Religious Studies Web Guide

Portals:

• Dissenting Academies Online - "Dissenting Academies Online contains: Database entries for 220 academies, c.700 tutors, and c.11,000 students; c.70 biographies of tutors and c.60 academy histories, with more added regularly; Catalogue entries for over 20,000 academy library books; Records of 30,000 library loans made to over 600 borrowers." Includes Congregational, Presbyterian, Unitarian, Baptist, Methodist and nondenominational academies of higher education from the late 17th to late 19th centuries
• John Richard Allison Library at Regent College  -  strong collection of material for Puritan studies
• Missions on Microform -  listing of  major missionary collections on microfilm
• Mundus: Gateway to missionary collections in the United Kingdom - guide to the holdings of over 400 collections of overseas missionary materials held in the United Kingdom
• Unione Romana Biblioteche Ecclesiastiche - links to the catalogs of 18 Libraries
• VthK (Virtueiler Katakog Theologie und Kirche) - Meta-catalogue of over 8 million works including essays held by ecclesiastical and academic libraries in Germany
   

Major Multi-Denominational Libraries

• Cambridge Centre for Christianity Online -  Archives and Library  -   "research and teaching centre in Cambridge, England dedicated to study, reflection, and practical engagement with the global nature of Christianity in the twenty-first century."
• Centro Pro Unione Library - "significant collections of ecumenical theology, the history of ecumenical movement, Vatican II, the WCC and an exhaustive documentation of the interconfessional theological dialogue
• Deutsches Liturgisches Institut Library - indexes works in books and journals - also includes Jewish liturgy
• Dr. William's Library and Congregational Library Online - major index to books and articles on English Protestant nonconformity - link to manuscripts "Archives List" under search all collections
• Goussen Library Collection - specialized library for oriental church history - digitized texts in "oriental languages such as Syrian, Coptic, Ethiopian, Arabic, Armenian and Georgian languages from the 16th to the 20th century (the focus is on the 18th and the 19th century)." - comprehensive index to hymns and hymnals
• Graduate Theological Union Library
• Institut d'Etudes Augustiennes Online Catalogue (Sorbonne Université) - index to essays and books on the first 1,000 years of Christianity (includes Biblical and Semitic studies) Limit search to Etudes Augustiennes
• Online-Katalog der Bibliothek des Instituts fur Theologie und Frieden - Books and journal articles on the theology of peace, includes works from an ethical perspective
• Schoenberg Database of Manuscripts - comprehensive listing of manuscripts produced prior to 1600. Can limit by a wide variety of fields including "liturgical use"
• Universitatsbibliothek Tuebingen
• Yale University Divinity School Library

• Center for Adventist Research - "combines the resources of the Adventist Heritage Center and the Ellen G. White Estate Branch Office to provide the most extensive collection of Adventist related resources in the world" - located in the James White Library of Andrews University
• James White Library - Seventh Day Adventist resources
• Southern Adventist University - McKee Library

• Center for Mennonite Brethren Studies - "resource center and archives for information about the Mennonite Brethren"
• Mennonite Library & Archives (Fresno Pacific University)

• Anglican Church of Canada Archives - Search Archives
• Archives of the Episcopal Church - Digital Archives
• Church House Library Books Database ( The Library of The General Synod of the Anglican Church of Canada)
• Select Bibliography on the Episcopal Church

• American Baptist Historical Society
• Atlantic Baptist Archives -  finding list of records of 800 Baptist churches in Atlantic Canada
• Billy Graham Center Archives - searchable archives database
• James P Boyce  Centennial Library (Southern Baptist Seminary) -  over 800,000 works in the collection
• Southern Baptist Historical Library and Archives - includes Digital Resources (convention annuals, biographies, newspapers and photographs)

