Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Services Suite & Open Content

The guide provides supports for finding, creating, publishing, and hosting open content and using LCR's Open Services Suite.

Services for Publishing and Hosting Open Content

Libraries and Cultural Resources and the Taylor Institute offer a variety of services for creating, publishing, and hosting open content.

Review each service's tab to find out more about how you can use these services.

About

PRISM is a digital archive of the University of Calgary's intellectual output. Established and maintained by Libraries and Cultural Resources to manage, preserve and make available the academic works of faculty, students and research groups. The collection includes faculty publications, masters and doctoral theses, and research output from across Southern Alberta (taken from PRISM Library Guide).

PRISM is supported by Libraries and Cultural Resources

PRISM Data is the University of Calgary's institutional repository for research data. It provides digital archiving and sharing of research data from researchers.

PRISM Data is supported by Libraries and Cultural Resources.

About

Digital Collections is a repository for building digital collections with support from library staff, faculty, students, and community partners to showcase unique collections of interest to Albertans, Canadians, researchers, and educators.

Digital Collections is supported by Libraries and Cultural Resources

About

Libraries and Cultural Resources supports open access and subscription-based journals through our journal hosting service. We provide web hosting for journals through the Open Journal Systems (OJS), developed by the Public Knowledge Project (PKP). This service is open to any open access peer-reviewed journals whose editor(s)-in-chief is affiliated with a Canadian post-secondary institution (Taken from the Scholarly Journal Publishing Library Guide).

OJS is supported by Libraries and Cultural Resources

About

Open Education Alberta is a publishing service offered by post-secondary institutions across Alberta who have partnered together. Open Education Alberta is based in the Pressbooks Create platform and can be used for the development and publication of open textbooks, toolkits, tutorials, and more. It offers a variety of plug-in options, multimedia integration, and more to create interactive and engaging publications.

Open Education Alberta (Pressbooks) is supported by Libraries and Cultural Resources

Web Archiving Services and associated Web Archive Collections are managed by Digitization and Repository Services with the goal of preserving the research, teaching and learning and cultural websites created by UCalgary Students, Faculty, and Staff.

Web Archiving is supported by Libraries and Cultural Resources.

About

Omeka S is a simple web publishing system that is used by hundreds of archives, historical societies, libraries, museums, and individual researchers and teachers to create searchable websites for digital collections. 

At the University of Calgary, we are using Omeka S to allow students and faculty to tell stories about library or university collections, or academic works created by students themselves. Using Omeka S provides the opportunity for experiential learning beyond the classroom and the university community.

"Omeka" (pronounced oh-MEH-ka) is a Swahili word meaning "to display or lay out wares."

Omeka was developed by the Roy Rosezweig Center for History and New Media beginning in 2006.  Omeka is a non-profit project; its funding comes from a variety of US agencies and foundations.

Omeka is supported by Libraries and Cultural Resources

About

UCalgary Blogs is a collaborative publishing platform for use by the University of Calgary community, UCalgary Blogs is offered by the Taylor Institute Educational Development Unit as part of its efforts to extend effective blended and online learning on campus. You can create a personal blog, an official site, a course site, an ePortfolio, and more! (Adapted from the UCalgary Blogs Home Page)

UCalgary Blogs is supported by the Taylor Institute at UCalgary.

About

YuJa is the university’s video hosting/content management system. It can be used as a stand-alone tool and also within your D2L course. YuJa allows you to upload and share your videos, create screen captures via a free desktop software and caption your content (Taken from the UCalgary eLearn Yuja page).

Yuja is supported by the Taylor Institute at UCalgary.

OSS & Open Content Guide Licence


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0) unless otherwise noted.