Political Science

DATABASES

If you are uncertain where to start researching a political science topic, these are usually good bets to help you on your way.

• International Political Science Abstracts

Includes indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database covers over 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present.  (NOTE: These are abstracts only, but if the library has a full text version of the article, it will be linked to in the abstract record)

• Academic Search Complete

A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

• Gale Academic OneFile

Over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. With extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.

• PAIS Index (Public Affairs International Service)

PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Note that not all the information is from scholarly ( peer-reviewed) journals. One of the best resources for starting out on an international relations topic .

• Science Direct

Despite the "science" name Science Direct covers social sciences and humanities as well as physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, and health sciences. Science Direct is a database of peer-reviewed scholarly literature containing over 3,800 journals and more than 35,000 books.

REFERENCE

• Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference is the home of Oxford's quality reference publishing, bringing together over 2 million entries, many of which are illustrated, into a single cross-searchable resource. This resource provides quality, up-to-date reference content. Made up of two main collections (Oxford Quick Reference and Oxford Reference Library) which are both fully integrated and cross-searchable.

• Credo reference

Credo Reference (formerly XreferPlus) is an online reference library comprised of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.

RESEARCH METHODS

• Sage Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.