• Brethren Historical Library and Archives

• American Catholic History Research Center and Archives
• Biblioteca Augustiniana
• Bibliothèques de l’Université catholique de Louvain
• Bibliothèque diocésaine de Quimper et Léon  -  index to books and journal articles on Biblical Studies and Catholic Theology.  While some of the citations are to English language material, the majority are in French
• Carmelite Monastery of Baltimore Archives
• Catholic Research Resources Alliance - see "Catholic Portal" to free research resources (Books, archival material, pamphlets etc) and Catholic News Archive
• The Catholic University of America - See also American Catholic History Research Center and University Archives
• Hill Monastic Manuscript Library Search - online catalogue to over 70,000 manuscript records in Syriac and other oriental languages - Search Vivarium to locate digital images
• International Marian Research Institute Library - index to books and theses
• Institute Catholique de Paris - index to books and articles
• Jesuit Historical Institute in Africa Library -  indexes books and some articles on Jesuits,  Christianity in Africa and African religions
• KU Leuven Libraries - Maurits Sabbe Library (Theology) -- over 1 million volumes on theology and religious studies
• Loyola University Chicago - see Digital Collections
• Manuscripts in the Libraries of the Greek and Armenian Patriarchates in Jerusalem
• Online-Katalog der Bibliothek des Instituts fur Theologie und Frieden - Books and journal articles on the theology of peace, includes works from an ethical perspective
• Uniwersytet Papieski Jana Pawla II w Krakowie
• Vatican Apostolic Library -  Archival Holdings -  See also Digital Vatican Library

•  BYU Brigham Young University Libraries Note: BYU Masters Theses on Mormonism - see also rest of BYU digital collections

• Congregational Library - includes image collection of 1,300 photos, prints and postcards
• Dr Williams' Library - " is the pre-eminent research library of English Protestant nonconformity.  Established under the will of Dr Daniel Williams, the Library is one of the oldest open to the public still conducted on its original benefaction." See also the Surman Index - brief biographical information on Congregational ministers in Britain

• Simon Fraser University Library - strong book collection for Doukhobors as well as providing an large online collection of over 600 manuscripts, photographs , books, articles, document and interviews dealing with the Doukhobors in Canada. 

• Concordia Historical Institute - Research center on the history of Lutheranism in North America, includes the archives of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod as well as other archival material relevant for the study of Lutheranism.
• Concordia Seminary Library (St. Louis) - includes image collection with 1,300 photos, prints and postcards
• Luther Seminary Library
• Pitts Theology Library's Richard C. Kessler Reformation Collection

• General Commission on Archives and History, The United Methodist Church - Search the Archives
• J.B. Cain Archives of Mississippi Methodism
• Methodist Archives and Research Centre at John Rylands University Library of Manchester
• Methodist Archival Material at Duke University

• Moravian Archives - official records for the Moravian Church in America - Northern Province
• Moravian Archives Winston-Salem

• St. Tikhon's Seminary Library

• Dixon Pentecostal Research Center (Lee University)
• Pentecostal and Charismatic Research Archive - "online digital archive of primary historical materials - correspondence, organizational records, tracts, sermons, diaries, photographs, oral histories - from different regions of the world"  (University of Southern California Libraries)
• International Pentecostal Holiness Church Archives and Research Center

• The Presbyterian Church in Canada Archives
• Presbyterian Historical Society - 75,000 books, periodicals and archival collections listed in the Catalog - also includes Index to Foreign Missionary Vertical Files Index, Biographical Vertical Files Index and Digital Collection includes images of Church buildings and photographs, texts, maps etc relating to Mission history
• Reformed Presbyterian History Archive -  journals, synod minutes, pamphlets and other documents

• Johannes a Lasco Bibliothek Emden -  Reform Protestantism

• Canadian Quaker Archives 
• Friends Historical Library
• Friends Libraries (from Quaker Information Center)

• Booth University College, Winnipeg
• Salvation Army International Heritage Centre Catalogue - descriptions of documents and books in their archive and library

• Abilene Christian University Library   -   see also  Stone-Campbell Resources (Abilene Christian University)  - primary resources including books, journals, pamphlets, photographs, sermons etc.

• Swedenborg Library (Bryn Athyn College) - holds the Academy of the New Church Archives- "1,500 linear feet of records and manuscripts related to the history of the New Church and Swendenborgian movements in the United States"
• Swedenborgian Library and Archives  (Center for Swedenborgian Studies)

• Meadville/Lombard Theological School - important archive for documents on Unitarian Universalist history
• Unitarian Universalist Institutional Records  (Andover-Harvard Theological Library)

• United Church of Canada Archives
• United Church of Canada Digitized Collections  -  For comprehensive holdings search - U of Toronto Library search.   Can limit search results to Emmanuel Library at Victoria College which "collects all major United Church of Canada publication"

• Beth Mardutho Research Library Online Catalog
• Princeton Theology Seminary - extensive collection of works on Syriac Christianity as well as collections of Syriac manuscripts