Religious Studies Web Guide

SEE ALSO

 Christianity - Sacred Texts

 Bible - Sacred Texts

• Christian Classics Ethereal Library - includes author/title/subject index and covers a wide range of authors from St. Augustine To G.K. Chesterton and John Donne
• Christian Works from the Cambridge Digitial Library- biblical manuscripts and liturgical texts covering over 1,000 years
• Church in the Southern Black Community - "The Church in the Southern Black Community" collects autobiographies, biographies, church documents, sermons, histories, encyclopedias, and other published materials. These texts present a collected history of the way Southern African Americans experienced and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life. Coverage begins with white churches' conversion efforts, especially in the post-Revolutionary period, and depicts the tensions and contradictions between the egalitarian potential of evangelical Christianity and the realities of slavery. It focuses, through slave narratives and observations by other African American authors, on how the black community adapted evangelical Christianity, making it a metaphor for freedom, community, and personal survival." - includes Guide to Religious Content in Slave Narrative and list of images by subject
• Coptica - various Coptic texts
• Day Missions Collection of annual reports for a variety of Mission Bodies and groups
• Documents, Declarations and Speeches (Center for Christian-Jewish Learning) - Includes interreligious, Roman Catholic, Protestant and Jewish works
• Gifford Lectures - list of lectures and currently full text for lectures up to 1923.
• GlobeTheoLib (Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism) and GlobeEthics Lib - extensive digitial library of books and journals on "theology, intercultural and interreligious dialogue, ethics and ecumenism in World Christianity
• Goussen Library Collection - specialized library for oriental church history - digitized texts in "oriental languages such as Syrian, Coptic, Ethiopian, Arabic, Armenian and Georgian languages from the 16th to the 20th century (the focus is on the 18th and the 19th century)." - comprehensive index to hymns and hymnals
• History of Missiology Collection  (Boston University School of Theology)
• Internet Medieval Sourcebook: Roman Church , Crusades, Papacy, Medieval Church
• ISR Reports (Baylor Institute for Studies of Religion)
• Jewish-Christian Relations Background resources on Christian-Jewish relations - official statements, historic documents, educational resources, essays - includes a collection of texts on Jewish understanding of non-Jews and a biographical dictionary of Jesuits of Jewish ancestry
• Jewish-Christian Relations: Insights and Issues in the ongoing Jewish-Christian Dialogue
• Monumenta Germaniae Historica  -    Primary sources for the study of German history covering Holy Roman Empire, Benedictines, Bollandistes, Catholic Church, Benedictines, Cistercians
• Online Chinese Christianity Collection - "comprehensive free online collection of Chinese theology and on Christianity in China, including material in Chinese as well in other languages relating to Chinese theology and Christianity" - over 30,000 works - also includes information on Jews in China
• Parker Library on the Web -  extensive digital collection of Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts
• Post-Reformation Digital Library - extensive collection of texts for Zwingli and many others -  " collection of  resources relating to the development of theology during the Post-Reformation / Early Modern era (ca. 16th-18th c."
• Puritan Library
• Restoration Movement Texts
• Sermon Online - can search by title, biblical passage, keyword and author
• Theological Collections  (hosted by American Theological Library Association) - 80 digital collections from a variety of Theological libraries- includes manuscripts, texts, images, postcards etc.
• Theological Commons (Princeton Theological Seminary) - over 120,0000 books, journals, photographs, manuscripts etc.

• Apostolic Fathers (Lightfoot)
• Augustine  -  texts from Christian Classics Etherial Library
• e-Catena - Allusions to the New Testament in the Anti-Nicene Fathers - permits researchers to locate where in the writings of the early church fathers you will find citations to biblical passges. Links to full text from Christian Classics Ethereal Library 
• Church Fathers (New Advent)
• Church Fathers - texts in German from the Bibliothek derKirchenväter - The "Bibliothek der Kirchenväter" (BKV) is a series that made a large selection of patristic works accessible in German translation to an interested public. It was published by O. Bardenhewer in two series. Series I comprises 61 volumes and appeared in the years 1911-31. Series II contains 20 volumes and was published in the years 1934-38."
• ClassicsIndex -  Collection of works on early Judaism and Christianity
• Digital Syriac Corpus
• Early Christian Writings - New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers etc.  Large collection of writings in English
• Early Church Fathers (Christian Classics Ethereal Library)-the majority of texts from the 38 volumes collection, texts are divided into three sections, Ante-Nicene and Nicence and Post-Nicene Fathers. Can key word search the entire collection.
• Early Church Fathers - site compiled by Ernest C. Marsch
• Early Church Fathers (additional texts) - including Polycarp, Hermias, Eusebius, Gregory of Nyssa, Ananias of Shirak etc.
• Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Christian Origins - links to texts and other resources for Dead Sea Scrolls, Gnostic Texts, Nag Hammadi Library, Early Church etc,hristian-history.html> Guide to Early Church Documents (Internet Christian Library) - nice site for patristic texts, cannons, related texts and miscellaneous NT documents
• Patristic Fathers links to English and Greek texts for works of Patrologia Latina and Patrologia Graeca
• Syriac Studies Reference Library - can keyword search or browse the collection by Ancient Author or Councils, Dictionaries, Grammar, Hagiography, Liturgy etc.
• The Syriac Library - links to following texts in Syriac - New Testament, Eusebius of Caesarea's Encomium on the martyrs and On the Star, Joshua the Stylite's Chronicle, Thomas of Edessa's De nativitate and De epiphania (on chapter titles) .
• Tertullian Project

