskrit-English Dictionary and Cologne Online Tamil Lexicon.
• Sanskrit Dictionary - based on the work by Apte
• Sanskrit-Engish Dictionary - Monier-Williams
• Shorter English-Nepali Dictionary - by Major T. Warren

Tibetan

• Nitartha Dictionary search 
• Tibetan to English Translation Tool