• Adventist Digital Library - images, books etc.
• ASTR - Seventh-day Adventists' Office of Archives, Statistics and Research - Online Archives

• Bibliotheca Digital Anabautista  -  Spanish theological works

• Anglican Communion Document Library -  Anglican Communion Office,  Anglican Consultative Council resolutions, Lambeth Conference etc.
• Book of Common Prayer - full-text of many difference editions / Common Worship
• Primate's Theological Commission (Anglican Church of Canada) - St. Michael Report (2004) -Blessing of Same-Sex Unions, The Galilee Report (2009)
• Project Canterbury - free archive of out-of-print Anglican works

• Catholic Research Resources Alliance - see Catholic Portal to free research resources (Books, archival material, pamphlets etc) and Catholic News Archive
• Catholic Culture Library - encyclicals, writings of the Church Fathers, articles and commentaries
• Convocate (Center for Civil and Human Rights)-  database of full text documents  comparing Catholic social teaching and human rights law.  The documents are presented side by side.
• Corpus Thomisticum - complete works of Thomas Aquinas as well as index, dictionary and bibliography
• Dorothy Day
• Digital Catholica Collection - books, journals papers and manuscripts
• Digital Vatican Library  - eventually over 80,000 codices will be digitized
• Documenta Catholica Omnia
• Federation of Asian Bishops Conference Papers
• Franciscan Archive
• Jesuit Historiography Online -  "over 70 historiographical essays written by experts in their field....authors explore trends in Jesuit historiography"
• Jesuit relations and allied documents: 1610-1792 -"This site nearing the completion of the entire English translation of the The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents, originally compiled and edited by Reuben Gold Thwaites and published by The Burrows Brothers Company, Cleveland, throughout the latter part of the nineteenth century. Each file represents the total English contents of a single published volume."
• Loyola University Chicago Digital Special Collections
• II Vatican Council Documents - from the Vatican site
• II Vatican Council - documents with a full-text search engine from www.stjoseph.at
• II Vatican Council documents from Intratext.com
• Vatican Manuscripts and Incunabula - Includes Arch.Cap. S. Pietro, Barb. gr., Borgh., Pal Lat. and Vat. sir.
• Vatican Web Site

• BYU Masters Theses on Mormonism - see also rest of BYU digital collections
• Mormon Texts - " books, missionary tracts, doctrinal treatises, hymnals and periodicals which helped define the doctrinal development and historical movements of the Mormon people in the 19th century." - from BYU digital collections

• Simon Fraser University Library Doukhobor Collection - over 600 manuscripts, photographs , books, articles, document and interviews dealing with the Doukhobors in Canada are available online. For complete collection consult the Finding aid 

• Project Wittenberg - works by and about Martin Luther
• Post Reformation Digital Library  -  Lutheran authors

• American Methodism Project - digitized texts
• Wesley Center Online - texts of John and Charles as well as the Holiness Tradition, John Fletcher etc.

• Global Pentecostalism - articles, documents and links from the European Research Network on Global Pentecostalism
• Pentecostal and Charismatic Research Archive - "online digital archive of primary historical materials - correspondence, organizational records, tracts, sermons, diaries, photographs, oral histories - from different regions of the world"

• Presbyterian Historical Society Digital Collection -  photographs, maps, documents, oral histories etc.

• Digital Quaker Collection - "DQC is a digital library containing full text and page images of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries."  (Earlham School of Religion)
• Quaker Electronic Archive

• Shaker Manuscripts On-Line

• Stone-Campbell Resources (Abilene Christian University)  - primary resources ( books, journals, pamphlets, photographs, sermons etc.)  

• Digital Syriac Corpus
• Syriac Studies Reference Library - can keyword search or browse the collection by Ancient Author or Councils, Dictionaries, Grammar, Hagiography, Liturgy etc.
• The Syriac Library - links to following texts in Syriac - New Testament, Eusebius of Caesarea's Encomium on the martyrs and On the Star, Joshua the Stylite's Chronicle, Thomas of Edessa's De nativitate and De epiphania (on chapter titles) 

See also Digital Collections - Early Church

• Emanuel Swedenborg Writings
• Swedenborg Texts from  Internet Sacred Texts Archive

• Holocaust Rescue and Relief - Digitized Records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee  (Andover-Harvard Theological Library)
• Unitarian Universalism - Meadville Lombard Theological School Library has significant  digital archival holdings for Unitarian Universalism 

• United Church of Canada Bibliography of Scholarly works  - see also bibliography of original documents, reports, studies and papers related to Diaconal Ministry in the United Church of Canada